Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.950625
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB is one of the great things happening in pittsburgh. They present a level of diversity that is hard to matchTheir show with the pittsburgh savoyards was great. Thank you SLB

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I've worked with Larry Berger since the start of SLB at WYEP. Larry has developed community-based programming that empowers young people. There are very few other media-related groups that impact as many kids as Larry and his team. In addition to the live broadcasts, SLB has created an oral history archive of the Pittsburgh region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its programming to include more kids.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

From my early experiences with SLB at "Empty Bowls" to the annual Father-Daughter Valentine's Day Dinner Dances at the Children's Museum, I have been a huge fan. I always look forward to receiving the SLB Weekly Puzzle to share with my family and friends and test my insight.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The staff at SLB conduct insightful interviews with youth, community agency staff, and the people in the greater Pittsburgh and Pennsylvania neighborhoods. They are providing opportunities for children to display and develop their abilities in music and drama and for youth and young adults to learn and apply their radio arts skills as no one else in the area, state, and nation is doing. All of this is done with a keen awareness of the developmental needs of those with whom they interact and with a kindness that seems second nature to them. This program, with its numerous community outreach programs, is a fitting carrying on of the legacy of Pittsburgh favorite neighbor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to other areas of the country, such kindness is all to unseen these days.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

As a community partner, I have seen SLB radio in schools, in community, in studio, and working with kids ranging from kindergarteners to high schoolers. This is a unique form of communication, and a unique way to giving children voice - with guidance. The fundamental respect and genuine interest that SLB takes and shows its audience and its participants are consistent no matter where they are and what they do. I have worked with 4 different members of the team over the last 5 years, and each and everyone is highly skilled and extremely collaborative.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Helping them to reach a wider audience and more children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

In addition to all the other great programming others have mentioned, the SLB gives many amazing opportunities to local musicians--reserving quite a few for youth. This year, the Pittsburgh Concert Society Young Artists were featured on the show, and I was lucky enough to have the honor of being one of them. The Saturday Light Brigade not only gave me and other young musicians a chance to get our voices (or instruments) heard, but also the amazing feeling of being on radio for the first time. The staff there was very encouraging and enthusiastic, and I truly felt like being on the show has been one of the highlights of my playing the piano. This was unforgettable!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade used to just be a local treasure, but now we must share them with the rest of the nation. And that's fine with me. The more that know about SLB, the longer they'll be with us! I've been a loyal listener and on-air contributor for almost 20 years and am always impressed by the variety of music, interviews, and community outreach they achieve each week. They never fail to jump-start my brain and I hope I'm able to return the favor in my own small, call-in way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. They have a far better idea of how to run the ship that I would.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

SLB staff and leadership is really effective in working with youth, particularly teens. SLB empowers the youth it works with by providing them with the skills, training and equipment that they need to develop and create compelling audio narratives. SLB is great at amplifying the voice of youth in Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade is truly a great family radio show, with music and puzzles that are entertaining for adults and children. It is a fantastic local radio show, promoting local organizations, events, and artists. And it is an excellent educational radio show, providing a forum to share information and educating about radio broadcasting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have been a faithful listener of SLB Radio's The Saturday Light Brigade since its inception. I don't call in very often (my cal-in name is "John in Lincoln Place"), usually only when one of the games has most of the listeners stumped and I think I know what the answer is. But I really enjoy just listening to the music, interviews, stories, and general chit-chat with other listeners. When SLB Radio moved from one radio station to another a few years back, I was afraid the quality of the programming would deteriorate. Thanks to the new station, however, the programming expanded from 2 hours to 6, allowing for more, and better, of everything. In an age when politically-oriented and hate-filled diatribes dominate the airwaves, it is important to have family-oriented shows such as The Saturday Light Brigade on the air and internet to bring a few calm, relaxing, fun-filled, and - yes, loving! - hours to the hectic week. This show is definitely worth keeping. Please donate to make sure it stays on the air.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the program last all weekend.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers