Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.950625
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The Saturday Light Brigade (SLB) is part of the warp and weft of the music, education and family scenes in Pittsburgh and surrounding areas. Part silly puzzle show, part interview show, part showcase for music and the arts from the live to the obscure, SLB helps to create and enhance healthy & intelligent family community. I can't think of another show like it, except maybe Garrison Kiellor's local radio show that I used to listen to years ago in Minnesota, before A Prarie Home Companion became a national phenomenon. PHC retains some of that flavor, but due to its sheer size it can't match SLB in being a part of a living person-to-person community. SLB is truly a treasure.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

You are very lucky to have Rob Gray on your team. He is an amazing song writer and musician.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

SLB radio provides amazing opportunities to present talents to listeners nationwide. I've heard violinists, soloists, saxophone trios and the like showcase their best renditions of pieces for all to enjoy. There are fun and mind-stumper trivia questions posted on Facebook. A great Saturday morning spent with Larry Berger, the host and his staff! Tune in once and you'll be hooked for life!
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 11, 2013

I have listened to this radio show since it started, and watch it grow from a small hobby to a well organized and effective educational organization, focused especially on the children of the Pittsbur... more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SLB radio is one of the best things about Pittsburgh. From their start playing great music and family-friendly trivia, they have added community interviews, live youth music segments, and tremendous work in local schools. Always positive, always uplifting of children, always growing in creative new directions. My daughters grew up on this show, and it strengthened us as a family.
October 11, 2013

I have listened to this radio show since it started, and watch it grow from a small hobby to a well organized and effective educational organization, focused especially on the children of the Pittsburgh region. They go out of their way to help boost other Pittsburgh organizations, and their excellent work in the schools both empowers and educates children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been listening to SLB's inventive, family-friendly radio show since the mid-80s. When you turn on the show, it's like walking into a house filled with great music, talented neighbors, games that make you think, and friendly folks that like you just fine. I think Larry Berger is a master at setting people at ease and radiating genuine respect and appreciation for every guest and caller. SLB is one more thing that makes me proud of this old steel town.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Enjoy this very family friendly program - interesting challenges for all ages. Airs local talent in the studio. Larry knows how to bring out the best in people in his interviews!! Can't think of another program like it!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My daughter was on the SLB radio show to discuss participating in an art contest at the Gilda's Club. The staff helped her feel comfortable before and during the show. It was a positive experience she will never forget!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade is a true treasure to Pittsburgh. The opportunity it provides to children and the enlightenment and entertainment it gives to listeners of the show is invaluable.
My children were on the show almost 2 years ago and are still thrilled to talk about it. They came away
from it with new confidence due mostly to Larry Berger's adept handling of the interview and their performance. We are most grateful.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB offers unique programming aimed at children and families, that's also fun for the general public. They have a willingness to try new things, explore new topics and work with anyone who has something interesting and informative to say, if it's appropriate for their audience.

I had the
opportunity to collaborate with them in a previous life, and it was a real pleasure. Other cities simply don't have anything like it, and when I've described it to out-of-town friends, they are envious! I only wish more Pittsburghers knew about SLB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shout it's virtues from the rooftops so everyone knew about it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB is one of the great things happening in pittsburgh. They present a level of diversity that is hard to matchTheir show with the pittsburgh savoyards was great. Thank you SLB

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers