Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.939395
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My daughter was on the SLB radio show to discuss participating in an art contest at the Gilda's Club. The staff helped her feel comfortable before and during the show. It was a positive experience she will never forget!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade is a true treasure to Pittsburgh. The opportunity it provides to children and the enlightenment and entertainment it gives to listeners of the show is invaluable.
My children were on the show almost 2 years ago and are still thrilled to talk about it. They came away
from it with new confidence due mostly to Larry Berger's adept handling of the interview and their performance. We are most grateful.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB offers unique programming aimed at children and families, that's also fun for the general public. They have a willingness to try new things, explore new topics and work with anyone who has something interesting and informative to say, if it's appropriate for their audience.

I had the
opportunity to collaborate with them in a previous life, and it was a real pleasure. Other cities simply don't have anything like it, and when I've described it to out-of-town friends, they are envious! I only wish more Pittsburghers knew about SLB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shout it's virtues from the rooftops so everyone knew about it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB is one of the great things happening in pittsburgh. They present a level of diversity that is hard to matchTheir show with the pittsburgh savoyards was great. Thank you SLB

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

From my early experiences with SLB at "Empty Bowls" to the annual Father-Daughter Valentine's Day Dinner Dances at the Children's Museum, I have been a huge fan. I always look forward to receiving the SLB Weekly Puzzle to share with my family and friends and test my insight.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade used to just be a local treasure, but now we must share them with the rest of the nation. And that's fine with me. The more that know about SLB, the longer they'll be with us! I've been a loyal listener and on-air contributor for almost 20 years and am always impressed by the variety of music, interviews, and community outreach they achieve each week. They never fail to jump-start my brain and I hope I'm able to return the favor in my own small, call-in way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. They have a far better idea of how to run the ship that I would.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

We have been listening to this show since the kids were small, and they always have a quality, family production that you can't find anywhere else. They do so much to promote community organizations, too. Honestly, I don't know how they have time to do it all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do something to make their lives easier, but not sure what.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The show has been a wonderful part of my life for over 20 years. Larry Berger successfully uses radio to build a sense of community with his listeners, callers, and guests. He plays music that is rarely heard on broadcast radio, giving the program a unique sound. He offers several word puzzles and invites listeners to call with answers. The callers range from very young children to seniors, and there is a harmony in the many voices that are heard. Additionally he spotlights local performers and special events that are happening in the city, to encourage people to get out and enjoy more of what the area has to offer. I personally think this should be the more typical use of radio, but it is rarely done as well as it is done on The Saturday Light Brigade.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...spread the show to other cities. However, since I like the local aspect of the program, I think a more ideal solution is to spawn other hosts in other cities to do a similar type of show. I can't imagine the effort that would take, but it would be a wonderful accomplishment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2010

more

February 28, 2010

For the past ten years SLB Radio has helped promote fundraising efforts for the homeless shelter at which I work. St. Joseph House of Hospitality has a yearly bluegrass benefit concert and SLB radio has had musicians from that concert perform on the Saturday morning prior to that concert. Not only does this help promote the concert, but it also keeps the issue of homelessness and efforts to alleviate homelessness in the public's awareness. Also, as a musician who has performed on SLB, the opportunity to perform on live radio is an experience that is truly unique and gratifying. SLB Radio is a real asset to our community in its promotion of social awareness and promotion of the performing arts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

members of the public stating they heard about our concert on the radio.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the ability to promote a benefit concert and the opportunity to play music on live radio.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

excellent in their professionalism and their concern for our work with the homeless.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

revolutionize local mass media due to the positive effect SLB Radio would have on the community.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 27, 2010

more

February 27, 2010

To interact in person & on the radio, for over 10 yrs., with all three of our children. This is the most family freindly, iteractive media source, that educates the masses, thru fun games,music,conversation, and caring about people!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the enjoyment they bring my children and me,when they aknowledge them on the radio.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

always polite,kind , and genuinely happy to talk to us.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

buy a stronger transmitter and entertain and educate people in 30 states and parts of Canada!!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers