Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.692315
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

It was an awsome citizenship program! I learned so much english and passed citizenship exam

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would move to larger building and have more advanced teaching resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I make my living as a writer, so literacy is something that's very important to me! I am also interested in local volunteerism and becoming more involved with people in the community who I may not otherwise interact with often. Volunteering with Skyline Literacy was a great way to combine those interests, and I've been glad to have done so over the past year and a half. I've taught English classes and citizenship classes for Skyline. The citizenship classes were particularly rewarding - it was a privilege to help people in the class who were very motivated to become citizens and be able to more fully participate in the civic life of this community that's become their home.
Skyline Literacy is working hard to meet the large need in and around Harrisonburg for language, literacy and citizenship classes, and I'm proud to play a small part in that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it enough funding to hire more staff. It's my impression that the current staff can barely keep up with the demand for Skyline's services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I love Skyline Literacy because they have seen a need in the community and have filled it. They realize that many people need help in their English skills and need to know the answers for the citizenship test. They have gone above and beyond to make sure everyone can do exactly what they need to do in that regard. I have enjoyed volunteering with them so much. I love all of the great people I've met and I know that I've gained teaching skills and its opened my eyes to a completely new culture and has helped me become more involved in the Harrisonburg community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. I think it's great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been teaching citizenship classes as a volunteer at Skyline Literacy for about 2 1/2 years. I have enjoyed every class that I have taught--the students are interested in learning and work together in class to encourage and support each other. It is so rewarding to hear when our students pass their citizenship test! The staff at Skyline and other tutors have also been great to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I loved the citizenship program and they helped me become a citizen of the United States!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more Ads for people to see the great opportunities Skyline offers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I enjoyed learning English and i got help passing the citizenship exam

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

everything looks great to me

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was an Intern this past summer for Skyline and worked mostly in programs area. I was able to sit in on classes, help out with childcare, and meet learners who were just beginning their time with Skyline. During my time with them, I was able to understand the the many roles they play for the community they serve. Skyline plays a crucial role for an under-served population in Harrisonburg by offering customized learning environments for learners who may not fit into a traditional setting. Among the possible reasons students may not fit into a formal class setting are that learners may have a learning disability, not have reliable transportation, may need childcare, or have specific learning needs, among others.
One of the neatest aspects of this organization, I think, is that it relies on community members as volunteer tutors and instructors. It seemed to me that many students developed strong relationships with their tutors that at times even extended beyond the classroom. Harrisonburg is becoming an extremely diverse community, and the exchange of language and information seems to be a great platform for understanding among these different groups of people. I am very glad to have recently accepted a position at Skyline to help them fulfill their many goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

They taught me citizenship courses and made it very easy for me to pass the Exam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make more and different courses' time for citizenship and English classes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

For the past 6 years I have volunteered my services to Skyline Literacy where I have taught English as a second language. Each year has been just as positive as the year before. The students are motivated to learn which presents a great atmosphere in the classroom. Our administrators strive to enhance the program wherein they have fundraisers and end of the year awards ceremonies. Also, of significance, I have a Marine son who just completed his B.A. at UVA who taught for a year at Skyline Literacy. He enjoyed it. Lastly, my daughter is assistant teaching this year at Skyline Literacy. She loves it. I believe in Skyline Literacy and the great benefits it bestows on our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes! We need it in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Skyline Literacy is extremely efficient with every dollar donated. Their overhead is low and their performance high. Their focus is plainly on the students every minute of every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers