Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

I'm a board member and volunteer. I support Skipping Stones because it connects young people from many cultures and lets them exchange ideas, stories, and traditions. In our hyperactive and attention-deficit world, Skipping Stones comes along at a meditative pace and provides a quiet, reflective space that encourages creativity and self-expression. Our founder and publisher of 23 years, Arun Toke, excels at the difficult task of promoting a tolerant exchange of ideas while at the same time standing tall for core values such as global peace, respect for all cultures, and a deep commitment to protecting the sanctity of the natural environment and all forms of life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I first met Skipping Stones publisher Arun Toke in 1986. I was an out-going board member of another non-profit organization, and editor/business manager of its house publications; Arun was my incoming replacement. One thing I learned about Arun early is that he is a man of profound belief/faith, is consistent in it, and walks in integrity to a degree unusual among men. Not long after, he founded Skipping Stones, and I've had the honor of serving on its board most of the years since. Whereas my own (commercial) publication operated under the usual financial terms -- debt to finance start-up, early operations, cash flow, and growth -- Arun has always run Skipping Stones in the black. He's done so by keeping all costs (including his own income) to a bare minimum, helped in part by a steady stream of volunteers and interns who gladly give of their time and talents for Arun and the mission of Skipping Stones. Not one penny is wasted, nor is a single sheet of paper. Arun has also been diligent about applying for -- and receiving -- grants; I do't have the list, but many important organizations and foundations have seen value in supporting Skipping Stones over the years. Board discussions periodically return to questions of sustainability and growth -- how to pursue it, and how to pay for the pursuit. I cannot shake the idea that if Skipping Stones had more support (capital), it could give wings to its vision in a much broader way with much more impact on the world. Most mass marketing campaigns, however, often involve some kind of dumbing-down of the product, some compromise of the mission, some appeal to commercial methods and interests, all of which Skipping Stones has been committed not to do. So it continues on, with a very committed, strongly supportive niche audience. I wholeheartedly support the mission and organization and its leader. Any donations (or purchases of subscriptions) are very frugally spent, every penny wrung out to effect the greatest good possible. That great good is a very great good among those it reaches.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have served on the board of Skipping Stones ever since it published its first magazine almost 25 years ago. I have contributed to this non-profit from both my personal funds and through my business, TOPS Learning Systems, because I so believe in its cause – bringing children and young adults together across all cultures to foster international understanding, green living and world peace. The only way for our next generation to really understand each other is to EXPERIENCE each other through opinion, art, poetry, and stories. Skipping Stones is like a mini foreign exchange program where students meet face-to-face within the pages of the magazine. Arun, the editor of Skipping Stones has been doing real good in the world with very limited resources. Contributing to Skipping Stones is an excellent way to guarantee that your generosity will really count for something. --Ron Marson

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2010

more

April 8, 2010

I have been working with this nonprofit ever since the beginning... back in 1988. The organization provides the best multicultural forum anywhere for children and youth. It is ecologically aware and a caring group. Lots of students volunteer for the organization. I have had chance to work with them as well as other community members.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

publishing creative works by students and adults.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Getting letters of thanks from contributors to our pages.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

outstanding

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

read some of the hundreds of submissions received each month from all over North America (and elsewhere). Or, you can be one of the reviewers for our honor awards program. Volunteer