Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

Working with Sisters Empowerment and Veda Brown is pure joy!

She is inclusive, thoughtful and very respectful of everyone she serves and collaborates with. I have the privilege of sharing and assisting with facilitating some of the classes and things run as smooth as silk every time. The
entire team is dedicated and very congruent and easy to work with.

Veda is true to her mission and is always connecting with new members and taking in new referrals and looking for solutions including funding sources and donors. This is a tireless woman who is truly committed to the work of uplifting and empowering other women - true to the name of the organization.

This organization is a blessing to many and miracles occur as a result of their stick-to-it-ness!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get her connected to a consistent source of funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

Behind every great organization is great leadership. Beyond the shadow of a doubt, Sisters Empowerment Network is a great organization that is highly esteemed with unprecedented great leadership in the person of its founder, Ms. Veda Brown. I've had the opportunity to work with Veda and SEN in various capacities through the years, and one of the many things that sets the organization apart is Veda's undying commitment to the cause. She is always open to developing and fostering relationships that will ultimately propel the organization forward to higher heights and deeper depths of excellence. She has remained unwavering in her commitment to assure that the needs of those the organization serves are met. I'm proud of all that SEN does to make a positive difference, and I look forward to witnessing even greater works in the near future.
Sincerely,
Alonia Jones

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Veda Brown is a community /world life savor. Veda has a warm and loving heart. I have had the opportunity to work with Veda on many occasions on Domestic. Abuse workshops. Sisters Empowerment Network ,Inc is an organization were women and children can come for love and support and guidance . I am honored to know this great women named Veda Brown. If your. Looking for an organization to change the world, one day at a time, then that's , Sisters Empowerment Network , Inc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

In 2005 ran away from my life and ended up in a homeless shelter. While there a woman named Veda Brown Founder of Sister Empowerment Network came to visit us and invited a group of us to a women's retreat. Because of SEN I was able to begin my healing process. It did not end there. The organization truly empotwerd ne by providing me with temporary housing and helped me gain employment to sustain myself. I am forever grateful. If SEN would not have intervened in my life I don't know where my life would have ended.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

Sisters Empowerment Network, Inc. is a wonderful organization that I feel so honored and blessed to have been able to volunteer with. The dedication that Ms. Brown has to women and children is inspiring. Not only have I worked with her on some of her events, but I have also brought my family out to participate and get a better understanding of social issues that effect our community. I look forward to working with her for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Georgia Coalition Against Domestic Violence and the Georgia Commission on Family Violence issued the 6th annual Domestic Violence Fatality Review Report in March which showed conditions had improved from three years ago, when the state was ranked seventh for such homicides. Still, Georgia's domestic violence organizations responded to over 72,000 incidents last year. And in the last seven years, 835 Georgians lost their lives to domestic violence. Sisters' Empowerment Network, Inc. supports vicitims of domestic violence in several surrounding communities. Sisters' Empowerment helps the women with living arrangement, job training and helps with making sure the children are cared for. This organization has been around for ten years supporting the community. I thank Veda for her vision , and insight to make a difference in the lives of abused women, men and children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Earlier this year I was invited to speak at The Sisters Empowerment Network, inc. I was so surprised by the beautiful atmosphere that was created by the founder. Ms. Veda Brown has created an organization that empowers women to take ownership of their lives. Women are encouraged to tap into their own purpose and creativity to design a life worth living. I believe in this organization because it empowers women to network, educate themselves and to give back to others. Ms. Brown understands that self esteem is developed when one understands and lives on purpose. Many organizations of this nature promote government programs but Sister Empower is different because it promotes self sufficiency.

I love this organization because it truly believes that women are not victims but they are victors. I am so glad that I have had the opportunity to be apart of such a wonderful movement. I look forward to hearing more stories of women who have achieved their dreams with the support of the women in this group.

Wishing you abundance and peace,
Melisa Alaba

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Upon first encountering Ms. Brown I was amazed and in awe. It was during her Walk a Mile in Her shoes event and I was a vendor there in Clayton County. The awareness was awakened in me about the amount of domestic violence that's taking so many lives. It made me want to do more to assist these families in such a manner I sought diligently to become more of an avid participant on a weekly bases. This is my first time being apart of something so wonderful. I truly love what they do in and for the community


Thanks
A R

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

First i would like to say the leader of this amazing organization has a god-fearing spirit and her vision for this mission is truly beyound words.Miss.Brown goes above and beyound the call od duty to impact the lives of children and women.She has a great section of events that stem from "Safe Date" to "Just Breathe Series"which has been know to leave you with healthy tools to apply to almost all situations.I have been working with Miss.Brown only for a short period of time but im so grateful to be apart of her wonderful movement and im so looking forward to future projects.Thanks Miss.Brown for using our life and story to help others.

Tanya Tibbs Owner of The VBar Brand

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I found Sister Empowerment Network when I hit an ultimate low point of my life. I needed help with my situation. I called around to a number of different places and each time I was given another number to call. Finally I called the Sister Empowerment network number and CEO, Veda Brown answered my call. I didn't know who she was at the time. All I knew was that she gave me hope. Since that first phone call she has stood by me and aided me as I embarked on a new chapter of my life. There is no doubt in my mind that God placed her in my path! I never looked back and she is one of the reasons that I am in a much better place today! And she is still here standing right beside me! I will always be grateful for her and her organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve as virtual assistants to help with administrative duties, make appointments for the CEO. We need volunteers to help with our annual fundraising and community awareness events. Conduct workshops in your area of expertise. or knowledge i.e. financial, management, job preparedness, apprenticeship, support groups. Manage crisis hotline.