Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Posted with permission of Owner. -dss

Hello,

My name is Sharon Tate. I have been volunteering with the
Silicon Valley Independent Living Center for the past 3 years.

I really enjoy volunteering for people who has disabilities.
I had a sister who was
disable.

I volunteer at the Disability Pride Parade. I love this yearly event.
Working with Naomi is just wonderful.

I am also on the Personal Assisting List. I help many people because of this list.

The SVILC is a great resource for people with disabilities.
It gives people with disabilities a positive outlet to help them in their daily lives.

I am so glad that I am associated with the Silicon Valley Independent Living Center.

Sincerely,

Sharon Tate
October 2014
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

SVILC has been EXTREMELY helpful in assisting with a wide range of resources for housing and much more. I'd recommend their services to ANYONE with a disability. THANKS SVILC!!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The class taught us independence skills. I really appreciate being part of this company.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have received assistance from silicon valley independent living center. They were wonderful to me
and I will support. them as much as I can. This organization do the right things, say the right things
and they get the job done without reservations.

They treated me with great
respect and I appreciate them and they have my stamp of approval.
Thanks for your time.
Best
Dottie Hunter
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center (SVILC) is a very warm hearted key spot for a person with disabilities to stop by and seek resources, a word of advice, or a plan for personal life rehabilitation and transformation. SVILC is the room where recipes are made. A few months ago, I entered it again as a volunteer wanting to help the staff and understand the flow of needs and services in this local environment. I can see where some pieces come together, but I am still a beginner in understanding the community’s way of putting together life and “disability,” reaching out to help and be helped, and understanding the flow of this social hierarchy. SVILC has to place itself in as ideal spot as possible to better help the community members, A.K.A. the recipe seekers ☺. Supporting one person affects the entire Silicon Valley and United States. For example, the Assistive Technology Specialist who is in charge of AT Exchange, a service offering useful, disability friendly equipment for trial, made available to me a GRIP board that ensures objects will not fall off a wheelchair user’s lap. This worked great for me, and I ended up purchasing my own. This service is free of charge. This helps provide income to certain people in the US, who in turn can pay their bills, help other people, smile at someone who is having a crummy day and brighten up their day, and they in turn can brighten up someone else’s day. Everything we do affects everyone around.
The staff is very kind, and I deeply appreciate the way they make me feel like I’m at home. There is always room for improvement, but this does not mean that appreciation in the moment is not just as well deserved. You Go SVILC!
My rating gets 4 stars in order to give a sign there is always room for more brilliance, for developing the network, and helping out people.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

SVILC is a fabulous organization that I have been a part of for 22 years. I began my journey as a consumer needing assistance in independent living skills and finding affordable assecible housing. Now, 2o years later, I am living by myself and am the SVILC's board president . The organization also taught me disability history, and to be disabied and proud!! The staff really helped me blosom into an independent , proud person with a disability . Thank you SVILC STAFF! Tricia Kokes
October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

SVILC helped to organize and host the first national forum on Race and Disability. This was a powerful event for all who attended -- people of color, white people, disabled people and nondisabled people -- all talking about their personal experiences of racism and ableism and how we can all be stronger allies to each other in our collective journey towards safety, justice and compassion. SVILC staff and board had the courage to create a safe space for these sometimes difficult conversations to happen and is a model to other independent living centers around the country and world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

SVILC does a great job of putting the community first and that's why I continue to support them. The work they do with the differently abled community is very intentional and effective. Their staff also demonstrate this in their actions as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

I got to serve as a member of the Silicon Valley Independent Living Center's Youth Council and it was a blast! I met amazing people and I learned how to advocate for social justice and change for those with disabilities. This organization is amazing at what it does; it has moved so many people with disabilities out of nursing homes into their own homes and they have successfully gotten those individuals integrated into the community!! The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center deserves to be recognized for its contributions to making life for those with disabilities happier and easier!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I volunteered to help out with the 3rd Annual Disability Pride Parade this year (both behind the scenes and on the day of). The staff is made up of diverse, helpful, and amazingly sweet individuals. Honestly, my time spent working with SVILC was always fun and lighthearted, but productive as well. A+++ would volunteer again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers