Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I attended the Simonton Cancer Counseling Center "Getting Well Again" program on June 1-6, 2014 in Santa Barbara. Their program helped identify how my beliefs and attitudes can affect my health and over all well-being. They provided tools that will benefit me now and in the future with all types of questions and concerns. The program was very well organized. The whole experience was informative, uplifting, and provided the support and confidence I need to move forward with my decisions.

The La Casa de Maria retreat location was so beautiful! It provided a relaxing environment while learning to cope and manage stress.

Thank you Simonton Cancer Center for changing my life! I will use this information always!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. It was very well organized and guided you step by step into the program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2014

more

April 9, 2014

I was diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer in July, 2013. In March, 2014 my wife and I attended the Simonton Cancer Center "Getting Well Again" Program in Santa Barbara. The program far exceeded our expectations. It was well organized, provided tools and techniques for dealing with the Mind/Body aspect of my disease, provided lots of individual attention, and the staff and counselors were wonderful. In addition, the location of the program at La Casa de Maria retreat was terrific: relaxing and inviting, comfortable and very clean, and the food was outstanding.
The program included not only the core training from Dr. Simonton's books and research, but brought in additional aspects such as the Power of Play and an evening of restorative yoga, all of which blended beautifully with the rest of the program.
At times it wasn't easy, but it was exceptionally helpful and useful to us.
I found the other cancer patients and their support persons to be exceptionally helpful to the learning process and came away with a new set of friendships that I treasure and hope to build on going forward.
Thank you to Karen Simonton and her staff as well as the staff at La Casa De Maria for a great week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2014

I attended the 5 day seminar in Santa Barbara last week. I have had a recent diagnosis of stage IV cancer and the group sessions and individual counseling were wonderfully helpful to me. The philosophy, tools ad techniques of the Simonton program empowered me and will be invaluable in my quest to regain my health.
The counselors, as well as Karen Simonton were compassionate, kind and very skilled at this work. I would highly recommend this program to any person who has cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

I heard about Simonton while in Germany visiting a friend and having severe pain and pancreatic cysts. I contacted them when diagnosed with pancreatic cancer early 2013. They helped me to prepare for surgery followed by chemo and radiation therapy by using their loving guidance in designing my own personal protection visualization. I have just this week completed chemotherapy, and have experienced no pain and minimal side effects. I was "no evidence of disease" in Sept. 2013 scans. I attended the November session 2013, and have learned more tools to design a more healthy belief system and ways to plan out how to do everything I know to do, to be healthy and vital.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be an active part of it, helping others to find hope and acceptance with grace, ease and joy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Many years ago, my wife had stage 4 melanoma removed and drs were positive it had already spread. ,Testing equipment was not as sophisiticated then, and she was give a 60 per cent chance of survival. We went to MD Anderson, in TX, and there were not treatments available for her. Coincidentially, she saw the book by Dr. O. Carl Simonton, "Getting Well Again", and bought it and immediately started the exercises and meditations in the book. She gethered a group of friends to work with her with healing meditations, from a distance. Amazingly, and gratefully, the cancer never had spread, and never returned. We are grateful to the Simonton Cancer healing methods. She is still alive 30 years later.
Years later, we attended a sesson at the Simonton Center, and definitely would recommend it to all cancer patients and caregivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publish survivor stories

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

We live in Izmir - Turkey. Last February (2013) we found out that my wife has lung cancer. Than we started to search for ways to fight cancer. During a conference in Turkey we heard about the Simonton Counceling Center in CA- USA and we did our reservation for the session of August, 2013 and we fortunately have been in that 5 days training in CA - USA. Now, just after the Simonton training we feel so sure that we have good tools to fight with my wife's cancer and we'll get rid of it in a short time. Simonton trainers are like our family members, very warm, kind: during the training days they have worked with us all day long, even once until 10 pm. Simonton is a caring organization. I believe that the Simonton training is necessary to any person who wants to keep himself in good health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would search ways to make this organization known more in all countries and start a branch in many countries and also in Turkey.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I attended the Simonton Support Week with my daughter, son in law and his father. My daughter had been diagnosed with an aggressive cancer. I was in high anxiety and fear for my young daughter's life. I benefitted greatly from the workshop which relaxed me and gave me tools and hope. The setting and the healthy food were ok, too. My daughter felt immensely empowered by Carl, Karen and other staff. She embraced their philosophy and recommendations, hired a cancer coach, and won her battle against cancer. The four of us who attended learned to be an effective support team. We taught other family members. Today my daughter is 7 years cancer free and happily realizing her dream to raise her daughters who were babies when she was diagnosed. I am grateful to the Simonton Cancer Center for their life changing work. I refer to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

incorporate the work into medical practices available to all through insurance. I have no clue how that would be done.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about the week my husband and I spent at the Simonton Cancer Counseling session. As a 2 time surviving cancer patient, this program was the most positive and educational approach to cancer I've ever experienced. And it works!! It is held in a peaceful retreat setting in Santa Barbara hills for 5 wonderful days. In meetings with Mrs. Simonton and the counselors and other patients, there is an immediate feeling of love and peace. Instead of fearing cancer, they teach new approaches to taking charge of your life, your health, and reaching deep into your soul to make any necessary changes in yourself and your life to bring about health. This empowered me to not fear cancer, and to use the the various methods that they taught to face cancer head on, and, in my case to use their uncomplicated methods to heal from it.

In meeting other patients, I was surprised that one couple had just flown in from Switzerland to attend this program. I mentioned my surprise at people coming from so far, and was told by staff it is quite a common occurrence. The Simonton Cancer Counseling Center is known internationally and has programs in many other coutnries.

What impressed me, besides the warmth and helpfulness and knowledge of the staff, was that after the program was over, Mrs. Simonton follows up on her patients. It has been years since I attended, and she still keeps in touch with me. She goes above and beyond to find answers to my questions, and works tirelessly to help her patients long after the program is over.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be helpful if previous patients could visit the program, or make a video, tape, write a statement, or if the counselors gave examples of other patient's healings.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 2, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 2, 2013

I consider myself truly fortunate that God led me to the Simonton Cancer Center. It was truly an experience of a lifetime that I will never forget. The staff are kind, down-to-earth and warm and make you feel like you've been best friends for AGES. The setting of the retreat is rejuvenating and revitalizing w/ the natural sights and sounds of California's array of flora and fauna.

The best part is their simple and easy-to-follow philosophy behind cancer, its possible origins and suggested remedies for bringing it to bay. The teachings are straightforward and easy to understand and are designed in a way that can be incorporated in your daily routine. The program is customized to each individual based on their interests and beliefs and allows the individual to take control of their lives rather than their teachings taking over you.

A truly modern approach to curing cancer, it is a MUST not just for cancer patients, but for anyone interested in getting a refresher course on how to truly "live" life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make your organization more prominent through more integrated marketing. It was just happen-chance that I came across the Simonton Cancer Center and truly wished I had seen them earlier in my treatment. Also, I would increase the # of staff to cater to a larger group of patients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2013

After many months of cancer treatments, my husband and I were told about the Simonton Caner Counseling Center and urged to attend their workshop in California. Our experience there caused a dramatic shift in our beliefs about cancer, life, and death. We felt as though we had found a safe port in an uncontrollable storm. I can't thank the counselors enough for all we gained from them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers