Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group of conservation oriented people works by bringing international scientists and citizens together to discover the wildlands of the Sonoran Desert. It does work with developers, ranchers, interested citizen trackers, re-establishing water courses, advising road planners about crossings and wildlife tracks to surrounding mountains and much much more. Because the Sonoran Desert knows no barrier walls or fences we deal with the lovers of the desert from both sides of the international border and the animals that traverse the geography in the area.
The "sky islands" are sources of genetic diversity that all the inhabitants need to visit in order to maintain their species. This occurs across the Sonoran Desert and therefore human interruptions of the acreage is important and crucial. Repair and knowledge of the area is very important to all inhabitants. Groups such as the Sky Island Alliance are quietly protecting, teaching and repairing as much as they can as fast as they can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise the donations which are constantly needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 22, 2011

The Sky Island Alliance has been dedicated to the preservation of wildlife and wildlands in the SW US and NW Mexico for 20 years, It's accomplishments include the establishment of protected areas, l... more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For over twenty years Sky Island Alliance has done great work to protect and restore the wild lands and wildlife of the Sky Island region. Staff and volunteers are dedicated and passionate about accomplishing our mission. Sky Island Alliance is the only organization with the sole purpose of conserving this amazingly diverse and beautiful region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage greater financial support from donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance has been dedicated to the preservation of wildlife and wildlands in the SW US and NW Mexico for 20 years, It's accomplishments include the establishment of protected areas, landscape restoration, scientific research, and publice education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my work on the board of directors

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to grow our strong base of volunteers and members

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance is one of those run-silent-run-deep organizations which has the delicate and inclusive skill of building bridges between and among seemingly disparate groups. They bring opposing and opinionated people together to see each others' points of view and to find common ground. Their staff understands issues from the ground up--from deep ecological studies of sky island flora and fauna, up through the action arena inspiring volunteer boots on the ground to care for threatened natural places, and at the top, advocating as a team player on Capitol Hill to bring about changes in wildland management policy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more support for their policy and advocacy work

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a new volunteer, I recently attended their 20th Wildlife Tracking Workshop, part of their wildlife linkages program. SIA staff were so knowledgeable about wildlife, natural history, the issues and their work. I left feeling very informed and confident in my abilities to identify wildlife and completely understood how my work as a volunteer was directly supporting their mission and makes a clear difference to protect the astounding biodiversity of the Sky Islands region. From a volunteer perspective, that is the most I could ask for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

SIA is a great non profit organization. Their work across the border (US-MEX) forges true friendship and teamwork between nations to protect our Sky Islands. Also by being a volunteer now I can put in practice what I have learned in my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance is a “boots on the ground hands in the dirt” kind of an organization. Based in Tucson Arizona, they focus their attention on the unique Sky Island region that straddles the US, Mexican border. Important work is accomplished by this amazing group. By mobilizing teams of volunteers to collect data, restore habitat, document regional diversity, map wildlife corridors… They help preserve, protect & restore this incredible region.

My favorite project managed by the SIA is the Madrean Archipelago Biodiversity Assessment program. Teams of volunteer citizen scientist work side by side with trained biologist, university students and agency officials from the US and Mexico to catalog the amazing diversity of the remote, rugged mountain ranges that make up the Sky Islands.

I really can't say enough nice things about this terrific group. This is where I spend my volunteer time and make my cash donations. The projects are always fun and deeply satisfying, I honestly feel like I'm making a difference when I work with these guys!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more patrons and grant money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance demonstrates incredible leadership in involving its volunteers in a citizen science initiative. Volunteers are trained and then utilized to collect data that is then used by the organization to
effect important changes in preserving the species of the Sky Island region. Just
one example of this
groundbreaking effort has been use of the data collected by it's volunteers and hard working staff
to work to get highway underpass corridors approved and implemented. This organization is doing a great job with a limited budget. The staff members are great people who are enthusiastic and committed to
preserving our southwestern region for future generations. They do this across borders and by working with people from many different walks of life, helping all to come together to support an ideal shared by a diverse group of people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the financial support for this organization be increased.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013



I would like to thank Sky Island Alliance for all the great work that they are doing for Southern Arizona's wildlife corridor, riparian area, and protecting water.

I was able to take a tracking class 4 years ago and have volunteered on a transect every since. What a great class
and awesome way of getting out there and understanding the importance of this area.

Volunteers and staff work so closely together. I was also able to volunteer with Sky Island staff on a BioBliz, taking school children out to learn and collect photos and tracks, surveying and recording all the different species they came along on the trails.

What a hard working wonderful group and I feel so lucky being part of the importance of the Sky Island Alliance work - team/family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance has flourished by putting aside political concerns nationally and internationally to prioitize the habitats as a whole. I have been impressed by the quality of data collected on their bioblitzes and the follow-up of entering data into regional databases accessible by all. Thank-you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance is an important and effective regional leader on issues at the intersection of climate change and the environment. They have brought together a diverse array of regional resource managers, decision-makers, and private land owners for constructive dialogues on environmental change, habitat vulnerability, wildfire threats, and the potential compounding effects of climate change. Moreover, SIA's ability to mobilize volunteers for monitoring key regional ecosystem processes and species, has improved the ability of scientists and others to track environmental change, and contributed to scientific understanding of wildlife and ecosystem issues.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers