Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

One of the beautiful things about literature is its ability to create mutual understanding. We can talk all day without really considering or sharing a new perspective. But through an engaging medium, one that captures us with the magic to see alternate worlds, we can truly come to understand our brothers and sisters, no matter how distant physically or culturally. Skipping Stones is this medium, providing youth with stories to learn from and a voice to tell.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I began interning at Skipping Stones as a writer with a limited knowledge of international cultures and conflicts outside of the U.S.A. After months of volunteering, I was introduced to countless facts and traditions I had never even heard about by children as young as six years-old. But it goes deeper than culture, straight down to the writer personally where original ideas and personal experiences open readers' eyes to new perspectives and broaden their conception of the world. This magazine is education that you can't always find in school because it is from youth with significant messages that live lives completely different from our own. This magazine is important, and it is valuable, and I couldn't be happier to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Skipping stones is an excellent non-profit multicultural children's magazine. It accepts and publishes submissions from children all over the world on a variety of multicultural topics. In particular, Skipping Stones seeks art, poetry, and essays pertaining to issues of global, cultural, or ethical importance. Not only does the magazine encourage young authors to write, it encourages them to express themselves about what makes them unique, and to share their experiences with a wold-wide audience. It also inspires me, as an intern, to work harder and do better, to use my skills in the most productive way. It brings culture and global literature together, in a place where children of all ages have access. As I continue to volunteer at Skipping Stones, I find myself realizing the dedication it takes to run such a non-profit organization. I enjoy helping out at Skipping Stones because it gives me a sense of purpose, a sense that I am creating something that will enrich the lives of children everywhere.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm not sure... print more issues!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Skipping Stones is an incredible magazine, one that promotes valuable and important messages about our global citizenry, culture, environment, health and more. One of the most deeply meaningful magazines I have ever read, Skipping Stones manages to share the stories, opinions, and experiences of writers, young and old, from all over the world. It is truly an honor to intern here; I enjoy every minute and I am rewarded by knowing that I am making a difference in the world through each and every issue that I work on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This is a multi cultural children's magazine where we learn about lots of different cultures and individual writings and kids art. We always look forward for the new issue to learn and see the creativity of the children which is always diverse in nature. It always gives children a positive experience. The Editor, Mr. Arun is a very dedicated person with lots of vision and devotion in giving & providing kids a great platform for their writings, poems and art.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I feel so privileged to have worked with Skipping Stones. Their dedication to children and desire to foster understanding of cultures is not only admirable but an important world cause.This magazine offers children from around the world a way of expressing themselves. During my time at Skipping Stones, I read so many inspirational stories.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

I look forward to each new issue of Skipping Stones Magazine as I’m thrilled to hear about caring individuals making a difference throughout the world and at the same time sharing their creativity. I wish I’d had such a resource when I was a child.

Estela Bernal

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I have volunteered for Skipping Stones as an IT Consultant for over ten years. I am inspired to do this, because I feel Skipping Stones is a very positive experience for children, both those who have their creative work published, and for those who read and share in other children's perspectives through the magazine. It gives children a voice and encourages and nurtures their positive energy and idealism. It is for this reason that I have wholeheartedly contributed my time and energy to Skipping Stones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I have been a volunteer illustrator at Skipping Stones for around 7 years, and really love my involvement. Arun, the editor, has a wonderful vision for the magazine, and is wholeheartedly devoted to giving kids around the world a platform for their poems and stories. I remember when I was a child, getting to have one of my poems and one of my drawings in a magazine. It was exciting, and powerfully empowering, to say the least. To think of all the kids who enjoy both reading and writing for Skipping Stones warms my heart with gratitude for all of Arun's hard work as editor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

Skipping Stones is a refreshingly earnest and content-heavy magazine with a clear and strong mission- to encourage creativity and communication among today's youth in order to celebrate diversity. I read and contributed in high school and now, 16 years later, I hope my son will be able to read and contribute to it as well. The caliber of the writing and art submissions is inspiring and humbling, especially since most of the contributors are children. It is a great platform for allowing youth to voice their opinions and share their creativity with each other and the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

read some of the hundreds of submissions received each month from all over North America (and elsewhere). Or, you can be one of the reviewers for our honor awards program. Volunteer