Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group of conservation oriented people works by bringing international scientists and citizens together to discover the wildlands of the Sonoran Desert. It does work with developers, ranchers, interested citizen trackers, re-establishing water courses, advising road planners about crossings and wildlife tracks to surrounding mountains and much much more. Because the Sonoran Desert knows no barrier walls or fences we deal with the lovers of the desert from both sides of the international border and the animals that traverse the geography in the area.
The "sky islands" are sources of genetic diversity that all the inhabitants need to visit in order to maintain their species. This occurs across the Sonoran Desert and therefore human interruptions of the acreage is important and crucial. Repair and knowledge of the area is very important to all inhabitants. Groups such as the Sky Island Alliance are quietly protecting, teaching and repairing as much as they can as fast as they can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise the donations which are constantly needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a new volunteer, I recently attended their 20th Wildlife Tracking Workshop, part of their wildlife linkages program. SIA staff were so knowledgeable about wildlife, natural history, the issues and their work. I left feeling very informed and confident in my abilities to identify wildlife and completely understood how my work as a volunteer was directly supporting their mission and makes a clear difference to protect the astounding biodiversity of the Sky Islands region. From a volunteer perspective, that is the most I could ask for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

SIA is a great non profit organization. Their work across the border (US-MEX) forges true friendship and teamwork between nations to protect our Sky Islands. Also by being a volunteer now I can put in practice what I have learned in my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance is a “boots on the ground hands in the dirt” kind of an organization. Based in Tucson Arizona, they focus their attention on the unique Sky Island region that straddles the US, Mexican border. Important work is accomplished by this amazing group. By mobilizing teams of volunteers to collect data, restore habitat, document regional diversity, map wildlife corridors… They help preserve, protect & restore this incredible region.

My favorite project managed by the SIA is the Madrean Archipelago Biodiversity Assessment program. Teams of volunteer citizen scientist work side by side with trained biologist, university students and agency officials from the US and Mexico to catalog the amazing diversity of the remote, rugged mountain ranges that make up the Sky Islands.

I really can't say enough nice things about this terrific group. This is where I spend my volunteer time and make my cash donations. The projects are always fun and deeply satisfying, I honestly feel like I'm making a difference when I work with these guys!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more patrons and grant money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance demonstrates incredible leadership in involving its volunteers in a citizen science initiative. Volunteers are trained and then utilized to collect data that is then used by the organization to
effect important changes in preserving the species of the Sky Island region. Just
one example of this
groundbreaking effort has been use of the data collected by it's volunteers and hard working staff
to work to get highway underpass corridors approved and implemented. This organization is doing a great job with a limited budget. The staff members are great people who are enthusiastic and committed to
preserving our southwestern region for future generations. They do this across borders and by working with people from many different walks of life, helping all to come together to support an ideal shared by a diverse group of people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the financial support for this organization be increased.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013



I would like to thank Sky Island Alliance for all the great work that they are doing for Southern Arizona's wildlife corridor, riparian area, and protecting water.

I was able to take a tracking class 4 years ago and have volunteered on a transect every since. What a great class
and awesome way of getting out there and understanding the importance of this area.

Volunteers and staff work so closely together. I was also able to volunteer with Sky Island staff on a BioBliz, taking school children out to learn and collect photos and tracks, surveying and recording all the different species they came along on the trails.

What a hard working wonderful group and I feel so lucky being part of the importance of the Sky Island Alliance work - team/family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance has flourished by putting aside political concerns nationally and internationally to prioitize the habitats as a whole. I have been impressed by the quality of data collected on their bioblitzes and the follow-up of entering data into regional databases accessible by all. Thank-you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I logged over 100 hours volunteering for Sky Island last year on projects as diverse as spring assessments, tracking and camera trapping, and data entry. I have only lived in Tucson a couple of years and have found a family of extremely dedicated professionals that I embrace not only with time, but also emotional gratitude for the necessary work that they accomplish. Thank you Sky Island for what you do and allowing me to contribute to protecting the great quality of life that Southeast Arizona and Northern Sonora offers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the staff size to ease the tremendous stress and burden on its overtaxed employees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2011

more

March 23, 2011

I have volunteered with this group for a number of hands on projects such as ORV damage rehabilitation, bat mine surveys, and frog surveys.
I have also tabled to spread the word. SIA is involved in protecting the sky Islands of southern Arizona and wildlife corridors with Mexico. The chance to
work in the field has strengthened my commitment for land protection by seeing the positive effects of my efforts. This is a stronger bond than just contributing money.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the ORV damage hidden and the area restored was a positive result of this groups active participation in land protection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are doing a good job of community involvement and spreading the message.

March 18, 2011

more

March 18, 2011

i took SIA's 5-day mammal tracking workshop in 2008 and volunteered with them on several occasions. They have top notch scientists working for them and do a great job of getting the general public actively involved and excited about conservation. They do so many different things from science to policy to education, they seem to be covering so many different bases in conservation, an approach I think is necessary to effectively make a difference for preserving wildlands and wildlife. If I could suggest anything it would be for some staff members to get additional training in professional public outreach and ethics so they can rise above some of the petty politics that exists between different conservation organizations in the area. However, I would say again that overall they are doing an outstanding job and I'd love to see them win more support for their efforts in preserving the Sky Islands.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing strides made in the preservation of wildlinds and endangered wildlife in the sky islands of Arizona and northern Mexico.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See above, again, if I could suggest anything it would be for some staff members to get additional training in professional public outreach and ethics so they can rise above some of the petty politics that exists between different conservation organizations in the area.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers