Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

The potential for changing the trajectory of melanoma research is real with the Melanoma Tissue Bank. By supporting the work of intelligent visionaries, I can be part of this change. Susan Steel is a treasure to both the dedicated researchers who are are seeking the right research tools and to the many many patients and families she guides.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

Susan Steel and her staff are an incredibly committed and impeccably gifted group of individuals devoted to nothing short of the complete eradication of melanoma. Perhaps better or equally important, they are going about their mission with a big heart and heavy dose of compassion.

In a
world where doctor's offices and clinical prognosis can sometimes feel cold and foreboding, Susan and her group offer personalized attention and hope. During my first call to SOS over a year ago I felt an instant acceptance and flow of attention.

As a engineer for one of the largest engineering companies in the world, I am in complete agreement with the mission of the tissue bank. Clearly the rate of technological and medical advance over the last twenty years are a testament to the power of information sharing. By providing the experts with more and more information, and a platform with which to share and generate ideas, the tissue bank will deliver an unprecedented level of collaboration. I am certain that, just as we have seen similar advances derived from breast and colon cancer banks, the SOS sponsored tissue banks will lead to rapid advances. That is frankly very exciting!

Finally, my brain surgeon recently told me that ten years ago he would have looked at my case and sent me to hospice with six weeks to live. Instead he has said things like, "your disease is remarkable stable" and "you should be incredibly encouraged with the systemic treatments you have received. " I believe today that is in large part due to the counseling, time and attention I received from the Skin of Steel foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them the money and additional resources they need to put the rest of the tissue banks in place asap.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

Having lost a brother to melanoma in 2010 in downstate Illinois, I cannot tell you how critical it has become for Chicago to become more relevant in melanoma prevention, treatment and research on behalf of the entire Midwest. SKIN OF STEEL is a mighty force putting Chicago on the cusp of joining (4) other cities across the country in an unprecedented collaboration to host a melanoma tissue bank. The bank and the likely greater access to clinical trials will spur innovation and help families achieve better outcomes not possible just (3) years ago. Some Midwestern patients have endured travel to the coasts at considerable expense, largely in part to the patient advocacy of Susan Steel, to stay alive. Furthermore, the medical/intellectual benefits of expanded trials that SOS seeks to bring to Chicago could extend well beyond melanoma as it holds the key to unlocking genetic complexities found in many other cancers. Providing critical data to the emerging field of personalized medicine is an exciting contribution that SKIN OF STEEL is making.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help SOS take its tenacious message to every family dealing with cancer of any kind, let alone melanoma, and to the folks in a position financially to make the Chicago branch a reality by 2014!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Skin of Steel already has a proven track record. In less than three years they have influenced state and local governments to ban the use of tanning beds by minors and raised the awareness of melanoma risk, turnilng Glenview IL into the first Sun Safe City in the US. Now they are focused on a wider issue.....raising funds to establish a national Melanoma Tissue Bank.
Melanoma is the fastest growing cancer in the world, killing ones person every hour. The most required aid to research is the supply of fresh frozen tissue. If we hope for a cure we must provide this tissue to all qualified scientists.
Skin of Steel along with four well known research hospitals, has this system in place. The dedication and amazing core of volunteers along with the courage and vision of it's founder, has made this network a reality. Now it needs funding so the work can be implemented and melanoma can be eradicated. Your contribution, whatever the size, can make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a big angel with with money or a lot of little angels. The vision and expertise are there. They need the next step to reap the rewards of all the hard work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Skin of Steel is an organization that is focused on improving the quality and proximity of care for people diagnosed with melanoma. This nonprofit was founded through one woman's painstaking journey to find help in treatment for a melanoma diagnosis (stage 4) that would paralyze most any other person. The difference is that Susan Steel (the founder of SOS) is not just any other person. Susan has found and spread inspiration by going beyond just seeking treatment for herself. She has made it her life's mission to prevent others from experiencing the challenges she has encountered in receiving treatment for this disease. This organization is supported by family, friends, colleagues, neighbors, medical professionals, hospitals and universities that recognize the need to expand the level of care locally and throughout this country. The proximity of this care is directly correlated with the chances of survival. This is an organization that is founded by one extraordinary woman that will change the course of melanoma patients worldwide. I am proud to call Susan my friend and she is an inspiration to anyone who has or will have the privilege of knowing her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand our network of awareness. The mission is straightforward albeit a complex disease. Melanoma continues to affect a significantly growing population young and old. The more awareness we can create to our mission, the sooner we can start to have a real impact across the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Skin of Steel is dedicated to raising funds for the first national melanoma tissue bank, which will collect primary tumors for use in research. This is a resource that has been sorely lacking in the melanoma research world, but has led to great advances in other cancer (e.g., breast) research. Getting this national melanoma tissue bank going will be a game changer in melanoma research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Susan Steel, founder of Skin of Steel, is a walking miracle having Stage 4 Melanoma now for eight years. She has been navigating this horrific disease and would like nothing more than to make it an easier road for anyone ever diagnosed with this same illness. Skin of Steel is working to change the landscape of Melanoma and turn Chicago into a center of excellence in treating this disease. Please, if you can, offer any amount of financial assistance to be part of the this mission and you will be helping to save the lives of many! You can make a difference! Please visit www.skinofsteel.org and make a donation today!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask every connection to anyone affiliated with this organization or anyone who learns of this organization to consider donating even $1 so that we can reach the $3.3 million needed to get these tissue banks up and running across the country and working as quickly as possible. One more precious life lost to this horrible disease is one too many. Please begin sending in your dollars and ask others to do the same!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Skin of Steel is an NFP organization that is focused on improving the lives of melanoma patients and their families by establishing Chicago as a Center of Excellence for melanoma research and treatment. Skin of Steel is strong in both advocating for melanoma patients and also advocating and raising funds for Chicago's participation in the first National Melanoma Tissue bank. The tissue can be used for research to provide future therapies and individualized treatments for melanoma patients. Chicago's participation will provide a way to raise melanoma awareness, secure additional doctors specializing in melanoma, and increase clinical trial participation in the midwest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Skin of Steel is a NFP focused on melanoma research. SOS is unique in its vision as it raises funds for the first national primary melanoma tissue bank. Founder, Susan Steel, her board or directors, advisors and volunteers help facilitate as they move closer to this goal. They've targeted institutions and physicians across the country who are dedicated to work together and openly share their findings in order to develop potentially curative and individualized treatment options for patients with melanoma.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Skin of Steel is an organization that through one woman's personal vision and strength has worked to help change the landscape of melanoma research. She is working to create a tissue bank that will provide needed information and answers to both treat, and hopefully cure this horrible disease that can and does affect people of all ages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide all the funding they need to make their mission complete and provide the research needed to cure melanoma.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers