Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance is restoring southern Arizona. This organization with mostly volunteers restores riparian, desert, and mountain habitats for plants and animals. It does very important work. The staff are extremely knowledgeable about the local Sky Island ecosystems. They are absolute experts. This is a welcoming organization for volunteers. I have learned so much being a volunteer with Sky Islands.
October 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 20, 2013

The Sky Island Alliance is a “boots on the ground hands in the dirt” kind of an organization. Based in Tucson Arizona, they focus their attention on the unique Sky Island region that straddles the... more

October 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance is an effective, hardworking organization, free of the corporate trappings of many larger environmental organizations. Think globally & act locally, you can't do better that the SIA. Landscape restoration and preservation, Spring assessments, Biological surveys... this is a boots in the mud, dirty hands, bunch that won't shy away from hard work or waste your valuable donations. I give all of my free time and $$ to these folks!
September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance is a “boots on the ground hands in the dirt” kind of an organization. Based in Tucson Arizona, they focus their attention on the unique Sky Island region that straddles the US, Mexican border. Important work is accomplished by this amazing group. By mobilizing teams of volunteers to collect data, restore habitat, document regional diversity, map wildlife corridors… They help preserve, protect & restore this incredible region.

My favorite project managed by the SIA is the Madrean Archipelago Biodiversity Assessment program. Teams of volunteer citizen scientist work side by side with trained biologist, university students and agency officials from the US and Mexico to catalog the amazing diversity of the remote, rugged mountain ranges that make up the Sky Islands.

I really can't say enough nice things about this terrific group. This is where I spend my volunteer time and make my cash donations. The projects are always fun and deeply satisfying, I honestly feel like I'm making a difference when I work with these guys!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more patrons and grant money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance is amazing! I was initially impressed with their conservation work in southern Arizona from stories and articles that I had heard and read. When I was about to jump into volunteer work with them--I found my own small community in need. My attention shifted toward my home, but --lo and behold-- SIA recognized my community's need as well. I soon found myself working side by side with SIA's amazing group of dedicated people.
I am grateful for all the work that Sky Island Alliance does in our region to protect and preserve the sky islands--and especially grateful for all the work they've done and continue to do in the little corner of the Patagonia Mountains that I call home!
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance for me is an example of training citizens to be natural historians and stewards of the natural world in the borderlands of the Southwestern US. Their data are synthesized into real-world conservation efforts that set an example to other.
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 22, 2011

Sky Island Alliance came to my attention in the early 2000's when I met some of the organization's founders and, subsequently, the director and several staff members. "Enthusiastic conservationists" ... more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

"Boots on the ground" sounds too catchy a phrase, but it does in fact describe one of this organization's enduring qualities - dedicated staff doing work to affect positive changes for conservation and the environment. These efforts range from overseeing volunteers in land restoration projects to working with public and private landowners on maintaining or opening wildlife corridors in the region.

If you're looking for a worthy group to honor with a donation, consider Sky Island Alliance.
March 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance came to my attention in the early 2000's when I met some of the organization's founders and, subsequently, the director and several staff members. "Enthusiastic conservationists" was my immediate impression of the group's members, people putting into action the ideas that make for positive outcomes. In addition to outreach programs that encourage conservation measures by private landowners, there is a 'practice-what-you-preach' ethic as exemplified by a volunteer corps repairing damaged public lands and assisting in wildlife population dynamics. Of the numerous conservation groups that we support, none more accurately lives up to our goal of thinking globally, but acting locally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with state and federal agencies to control non-native species across southern Arizona. working with Mexican agencies to promote cross-border wildlife corridors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage staff members to complete project reviews and reports in as timely a fashion as possible and to communicate research objectives to any and all interested parties.

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2013

This group of conservation oriented people works by bringing international scientists and citizens together to discover the wildlands of the Sonoran Desert. It does work with developers, ranchers, in... more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This group, Sky Island Alliance, is studying climate changes on the ground, starting with water. Not too surprising in the desert. But, knowing how facts about seeps and springs are changing is almost as important as knowing how to reverse it. One must study any aspect of life on earth to know what it means, and what the future could be like, and also know if there are changes one direction to the other. Sky Island is studying and working to know our environment for the health of our Sky Island area so that the animals and the humans have a better place to live and benefit from in all ways.
October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group of conservation oriented people works by bringing international scientists and citizens together to discover the wildlands of the Sonoran Desert. It does work with developers, ranchers, interested citizen trackers, re-establishing water courses, advising road planners about crossings and wildlife tracks to surrounding mountains and much much more. Because the Sonoran Desert knows no barrier walls or fences we deal with the lovers of the desert from both sides of the international border and the animals that traverse the geography in the area.
The "sky islands" are sources of genetic diversity that all the inhabitants need to visit in order to maintain their species. This occurs across the Sonoran Desert and therefore human interruptions of the acreage is important and crucial. Repair and knowledge of the area is very important to all inhabitants. Groups such as the Sky Island Alliance are quietly protecting, teaching and repairing as much as they can as fast as they can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise the donations which are constantly needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

These guys really care about what they do! I have never had a bad experience volunteering with SIA and I don't expect to. I can only hope they are able to continue to receive funding so that the important research they are involved with can continue for many years to come.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization focuses on the conservation of a unique area with unique wildlife. They use donated funds wisely.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SIA has been organizing, teaching, encouraging local participation for the preservation of this incredible biodiversity that we call the Sonoran Desert. Who else goes out there and builds ladders in the cattle water tanks so that the frogs and other little water seekers can get in and get out safely!
These people DO! I give them triple Hip Hip Hoorays and five stars!
The scope of their mission crosses the national borders of USA and Mexico! Not always a savory endeavor in these times of border tragedies. However, I have faith that they will be the ones to succeed!
August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I know of no other grassroots organization who does so much to nurture the preservation, awareness, restoration, advocacy of cherished places. Their "place" is the sky island region of southwest Arizona and I have been supporting them for years. They put together tremendous volunteer outings with outstanding hands-on accomplishments, they reach out to the neighboring sky islands south of the border, they have raised an awareness of jaguars and are a strong voice of advocacy on their behalf, they work to preserve, protect, restore the land, as well as raise awareness of the greater need for conservation efforts in the area. This is one of the best action-oriented, boots on the ground, passionate and community minded groups I've ever encountered!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers