Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

SVILC is a caring, loving and compassion nonprofit. They have people who work at SVILC who can help a client to become independent and staying independent. The staff at SVILC is a GREAT NONPROFIT ORG!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Silicon Valley Independent Living Center is a nonprofit organization that serves people of all ages with all types of disabilities throughout Santa Clara County, California. Their main office is in north San Jose, and they recently opened a new satellite office in Gilroy. SVILC hosts the annual West Coast Disability Pride Parade and Festival every July on the Saturday nearest the anniversary of the signing of the Americans with Disabilities Act. The parade is a gathering of hundreds of people with disabilities and their allies from all over Northern California and beyond. SVILC is also home to CATS, the Countywide Advocacy Team of Santa Clara. CATS activists have been working tirelessly for increased access, especially in the areas of housing and transportation. Santa Clara County has a horrendous 1% rental vacancy rate, and rents are skyrocketing, making it extremely diificult for people with low incomes to find housing here.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I have known about SVILC since I was 16yrsold. I didn't start using their services til I was a single parent in 1994. I called and wanted to learn the computer and peer support help. I went through all the computer classes. I was asked if I wanted to volunteer and so I started out as the computer lab assistant and did that for 2yrs. I enjoyed it very much. I was offered a job after that in 1996 and have worked here since for 17yrs. SVILC has been like a second family to me. :)
August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

In the world of Disability Non-profits there are very few who are run by and for folks with disabilities AND who are grounded in social justice. When Centers for Independent Living (CIL) first were created in the 1970s around the country, access to transportation, education and community resources for Disabled folks were downright radical ideas. As we have slowly gained the rights to go to school, ride the bus and have interpreters or ramps at court hearings, other questions have arisen. How can we choose where we live and have support to live at home? How do we have relationships with non-disabled allies who often hold all of the money and power? How do we understand our experience in the world? While other CIL's have stayed in one place, going over the past 40 years from radical to service-based and sometimes obsolete, SVILC has stepped-up to challenge themselves and the community that they work in to address these new questions. They have embraced the new ideas of Disability Justice, a second-wave of Disability identity and activism, and have tried to practice this ideas and values. I worked with them in designing an anti-bullying curriculum for kids (age 9-12) grounded in Disability history and identity. Kids with diverse disabilities sat in rapt attention as they learned about their history and culture. Showing an Autistic artist which his detailed drawings, one of the kids faces suddenly lit up with recognition that he was autistic too and belonged for once here in this community of diversity. SVILC has challenged me as well to bring all parts of myself to the organization. In a forum on Race and Disability I was invited to assist with organizing and was asked to share why addressing my identity as a woman of color was important to explore with-in Disability activism. It was the first time I felt like all of who I am was honored and had space in an organization. It has not always been comfortable, but fear of vulnerability is something Disabled people must learn to embrace, and embrace it SVILC has. It's been an honor and life changing for me to work with SVILC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

I love all of the services they provide. The Disability Pride Parade is wonderful. Were look forward to it every year. SVILC makes the world a better place for people with disabilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

Awesome non profit that provides hope and resources to those living with disabilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Independent Living Center makes a gigantic contribution to all people with disabilities in terms of workshops, parades, support groups, and many, many other services. The staff is friendly and willing to take time to explain and provide bridges toward service. An outstanding community asset for San Jose!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center is a non-profit organization located in downtown San Jose that provides services for people with all types of disabilities. For example, they offer in-takes, housing, personal care attendants, peer counseling and all the main core services that Independent Living Centers offer. During a rough time of transition and adjustment in my life, I had received information that they provided rental assistance. I was truly grateful and appreciative of their Management team for going above and beyond my expectations. Earlier this summer, they held their Third Annual West Coast Disability Pride Parade and Festival in Mountain View, CA. They have built a CommUnity of Social Justice. It is empowering and inspiring to see their dedication and commitment every day. All the Staff and Volunteers stepped up and supported this amazing day and cause! I volunteered my time by helping organize, plan, emcee the parade and performed. It was an opportunity of a lifetime. SVILC is a valuable assest to the disability community, city of San Jose, Santa Clara county and surrounding areas. They are my heroes and have made a lasting footprint in the lives of people with disabilities including mine.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers