Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.939395
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I have been working with SLB for 4 or 5 years as an art gallery/music venue owner and musician. I have had many personal experiences with the staff and hosts there. Often I arrive early and have the opportunity to see and hear Larry interact with the children and offer them an expanded opportunity to showcase their knowledge and their talents. The whole staff is very encouraging of the children and their families giving them voice to much wider audience than many children ever get to experience. I have watched the staff work with the children after shows offering creative and expressive ways to engage in art and entertainment projects. Each time I am amazed at the expanded programs SLB provides. Usually when I am there it is to introduce them to a touring act that has come to play at Harmony in the House. These are generally small market Americana and Roots musicians dedicated to their art and craft. The staff is highly accommodating to the artists (and me) and they are offered a long interview, a live showcase of their music, and Larry Berger always knows enough about them to engage in a thoughtful discussion with them. This is all made possible by the timely and considerate rapport the staff offers in booking these shows. I am a big fan and donor to SLB- a gift to us all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure everyone in the country knew about it and had access to it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My daughter was on the SLB radio show to discuss participating in an art contest at the Gilda's Club. The staff helped her feel comfortable before and during the show. It was a positive experience she will never forget!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Larry of SLB led a group of teachers and writers (of which I was part) in a writing and audio activity this summer. He really excited us about the possibilities for incorporating more audio into the work we do with children! Also, SLB's radio program offers teachers and other organizations a place to send youth who want to share their thoughts and stories with a wider audience. And, of course, I see SLB folks captivating children at just about all the youth-oriented festivals in Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The Saturday Light Brigade is a true treasure to Pittsburgh. The opportunity it provides to children and the enlightenment and entertainment it gives to listeners of the show is invaluable.
My children were on the show almost 2 years ago and are still thrilled to talk about it. They came away
from it with new confidence due mostly to Larry Berger's adept handling of the interview and their performance. We are most grateful.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB offers unique programming aimed at children and families, that's also fun for the general public. They have a willingness to try new things, explore new topics and work with anyone who has something interesting and informative to say, if it's appropriate for their audience.

I had the
opportunity to collaborate with them in a previous life, and it was a real pleasure. Other cities simply don't have anything like it, and when I've described it to out-of-town friends, they are envious! I only wish more Pittsburghers knew about SLB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shout it's virtues from the rooftops so everyone knew about it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB is an invaluable community asset for the children and families of Pittsburgh! Their weekly radio show continues the tradition of quality family entertainment that is not only enjoyable by all members of the family, but also educational, information, and engaging. Not just that, SLB's community outreach programs help empower children, youth, teens, and adults by putting the power of media into their hands, letting them tell their own stories, the stories of their communities, and create connections to others. Pittsburgh wouldn't be the same without SLB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make everyday Saturday.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

SLB is one of the great things happening in pittsburgh. They present a level of diversity that is hard to matchTheir show with the pittsburgh savoyards was great. Thank you SLB

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I've worked with Larry Berger since the start of SLB at WYEP. Larry has developed community-based programming that empowers young people. There are very few other media-related groups that impact as many kids as Larry and his team. In addition to the live broadcasts, SLB has created an oral history archive of the Pittsburgh region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its programming to include more kids.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

From my early experiences with SLB at "Empty Bowls" to the annual Father-Daughter Valentine's Day Dinner Dances at the Children's Museum, I have been a huge fan. I always look forward to receiving the SLB Weekly Puzzle to share with my family and friends and test my insight.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The staff at SLB conduct insightful interviews with youth, community agency staff, and the people in the greater Pittsburgh and Pennsylvania neighborhoods. They are providing opportunities for children to display and develop their abilities in music and drama and for youth and young adults to learn and apply their radio arts skills as no one else in the area, state, and nation is doing. All of this is done with a keen awareness of the developmental needs of those with whom they interact and with a kindness that seems second nature to them. This program, with its numerous community outreach programs, is a fitting carrying on of the legacy of Pittsburgh favorite neighbor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to other areas of the country, such kindness is all to unseen these days.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers