Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I began volunteering about 19 years ago and have been in so many roles, but it is seeing the magic on horseback that makes it all worthwhile. I am currently working with a young lady who cannot speak; she communicates through her body position and facial expressions. When her face lights up, she shares that light with all who are around her. It is clear how much she enjoys it, and she know that she must work to sit up straight to keep riding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

My daughter started volunteering at SIRE three years ago, got me hooked, and now my son volunteers, too! As a dad, I love SIRE because it is a great place for my kids to do great work with great people. My kids have created lasting relationships with people of all ages and from many different backgrounds. And, they get to see how our clients with a variety of challenges are real people with the same goals, fears, and dreams that we all have. As a volunteer, I love seeing how an hour on a horse can truly change my clients' lives by giving them more physical, cognitive, and emotional strength. I also love my fellow volunteers, and the staff is amazing. They always make us feel appreciated, because at SIRE, we are all part of the team. If you're looking for hands-on volunteering that lets you change lives in a fun, supportive environment, SIRE is your place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

I joined Sire in order to conquer my fear of horses. I have worked with special needs kids over the years in the school system so thought it was a perfect way to combine the two! The people at Ft B... more

April 8, 2013

I heard about Sire through my husband's workplace as they donate to support Sire. I was afraid of horses but had worked with special needs students over the years so thought it would be a perfect opportunity to combine and conquer my fear! I have been volunteering as a sidewalker for almost five years now. It just goes to prove you DONT need to be a horse person to be a volunteer! I have made incredible friendships with staff, other volunteers and clients and it has been an amazing experience i highly recommend to everyone I meet:) We are now starting a Friends of Sire group for those who appreciate our passion but can't volunteer their time so anyone can get involved! To see the improvement in the clients abilities on the horse has been so gratifying and to see their happiness in riding has been an important part of my life and I encourage everyone to come out to our Richmond ( or Hockley or Spring ) site to see what we are all about!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

I joined Sire in order to conquer my fear of horses. I have worked with special needs kids over the years in the school system so thought it was a perfect way to combine the two! The people at Ft Bend, both employees and volunteers alike, have become wonderful friends and I look forward to going to "work"! I care deeply for the clients I work with and they have enhanced my life. Seeing people overcome obstacles and face their struggles so amazingly has changed my perspective and made me grateful for the ease with which I live my life. I have seen how riding has improved clients abilities and how they look eagerly toward class each week...we are definitely making a difference!! I could not tell people strongly enough how wonderful Sire is ! It has enriched my life and I carry brochures in my car at all times to spread the word!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Well, all you have to do is look into the faces of our riders and the story of their growth and joy unfolds. Then you look at their loved ones watching them progress and then you know why all of us ... more

April 8, 2013

I have been a volunteer with SIRE, the Houston area Equestrian Therapy Program, for a little more than 5 years. I have seen adults, young adults, teenagers and children come into and through the program. I have encountered their family and caretakers who support and cheer them on. I still cannot find the words to tell you how much this program has touched each one of them. I celebrate every little success I see each of them accomplish with their favorite horse...the big smile one their faces! I celebrate when I see a young woman who was severely brain injured in an auto accident feel the joy of her horse under her body for weeks and then become able to go back to school (college) and graduate last May! Wow! What a success story! I see a little girl with autism get on a horse for the first time somewhat bedraggled finally settle down, then a big smile come across her face, she sits straight, and, then I know she was meant to ride...today she is reigning her horse as if she had been born on it! Now, isn't that a great success! This is what SIRE does...this is what the program is all about...how can I not nominate it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

Well, all you have to do is look into the faces of our riders and the story of their growth and joy unfolds. Then you look at their loved ones watching them progress and then you know why all of us do what we do...anything and everything to support the work of this program. I have been a volunteer with SIRE for the past 4 years since I retired from University work. I am not sure any words can describe the tremendous experience it is to see a Iraq veteran, injured by a road bomb, ride and become stronger, more balanced, more confident he can make it! Or, see a litte girl who is autistic, ride for the first time...fighting against getting on the horse, and then, once up on the saddle her face lights up and a smile appears...wow...she was made for riding. Now she is excited every time she comes. This is what I say to others.."it puts gas in my tank" and is the reason I keep volunteering doing anything I can do to keep this program alive! Thank you SIRE Family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

I am the one who benefits by being at SIRE. Everyday that I volunteer I learn more about giving back to others, about people who have handicapps and about horses. I value the continual training SIRE... more

December 4, 2012

I have had a great experience volunteering at SIRE. I benefit in many ways while volunteering at SIRE. I share in the clients success, the parents joy for their child's learning, and I am educated to be a better volunteer ever time I am at SIRE. The instructors are terrific to work with. It's great voluntering at SIRE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2011

I am the one who benefits by being at SIRE. Everyday that I volunteer I learn more about giving back to others, about people who have handicapps and about horses. I value the continual training SIRE offers for its volunteers. Their instructors are wonderful to work with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many of the clients I have volunteered with have be able to make great improvements in their confidence, independence, and mobility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better use of their bank of volunteers. Better contact with their volunteers to keep them in the loop about the many events they have. round ups,, Luncheons, Gala, Top Hands, Special Olympics, Golf Tourn'y...this email!

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have volunteered with SIRE for 3+ years. I have witnessed this organization continue to provide the very best to its clients not only by the professional and caring instructors but also providing training and education to its volunteers. The clients benefit immensly as everyone works hard to help improve the quality of life for persons with disabilities. I was already volunteering at SIRE when my sister was stricken with a disease that caused her to require a wheelchair. I brought her to SIRE and she began to regain her mobility. She now walks with only a cane for support! It has given her personal freedom, confidence and hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I have volunteered for SIRE for almost 4 years. My experience with this organization has been amazing! I am humbled by the enthusiasm of the clients that I work with. I see smiling faces and positive attitudes even when they are having a difficult day. Any act of kindness I perform is met with such appreciation by both the clients and the staff. I volunteer at SIRE to make a difference in people's lives but leave each day knowing my life has been made so much better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I've been volunteering with SIRE in Fort Bend county for almost 3 years now. I had no idea that I would become "addicted" to this!! It just feels so good to see the kids and the adults respond to the horses and reep the rewards. This program benefits so many people. Not only our clients but our volunteers as well. I've always loved horses, but now I know what they were truly intended for. I have met the most wonderful people volunteering at SIRE. They are all so giving and commited to making life better for the clients. I wish I could be there every day!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

SIRE, using therapeutic horseback riding helps people with a variety of disabilities. Both children as young as 3 years and adults as old as 80+ have participated as riders and benefited. People with autism, cerebral palsy, and wounded veterans all make gains from the programs at SIRE. I have been a horse sidewalker with clients that have autism and cerebral palsy. The self-confidence they have gained from SIRE has shown in their smiles and their increased speech. Family members are amazed at the impact in the arena and at home and have shared their stories. Each time I leave the SIRE site, I have a warm heart knowing that I've made a difference in someone's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I've volunteered with SIRE since I was 14 years old, and it is an amazing organization. It's about making the rider happy, but more than that it's about allowing them to have dignity. It gives the riders something to strive for, and they experience the whole range of emotion, from intense disappointment when they have trouble with a skill to joy when they get it right, or when they form a bond with a horse. Also, they get to make friends at SIRE, that they love being with outside SIRE as well. As a volunteer, it's hard to imagine a better experience. It's incredibly fulfilling, and the staff goes out of there way to make you feel welcome and to give you the chance to give real input about what you think would help your riders. People are really friendly, and they all want to make the world better. It's incredible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers