Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have volunteered with SIRE for 3+ years. I have witnessed this organization continue to provide the very best to its clients not only by the professional and caring instructors but also providing training and education to its volunteers. The clients benefit immensly as everyone works hard to help improve the quality of life for persons with disabilities. I was already volunteering at SIRE when my sister was stricken with a disease that caused her to require a wheelchair. I brought her to SIRE and she began to regain her mobility. She now walks with only a cane for support! It has given her personal freedom, confidence and hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I have volunteered for SIRE for almost 4 years. My experience with this organization has been amazing! I am humbled by the enthusiasm of the clients that I work with. I see smiling faces and positive attitudes even when they are having a difficult day. Any act of kindness I perform is met with such appreciation by both the clients and the staff. I volunteer at SIRE to make a difference in people's lives but leave each day knowing my life has been made so much better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I've been volunteering with SIRE in Fort Bend county for almost 3 years now. I had no idea that I would become "addicted" to this!! It just feels so good to see the kids and the adults respond to the horses and reep the rewards. This program benefits so many people. Not only our clients but our volunteers as well. I've always loved horses, but now I know what they were truly intended for. I have met the most wonderful people volunteering at SIRE. They are all so giving and commited to making life better for the clients. I wish I could be there every day!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

SIRE, using therapeutic horseback riding helps people with a variety of disabilities. Both children as young as 3 years and adults as old as 80+ have participated as riders and benefited. People with autism, cerebral palsy, and wounded veterans all make gains from the programs at SIRE. I have been a horse sidewalker with clients that have autism and cerebral palsy. The self-confidence they have gained from SIRE has shown in their smiles and their increased speech. Family members are amazed at the impact in the arena and at home and have shared their stories. Each time I leave the SIRE site, I have a warm heart knowing that I've made a difference in someone's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I've volunteered with SIRE since I was 14 years old, and it is an amazing organization. It's about making the rider happy, but more than that it's about allowing them to have dignity. It gives the riders something to strive for, and they experience the whole range of emotion, from intense disappointment when they have trouble with a skill to joy when they get it right, or when they form a bond with a horse. Also, they get to make friends at SIRE, that they love being with outside SIRE as well. As a volunteer, it's hard to imagine a better experience. It's incredibly fulfilling, and the staff goes out of there way to make you feel welcome and to give you the chance to give real input about what you think would help your riders. People are really friendly, and they all want to make the world better. It's incredible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Witnessing the magic that happens when a client connects with a horse is priceless. The multiple benefits are so hard to quantify. Sure, there is the increased strength and flexibility the clients develop, but harder to measure are the confidence and the willingness to try just a little harder that only a horse seems to be able to bring out of a person. Physical, emotional, and cognitive challenges can be helped with the wonderful volunteers, the qualified, dedicated staff, and, most importantly, the patient and sympathetic horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I've volunteered with the SIRE clients for about 3 months now. It is soooooooo gratifying to see the looks and smiles on their faces when riding a horse. Since I love people and horses, this was the perfect volunteer organization for me. Since the clients are disabled, some more than others, the riding instructor's know which horse to put these individual clients on for their special disabilities. The short time I've been there, I can see improvement in some of the clients. I'm consider a side walker and I walk beside the horse and am there for support of the clients leg, if needed.; there are usually two side walker to each client. This organization cares so much for their clients. Everyone should come and watch one of our sessions. Most people who come to observe, join with us because they are so impressed. Phyllis Ransom

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My volunteer work at SIRE started as a selfish act on my behalf. I was relocated here from out of state and needed something to do with myself. I was originally drawn to the stables because of the horses and it was there I was introduced to SIRE. I was truely inspired by the program, its volunteers, its instructors,the horses and most of all its clients...The program brings everyone together to work toward the same goal in developing a better quality of life. Surprisingly, is isn`t just for the clients, I think I speak for all of us when I say the program has enriched all of our lives in so many ways. There is nothing more rewarding than having a purpose in life and making a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been volunteering with SIRE for the past 5 years. I have watched them grow with each year. The level of dedication is wonderful. The progress of the riders inspires me every time I'm there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 16, 2011

I have been a volunteer for over 17 years. The comments from our parents and riders says it all - SIRE is the best thing they have ever done. That is why I keep on giving to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

One parent recently said that the only time she is able to have a conversation with her son is on the way home from horseback riding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more money

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

with training, lead a horse or walk beside a client in his or her lesson, helping her with balance or focus. Volunteer