Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I feel so blessed to have attended the recent Simonton counseling retreat in beautiful Montecito. The information about how our thoughts, beliefs and emotions affect our immune system, and so our healing, was exactly what I have been searching for, and what a lot of alternative programs don't address in depth like Simonton does. In an intimate, safe setting I learned processes and tools that I can practice and use to regain not only my health, but my happiness as well. They have wonderful support materials that I can use for the rest of my life. And even though I didn't have a "support person" to go through the program with, I felt completely embraced by the wonderful group of people there. I have benefitted immensely. When I was diagnosed with colon cancer in December 2011, I knew that I wanted to heal through using my body's innate ability to do so. I still believe that is the best way for me. I am so grateful to have found the Simonton Center.






More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 6, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week long patient program. My husband has brain cancer and our lives have been turned upside down over the last six months. This program really is the missing link. The tools and techniques have settled us down, brought us closer,and helped us find peace and joy. We can highly recomment this program.
June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

I have been using relaxation techniques, visualization, guided imagery and other protocol initiated by Dr. Simmonton in his Cancer Center, and was fortunate to have attented their seminar in early June. The synchronicity of their techniques used as an integrative method of patients┬┤ participation is an indispensable tool that should be made available to all cancer patients to participate in their healing. They have developed an outstanding teaching method with first class professionals in their teaching and have a very comprehensive protocol to be followed to encompass body, mind and spiritual techcniques. I recommend it highly to all patients institutiions and professionals in the field

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise it more

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

I attended the Simonton Cancer Counseling Center "Getting Well Again" program on June 1-6, 2014 in Santa Barbara. Their program helped identify how my beliefs and attitudes can affect my health and over all well-being. They provided tools that will benefit me now and in the future with all types of questions and concerns. The program was very well organized. The whole experience was informative, uplifting, and provided the support and confidence I need to move forward with my decisions.

The La Casa de Maria retreat location was so beautiful! It provided a relaxing environment while learning to cope and manage stress.

Thank you Simonton Cancer Center for changing my life! I will use this information always!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. It was very well organized and guided you step by step into the program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

Simply wonderful!! So I would call the program offered by Simonton Cancer Counseling Center. The approach to patient and his family, the level of details discussed in aspects of social support, the respect towards the face of different opinions on treatment options for patients, everything is handled with care and love. Furthermore the approach is so broad that it is indeed a healing journey which all those present benefit in their personal lives. It is easy to see that the commitment of the program is personal transformation towards a happy life full of satisfaction and empowerment of people in search of personal fulfillment. As a medical oncologist I found the program with scientific basis, and with a level of organization that integrates interventions in a doable way in the lives of patients.
Thus I can understand why after 43 years of operation, the program continues running very well. I have to recognize and congratulate this pioneering work. Even without the physical presence of Carl Simonton we feel how alive are your ideas and also as a powerful seed germinates in a leafy tree with juicy fruits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NO ONE

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I first became aware of Dr. Simonton's remarkable work in the early 80's when I read 'Getting Well Again' and found it the first, and only, book of techniques, encouragement, and factual information to help the person with cancer stay energized and focused on their recovery. I am an RN and have used the teachings with many patients over the years. Now, thirty years later, I am a trainee at the Center working to expand my skills to continue supporting people who have a cancer diagnosis. I attended the March, 2014, five-day workshop and was impressed with the organization and clarity of the work that has remained after many years and many clients around the world. The experience will empower anyone who wants to do what they can to improve the effectiveness of their chosen treatment, improve their quality of life, improve their ability to communicate with those around them, and focus on getting well. The work goes deep and is carefully orchestrated to provide a level of comfort and safety that allows participants the opportunity to touch into their heartfelt desires and their greatest joys. At the end of the training you will have the tools and the support to shift into the work of recovery. The staff is knowledgeable and caring. This is important work which anyone receiving a cancer diagnosis can benefit from.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

somehow get the word out to more people who would like to know about this work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2014

While I was an intern, I attended the Simonton program three times in Santa Barbara. I observed that the tools and techniques taught in the program helped the participants to reduce stress related to their diagnoses/illness and helped them to gain confidence that they can positively influence their healing. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable, I learned a lot from the therapists as I observed them working with the clients. Malonie

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no change, the program is well organized, Karen Simonton and the therapists are caring and helpful

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

I have been involved with the Simonton program since March 2012. I had a massive heart attack in December 2011 and chose the Simonton program as one of my tools for healing. The information was not new to me but I love the simple way it is put together. I practiced the techniques after the first class for my own healing. I completely healed my heart naturally and the tools I learned at the Simonton program have been very instrumental in my healing. I have become an intern and just got certified as a therapist of the program. I work with people diagnosed with cancer and lyme disease and I am grateful to be able to help others in their healing journey. Malonie
April 9, 2014

more

April 9, 2014

I was diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer in July, 2013. In March, 2014 my wife and I attended the Simonton Cancer Center "Getting Well Again" Program in Santa Barbara. The program far exceeded our expectations. It was well organized, provided tools and techniques for dealing with the Mind/Body aspect of my disease, provided lots of individual attention, and the staff and counselors were wonderful. In addition, the location of the program at La Casa de Maria retreat was terrific: relaxing and inviting, comfortable and very clean, and the food was outstanding.
The program included not only the core training from Dr. Simonton's books and research, but brought in additional aspects such as the Power of Play and an evening of restorative yoga, all of which blended beautifully with the rest of the program.
At times it wasn't easy, but it was exceptionally helpful and useful to us.
I found the other cancer patients and their support persons to be exceptionally helpful to the learning process and came away with a new set of friendships that I treasure and hope to build on going forward.
Thank you to Karen Simonton and her staff as well as the staff at La Casa De Maria for a great week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 26, 2014

I attended the 5 day seminar in Santa Barbara last week. I have had a recent diagnosis of stage IV cancer and the group sessions and individual counseling were wonderfully helpful to me. The philosophy, tools ad techniques of the Simonton program empowered me and will be invaluable in my quest to regain my health.
The counselors, as well as Karen Simonton were compassionate, kind and very skilled at this work. I would highly recommend this program to any person who has cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers