Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Volunteering at SIRE for 5 years was an amazing experience. Loved the wonderful people working/volunteering there. Every single kid/client I worked with touched my heart in so many ways. It was truly amazing witnessing the so many positive changes & growths these kids/clients benefited from riding and working with these wonderful people and horses.
September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

I heard about Sire through my husband's workplace as they donate to support Sire. I was afraid of horses but had worked with special needs students over the years so thought it would be a perfect o... more

September 25, 2014

I have been with Sire for about five or six years and have met amazing clients and volunteers through this experience. It is not only a chance to change someone's life in a concrete way, but the people you are "working" with are some of the most caring and friendly people!
April 8, 2013

I heard about Sire through my husband's workplace as they donate to support Sire. I was afraid of horses but had worked with special needs students over the years so thought it would be a perfect opportunity to combine and conquer my fear! I have been volunteering as a sidewalker for almost five years now. It just goes to prove you DONT need to be a horse person to be a volunteer! I have made incredible friendships with staff, other volunteers and clients and it has been an amazing experience i highly recommend to everyone I meet:) We are now starting a Friends of Sire group for those who appreciate our passion but can't volunteer their time so anyone can get involved! To see the improvement in the clients abilities on the horse has been so gratifying and to see their happiness in riding has been an important part of my life and I encourage everyone to come out to our Richmond ( or Hockley or Spring ) site to see what we are all about!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

I joined Sire in order to conquer my fear of horses. I have worked with special needs kids over the years in the school system so thought it was a perfect way to combine the two! The people at Ft Bend, both employees and volunteers alike, have become wonderful friends and I look forward to going to "work"! I care deeply for the clients I work with and they have enhanced my life. Seeing people overcome obstacles and face their struggles so amazingly has changed my perspective and made me grateful for the ease with which I live my life. I have seen how riding has improved clients abilities and how they look eagerly toward class each week...we are definitely making a difference!! I could not tell people strongly enough how wonderful Sire is ! It has enriched my life and I carry brochures in my car at all times to spread the word!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

I have been a volunteer for over 17 years. The comments from our parents and riders says it all - SIRE is the best thing they have ever done. That is why I keep on giving to them. more

September 25, 2014

I have been a volunteer at SIRE for over 20 years. As a horse lover and owner, I know first hand what riding or just being with a horse does for me emotionally. Yet every time I work with SIRE riders I am amazed and inspired by their progress and joy of riding. For some of our riders, just sitting up straight is a challenge - for others it is negotiating a trail course. And this week I saw a young rider enjoy shooting baskets from horseback, even shooting backwards! One of his goasl is to strengthen abdominal muscles - something which is hard to do from a wheelchair. I am so fortunate to be able to volunteer at SIRE!
February 16, 2011

I have been a volunteer for over 17 years. The comments from our parents and riders says it all - SIRE is the best thing they have ever done. That is why I keep on giving to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

One parent recently said that the only time she is able to have a conversation with her son is on the way home from horseback riding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more money

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

SIRE brings a sense of fulfillment and joy to my life. To be part of something that can be life changing for a rider is wonderful. I started volunteering at SIRE as a way to be around horses and work with adults and kids with disabilities. I love the time I spend at SIRE! My heart smiles when I am there.
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I began volunteering at SIRE in October 2012. Initially as a way to be around horses again and of course volunteer my time in a way that would benefit others. What I found in these client riders and staff and the horses and of course other volunteers has changed my life. I am inspired by the strength and bravery of every rider who may initially approach with trepidation, mere months later are competing in Top Hands. I know I feel power and freedom on horseback, but some of these riders come for wheelchairs. Imagine how that must make them feel. The instructors and staff always make the experience for riders fun and entertaining while they perform tasks to make them stronger and stretch their limits. Feels like play but you can see how hard everyone works - the payoff is the growth and confidence building every week. It is awe inspiring. I am grateful to have become a part of SIRE and all they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just want more. More staff, more clients, more volunteers. More people to know about SIRE and the way they change the lives of their client riders young and older.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I started volunteering at SIRE as a way to stay close to horses and work with the disabled.

As a bit of history, I am a breast cancer survivor. My medication depletes my calcium so after being throw from 3 different horses, I quit riding for fear of breaking something, like a hip. As
for working with the disabled, my mother was an amputee so as I helped her resume a "normal" life, after the loss of her leg, I gained a modicum of knowledge of how the handicapped are perceived and treated by experiencing it first hand. I also saw what the treatment of others did to her mindset. I wanted to show those individuals called disabled that everyone's normal is different and a smile or a display of kindness through encouragement from a volunteer, or from the rider to the volunteer for that matter, is the BEST! SIRE is the WHOLE package...

People tend to give you kudos for working at SIRE but I just say I do it because I'm selfish. Volunteering with such a great organization make ME feel great. Working with individuals trying to better themselves gives me the incentive to better myself. And the friendships I have gained, disabled and able-bodied, are, well...priceless.

If it weren't for SIRE, I wouldn't have a horse of my own who I love to drive with a carriage. Without SIRE, I wouldn't be training to be the Able Bodied Whip for their newly reinstated Driving Program. To sum it up, if I hadn't gotten involved with SIRE, it's mission and it's people, I wouldn't be near as happy with my life as I am now.

Sidebar: I mentioned my horse. He is young, 10 yrs., and I am not-so-young, 61. But when I quit working with/driving him, he will be the best therapy horse I could train him to be so my hope is that the rest of his life will be spent as a SIRE therapy horse helping the disabled in his later years as I have enjoyed doing in mine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

After my little brother passed away 6 years ago, at 5 and a half months old, due to different health issues that he was born with, my mom started volunteering at a therapeutic equestrian center like SIRE. Now that I am old enough to do it myself, I searched for a place once we moved to houston last year. I have been volunteering at SIRE since January of this year. It has been such an amazing experience to help all these wonderful people! If my brother hadn't died, he would have been one of these kids riding at SIRE. It brings me much joy to volunteer at SIRE, and help put a smile on all these precious people. :)
-McKenna (15)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't do anything! It's perfect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

SIRE is amazing! I started volunteering with them in the fall of 2013 and have loved every second of it. Everything that they do is for their amazing riders! It is not just a motto, the rider is number 1 at all times. The joy and improvement in the riders that I have seen is remarkable. Their abilities are enhanced by the therapy that they receive. The care and attention that SIRE provides to their riders is phenomenal! This is a special group of people that make this therapy available to those who benefit from it. I have gotten back so much more than I could ever give by being a SIRE volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

Having volunteered with SIRE for over 7 years, I have been able to see first hand what a great difference it makes in a child's development. I am a retired special education teacher and know the difficulties these students have finding something they can accomplish and be proud of. The staff is amazing (and that includes the horses). It has enriched my life so much and I will continue to volunteer as long as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I began volunteering about 19 years ago and have been in so many roles, but it is seeing the magic on horseback that makes it all worthwhile. I am currently working with a young lady who cannot speak; she communicates through her body position and facial expressions. When her face lights up, she shares that light with all who are around her. It is clear how much she enjoys it, and she know that she must work to sit up straight to keep riding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

with training, lead a horse or walk beside a client in his or her lesson, helping her with balance or focus. Volunteer