Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.939395
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

As a community partner, I have seen SLB radio in schools, in community, in studio, and working with kids ranging from kindergarteners to high schoolers. This is a unique form of communication, and a unique way to giving children voice - with guidance. The fundamental respect and genuine interest that SLB takes and shows its audience and its participants are consistent no matter where they are and what they do. I have worked with 4 different members of the team over the last 5 years, and each and everyone is highly skilled and extremely collaborative.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Helping them to reach a wider audience and more children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

In addition to all the other great programming others have mentioned, the SLB gives many amazing opportunities to local musicians--reserving quite a few for youth. This year, the Pittsburgh Concert Society Young Artists were featured on the show, and I was lucky enough to have the honor of being one of them. The Saturday Light Brigade not only gave me and other young musicians a chance to get our voices (or instruments) heard, but also the amazing feeling of being on radio for the first time. The staff there was very encouraging and enthusiastic, and I truly felt like being on the show has been one of the highlights of my playing the piano. This was unforgettable!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade used to just be a local treasure, but now we must share them with the rest of the nation. And that's fine with me. The more that know about SLB, the longer they'll be with us! I've been a loyal listener and on-air contributor for almost 20 years and am always impressed by the variety of music, interviews, and community outreach they achieve each week. They never fail to jump-start my brain and I hope I'm able to return the favor in my own small, call-in way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. They have a far better idea of how to run the ship that I would.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

SLB staff and leadership is really effective in working with youth, particularly teens. SLB empowers the youth it works with by providing them with the skills, training and equipment that they need to develop and create compelling audio narratives. SLB is great at amplifying the voice of youth in Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have listened to this radio show since it started, and watch it grow from a small hobby to a well organized and effective educational organization, focused especially on the children of the Pittsburgh region. They go out of their way to help boost other Pittsburgh organizations, and their excellent work in the schools both empowers and educates children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade is truly a great family radio show, with music and puzzles that are entertaining for adults and children. It is a fantastic local radio show, promoting local organizations, events, and artists. And it is an excellent educational radio show, providing a forum to share information and educating about radio broadcasting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I have been a faithful listener of SLB Radio's The Saturday Light Brigade since its inception. I don't call in very often (my cal-in name is "John in Lincoln Place"), usually only when one of the games has most of the listeners stumped and I think I know what the answer is. But I really enjoy just listening to the music, interviews, stories, and general chit-chat with other listeners. When SLB Radio moved from one radio station to another a few years back, I was afraid the quality of the programming would deteriorate. Thanks to the new station, however, the programming expanded from 2 hours to 6, allowing for more, and better, of everything. In an age when politically-oriented and hate-filled diatribes dominate the airwaves, it is important to have family-oriented shows such as The Saturday Light Brigade on the air and internet to bring a few calm, relaxing, fun-filled, and - yes, loving! - hours to the hectic week. This show is definitely worth keeping. Please donate to make sure it stays on the air.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the program last all weekend.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

We have been listening to this show since the kids were small, and they always have a quality, family production that you can't find anywhere else. They do so much to promote community organizations, too. Honestly, I don't know how they have time to do it all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do something to make their lives easier, but not sure what.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The show has been a wonderful part of my life for over 20 years. Larry Berger successfully uses radio to build a sense of community with his listeners, callers, and guests. He plays music that is rarely heard on broadcast radio, giving the program a unique sound. He offers several word puzzles and invites listeners to call with answers. The callers range from very young children to seniors, and there is a harmony in the many voices that are heard. Additionally he spotlights local performers and special events that are happening in the city, to encourage people to get out and enjoy more of what the area has to offer. I personally think this should be the more typical use of radio, but it is rarely done as well as it is done on The Saturday Light Brigade.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...spread the show to other cities. However, since I like the local aspect of the program, I think a more ideal solution is to spawn other hosts in other cities to do a similar type of show. I can't imagine the effort that would take, but it would be a wonderful accomplishment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

SLB radio show is just wonderful! My daughter has been on the program a few times over the past two years promoting children's theater events. The staff is very professional, great with the kids that are being interviewed and do a fantastic job at promoting theater arts and children's programming in our city. This radio interview is always a highlight of my daughter's show experience and has even inspired her curiosity in broadcasting and theater tech! Great job SLB!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers