Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

The Silver Ribbon Campaign to Trust Women is a very low budget but high impact organization. They bring people together and are not proprietary about their work. The Silver Ribbon is very popular with every day people as something to take action and increase visibility. The Campaign has brought together groups that have NEVER done work together before e.g. MoveOn with PFAW, FMF, and other groups that don't usually work together.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing groups come together to protect reproductive rights and the groups wanting to continue this collaboration

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it get more money and more staff so they can do more work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

protecting reproductive rights in the healthcare reform bill.

What is its top priority in the long run?

making sure that people have access to birth control and abortion, prevented unplanned/unwanted pregnancies, allowing women control over their lives.

September 6, 2011

more

September 6, 2011

It’s great to see this collaborative work in action among so many reproductive rights organizations who have signed on as partners of this wonderful effort. The Trust Women Silver Ribbon Campaign exemplifies the strength that women have when we stand in solidarity with each other. I’ve seen ordinary women as well as elected officials wear their silver ribbon – it’s a simple, symbolic gesture that communicates a powerful message. Those who wear it are proud to say that they: trust women, support reproductive rights, free access to birth control and want to keep abortion legal and accessible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

private events

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more women and men to wear the ribbon

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I received an email from one of the Silver Ribbon Campaign's partners in early 2011, I was immediately drawn to the organization.

A long-time supporter of women's reproductive rights and respect for women, I deeply felt this organization was filling a void that desperately needed to
be filled- bring people/organizations together who support women's rights and amplify their voices and work to bring greater public awareness/action/progress.

Their list of partners is growing steadily, signaling organizations are ready to move forward together in support of women's reproductive rights.

The Silver Ribbon Campaign to Trust Women stands for women's reproductive rights and invites everyone supporting these rights to stand with them and for women - together.












The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

More partners are coming on board. I use this site as a resource for understanding what is going on in the women rights movement around the country bc the partners linked are so diverse and have information and ways to get involved on many levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have video stories of people speaking about why they strongly support women and women's reproductive rights.

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Silver Ribbon Campaign is the brainchild of Sophia Yen, MD who is an adolescent pediatrician and graduate of MIT and UCSF Medical School as well as a board member for The Center for Reproductive Rights. She treats low socio-economic teenagers daily and understands the need to provide low cost birth control and the importance of a women's right to chose.

If women did not have this right, the affects on our society would be extremely detrimental. Low income women who could not afford to travel to another country or state, would have back room abortions like before Roe vs Wade. This would lead to death and/or permanent scaring. In addition, many unwanted children would be born and it would be the responsibility of our country to support these children in the form of welfare and other entitlements. With a deficit of a 14 trillion dollars, we do not need this added burden.

This right to chose is one that we take for granted however with the current balance in the Supreme Court and the increasing influence of the Far Right, we cannot take this right as a given.

The Silver Ribbon Campaign reminds society on a regular basis that we need to continue to fight for a women's right to chose what she does with her body and to TRUST WOMEN as President Obama has also encouraged us to do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

speaking about it at public forums, wearing and distributing the pins

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Post on Facebook, twitter:
Trust Women! Show your support for reproductive health care and women's rights by @Twibbon http://twb.ly/hp1HEG via @oursilverribbon
Please like us on facebook http://on.fb.me/e9czHp