Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Independent Living Center makes a gigantic contribution to all people with disabilities in terms of workshops, parades, support groups, and many, many other services. The staff is friendly and willing to take time to explain and provide bridges toward service. An outstanding community asset for San Jose!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

I got to serve as a member of the Silicon Valley Independent Living Center's Youth Council and it was a blast! I met amazing people and I learned how to advocate for social justice and change for those with disabilities. This organization is amazing at what it does; it has moved so many people with disabilities out of nursing homes into their own homes and they have successfully gotten those individuals integrated into the community!! The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center deserves to be recognized for its contributions to making life for those with disabilities happier and easier!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center is a non-profit organization located in downtown San Jose that provides services for people with all types of disabilities. For example, they offer in-takes, housing, personal care attendants, peer counseling and all the main core services that Independent Living Centers offer. During a rough time of transition and adjustment in my life, I had received information that they provided rental assistance. I was truly grateful and appreciative of their Management team for going above and beyond my expectations. Earlier this summer, they held their Third Annual West Coast Disability Pride Parade and Festival in Mountain View, CA. They have built a CommUnity of Social Justice. It is empowering and inspiring to see their dedication and commitment every day. All the Staff and Volunteers stepped up and supported this amazing day and cause! I volunteered my time by helping organize, plan, emcee the parade and performed. It was an opportunity of a lifetime. SVILC is a valuable assest to the disability community, city of San Jose, Santa Clara county and surrounding areas. They are my heroes and have made a lasting footprint in the lives of people with disabilities including mine.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I volunteered to help out with the 3rd Annual Disability Pride Parade this year (both behind the scenes and on the day of). The staff is made up of diverse, helpful, and amazingly sweet individuals. Honestly, my time spent working with SVILC was always fun and lighthearted, but productive as well. A+++ would volunteer again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

The staff at SVILC have always been supportive and have always been accommodating to me as a volunteer. Everyone is always so friendly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers