Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2013

This group of conservation oriented people works by bringing international scientists and citizens together to discover the wildlands of the Sonoran Desert. It does work with developers, ranchers, in... more

September 26, 2014

This group, Sky Island Alliance, is studying climate changes on the ground, starting with water. Not too surprising in the desert. But, knowing how facts about seeps and springs are changing is almost as important as knowing how to reverse it. One must study any aspect of life on earth to know what it means, and what the future could be like, and also know if there are changes one direction to the other. Sky Island is studying and working to know our environment for the health of our Sky Island area so that the animals and the humans have a better place to live and benefit from in all ways.
October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group of conservation oriented people works by bringing international scientists and citizens together to discover the wildlands of the Sonoran Desert. It does work with developers, ranchers, interested citizen trackers, re-establishing water courses, advising road planners about crossings and wildlife tracks to surrounding mountains and much much more. Because the Sonoran Desert knows no barrier walls or fences we deal with the lovers of the desert from both sides of the international border and the animals that traverse the geography in the area.
The "sky islands" are sources of genetic diversity that all the inhabitants need to visit in order to maintain their species. This occurs across the Sonoran Desert and therefore human interruptions of the acreage is important and crucial. Repair and knowledge of the area is very important to all inhabitants. Groups such as the Sky Island Alliance are quietly protecting, teaching and repairing as much as they can as fast as they can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise the donations which are constantly needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

These guys really care about what they do! I have never had a bad experience volunteering with SIA and I don't expect to. I can only hope they are able to continue to receive funding so that the important research they are involved with can continue for many years to come.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization focuses on the conservation of a unique area with unique wildlife. They use donated funds wisely.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SIA has been organizing, teaching, encouraging local participation for the preservation of this incredible biodiversity that we call the Sonoran Desert. Who else goes out there and builds ladders in the cattle water tanks so that the frogs and other little water seekers can get in and get out safely!
These people DO! I give them triple Hip Hip Hoorays and five stars!
The scope of their mission crosses the national borders of USA and Mexico! Not always a savory endeavor in these times of border tragedies. However, I have faith that they will be the ones to succeed!
August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I know of no other grassroots organization who does so much to nurture the preservation, awareness, restoration, advocacy of cherished places. Their "place" is the sky island region of southwest Arizona and I have been supporting them for years. They put together tremendous volunteer outings with outstanding hands-on accomplishments, they reach out to the neighboring sky islands south of the border, they have raised an awareness of jaguars and are a strong voice of advocacy on their behalf, they work to preserve, protect, restore the land, as well as raise awareness of the greater need for conservation efforts in the area. This is one of the best action-oriented, boots on the ground, passionate and community minded groups I've ever encountered!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Arizona's borderlands with Mexico are at tremendous risk due to fragmentation of lands, wasteful unneeded strip mining, water depletion, and degradation of landscapes by traffic from border patrol vehicles, migrants, and border criminals. Plus, global climate disruption is degrading the biome habitats of the various elevations of the Sky Islands. All the while there continues to be important evidence of successful struggles of remnant megafauna populations such as the ocelot and even the jaguar in the USA. Sky Island Alliance works tirelessly to protect, preserve, and restore the natural world of the borderlands. As a borderlands art & heritage photographer, I've worked with this group since 2004 in various ways, supporting it as I can. Without this group, the Sky Islands would be in much more dire circumstances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lobby for peaceful solutions to the migrant and illegal activity degrading the Arizona-Mexico border.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 22, 2011

The Sky Island Alliance has been dedicated to the preservation of wildlife and wildlands in the SW US and NW Mexico for 20 years, It's accomplishments include the establishment of protected areas, l... more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For over twenty years Sky Island Alliance has done great work to protect and restore the wild lands and wildlife of the Sky Island region. Staff and volunteers are dedicated and passionate about accomplishing our mission. Sky Island Alliance is the only organization with the sole purpose of conserving this amazingly diverse and beautiful region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage greater financial support from donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Sky Island Alliance has been dedicated to the preservation of wildlife and wildlands in the SW US and NW Mexico for 20 years, It's accomplishments include the establishment of protected areas, landscape restoration, scientific research, and publice education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my work on the board of directors

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to grow our strong base of volunteers and members

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Sky Island Alliance is one of those run-silent-run-deep organizations which has the delicate and inclusive skill of building bridges between and among seemingly disparate groups. They bring opposing and opinionated people together to see each others' points of view and to find common ground. Their staff understands issues from the ground up--from deep ecological studies of sky island flora and fauna, up through the action arena inspiring volunteer boots on the ground to care for threatened natural places, and at the top, advocating as a team player on Capitol Hill to bring about changes in wildland management policy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more support for their policy and advocacy work

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a new volunteer, I recently attended their 20th Wildlife Tracking Workshop, part of their wildlife linkages program. SIA staff were so knowledgeable about wildlife, natural history, the issues and their work. I left feeling very informed and confident in my abilities to identify wildlife and completely understood how my work as a volunteer was directly supporting their mission and makes a clear difference to protect the astounding biodiversity of the Sky Islands region. From a volunteer perspective, that is the most I could ask for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

SIA is a great non profit organization. Their work across the border (US-MEX) forges true friendship and teamwork between nations to protect our Sky Islands. Also by being a volunteer now I can put in practice what I have learned in my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers