Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My child has been riding at SIRE for 8 yrs. She loves it today as if it was her first year. It has help develop her speaking skills, core strength, muscles, increased her depth perception, helps her focus, learn different commands to the horse, built confidence, independence and meet new people. The SIRE volunteers and staff have become part of our family. The riding therapy has changed our lives for the better, through the improvement we've seen in our child. I highly recommend it !
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

As Executive Director of Be An Angel, a non-profit organization whose mission is to serve the multiply impaired and/or profoundly deaf children of Texas, we understand the value of horse therapy! Sire and Be An Angel serve many of the same children each year.

We applaud Sire's efforts of
educating our community that kids and animals are a natural combination which has proven excellent results for physical and emotional therapies. Riding horses strengthens their weak muscles, assists with motor coordination and concentration while always boosting confidence and self esteem.

Offering trained and excellent staff, we could ask no more for the special children who benefit from their programs.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Volunteering at SIRE for 5 years was an amazing experience. Loved the wonderful people working/volunteering there. Every single kid/client I worked with touched my heart in so many ways. It was truly amazing witnessing the so many positive changes & growths these kids/clients benefited from riding and working with these wonderful people and horses.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have seen the pride and joy on the faces of SIRE clients from being able to ride. I have seen the same
look on their family members knowing that it is helping their loved ones to become stronger. SIRE is
great!
September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

I heard about Sire through my husband's workplace as they donate to support Sire. I was afraid of horses but had worked with special needs students over the years so thought it would be a perfect o... more

September 25, 2014

I have been with Sire for about five or six years and have met amazing clients and volunteers through this experience. It is not only a chance to change someone's life in a concrete way, but the people you are "working" with are some of the most caring and friendly people!
April 8, 2013

I heard about Sire through my husband's workplace as they donate to support Sire. I was afraid of horses but had worked with special needs students over the years so thought it would be a perfect opportunity to combine and conquer my fear! I have been volunteering as a sidewalker for almost five years now. It just goes to prove you DONT need to be a horse person to be a volunteer! I have made incredible friendships with staff, other volunteers and clients and it has been an amazing experience i highly recommend to everyone I meet:) We are now starting a Friends of Sire group for those who appreciate our passion but can't volunteer their time so anyone can get involved! To see the improvement in the clients abilities on the horse has been so gratifying and to see their happiness in riding has been an important part of my life and I encourage everyone to come out to our Richmond ( or Hockley or Spring ) site to see what we are all about!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

I joined Sire in order to conquer my fear of horses. I have worked with special needs kids over the years in the school system so thought it was a perfect way to combine the two! The people at Ft Bend, both employees and volunteers alike, have become wonderful friends and I look forward to going to "work"! I care deeply for the clients I work with and they have enhanced my life. Seeing people overcome obstacles and face their struggles so amazingly has changed my perspective and made me grateful for the ease with which I live my life. I have seen how riding has improved clients abilities and how they look eagerly toward class each week...we are definitely making a difference!! I could not tell people strongly enough how wonderful Sire is ! It has enriched my life and I carry brochures in my car at all times to spread the word!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

I have been a volunteer for over 17 years. The comments from our parents and riders says it all - SIRE is the best thing they have ever done. That is why I keep on giving to them. more

September 25, 2014

I have been a volunteer at SIRE for over 20 years. As a horse lover and owner, I know first hand what riding or just being with a horse does for me emotionally. Yet every time I work with SIRE riders I am amazed and inspired by their progress and joy of riding. For some of our riders, just sitting up straight is a challenge - for others it is negotiating a trail course. And this week I saw a young rider enjoy shooting baskets from horseback, even shooting backwards! One of his goasl is to strengthen abdominal muscles - something which is hard to do from a wheelchair. I am so fortunate to be able to volunteer at SIRE!
February 16, 2011

I have been a volunteer for over 17 years. The comments from our parents and riders says it all - SIRE is the best thing they have ever done. That is why I keep on giving to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

One parent recently said that the only time she is able to have a conversation with her son is on the way home from horseback riding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise more money

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

SIRE brings a sense of fulfillment and joy to my life. To be part of something that can be life changing for a rider is wonderful. I started volunteering at SIRE as a way to be around horses and work with adults and kids with disabilities. I love the time I spend at SIRE! My heart smiles when I am there.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Our son loves therapy at SIRE. He willingly works hard each week to learn and practice the skills he needs to ride well. After 22 years of therapy, he can ride his horse at a walks or trot all by himself. He also tacks and untacks his horse, grooms him and returns him to the pasture (with some special help from his volunteers).
He has Autism, the intellectual abilities of a 5 year old child, and speech aphasia. SIRE helps him in all these areas all at the same time, through the engaging opportunity to ride the horse he comes to love.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Riding at SIRE has improved my husband's balance and self-control and is a welcoming and comfortable place for him to be. Our whole family has benefited from SIRE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I am so glad we found Sire! Every volunteer and staff member here is phenomenal my son loves his time with the horses and loves the family here so much he never wants to go home. Everyone is very patient with him and activities are varied within and between sessions to help him have fun while working on various therapy activities on horseback The staff go above and beyond by sponsoring several extra activities like the annual horse show which is a day of fun and a chance to win a ribbon or trophy !(that's a really big deal to my 5 year old!)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

with training, lead a horse or walk beside a client in his or her lesson, helping her with balance or focus. Volunteer