Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

In the world of Disability Non-profits there are very few who are run by and for folks with disabilities AND who are grounded in social justice. When Centers for Independent Living (CIL) first were created in the 1970s around the country, access to transportation, education and community resources for Disabled folks were downright radical ideas. As we have slowly gained the rights to go to school, ride the bus and have interpreters or ramps at court hearings, other questions have arisen. How can we choose where we live and have support to live at home? How do we have relationships with non-disabled allies who often hold all of the money and power? How do we understand our experience in the world? While other CIL's have stayed in one place, going over the past 40 years from radical to service-based and sometimes obsolete, SVILC has stepped-up to challenge themselves and the community that they work in to address these new questions. They have embraced the new ideas of Disability Justice, a second-wave of Disability identity and activism, and have tried to practice this ideas and values. I worked with them in designing an anti-bullying curriculum for kids (age 9-12) grounded in Disability history and identity. Kids with diverse disabilities sat in rapt attention as they learned about their history and culture. Showing an Autistic artist which his detailed drawings, one of the kids faces suddenly lit up with recognition that he was autistic too and belonged for once here in this community of diversity. SVILC has challenged me as well to bring all parts of myself to the organization. In a forum on Race and Disability I was invited to assist with organizing and was asked to share why addressing my identity as a woman of color was important to explore with-in Disability activism. It was the first time I felt like all of who I am was honored and had space in an organization. It has not always been comfortable, but fear of vulnerability is something Disabled people must learn to embrace, and embrace it SVILC has. It's been an honor and life changing for me to work with SVILC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

I love all of the services they provide. The Disability Pride Parade is wonderful. Were look forward to it every year. SVILC makes the world a better place for people with disabilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

Awesome non profit that provides hope and resources to those living with disabilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Independent Living Center makes a gigantic contribution to all people with disabilities in terms of workshops, parades, support groups, and many, many other services. The staff is friendly and willing to take time to explain and provide bridges toward service. An outstanding community asset for San Jose!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center is a non-profit organization located in downtown San Jose that provides services for people with all types of disabilities. For example, they offer in-takes, housing, personal care attendants, peer counseling and all the main core services that Independent Living Centers offer. During a rough time of transition and adjustment in my life, I had received information that they provided rental assistance. I was truly grateful and appreciative of their Management team for going above and beyond my expectations. Earlier this summer, they held their Third Annual West Coast Disability Pride Parade and Festival in Mountain View, CA. They have built a CommUnity of Social Justice. It is empowering and inspiring to see their dedication and commitment every day. All the Staff and Volunteers stepped up and supported this amazing day and cause! I volunteered my time by helping organize, plan, emcee the parade and performed. It was an opportunity of a lifetime. SVILC is a valuable assest to the disability community, city of San Jose, Santa Clara county and surrounding areas. They are my heroes and have made a lasting footprint in the lives of people with disabilities including mine.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers