Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Write A Review
November 27, 2014

more

November 27, 2014

Excellent disability organization for people with disabilities! The organization is run by people with disabilities for people with disabilities.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Irene A Martell. I use to work for SCC Social Services. I was the Chief Steward for SEIU Local 715 and was often invited to many communitiy functions. On most of these events I would always look for one particular table to sit at, The Council on Aging. I was in my mid 40's and the ladies at the table would always welcome me by saying, "It's so wonderful to have young people sit at our table" (Imagine that, they would call me a young person). I learned a lot by sitting at their table, that they were young at heart, that they still had a lot of life in them to help others, and that they had feelings and gratitude that young people had not forgot them. I learned that disabilities and getting older doesn't discriminate, it will reach us at one point or another. As a Native American (Mexican) I have witnessed that the Circle of Life does come full circle (Imagine me, now a client of Sourcewise). You reap what you sow. I want to encourage our members to encourage our young people to invest in their future by being a part of Sourcewise.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Posted with permission of Owner. -dss

Hello,

My name is Sharon Tate. I have been volunteering with the
Silicon Valley Independent Living Center for the past 3 years.

I really enjoy volunteering for people who has disabilities.
I had a sister who was
disable.

I volunteer at the Disability Pride Parade. I love this yearly event.
Working with Naomi is just wonderful.

I am also on the Personal Assisting List. I help many people because of this list.

The SVILC is a great resource for people with disabilities.
It gives people with disabilities a positive outlet to help them in their daily lives.

I am so glad that I am associated with the Silicon Valley Independent Living Center.

Sincerely,

Sharon Tate
October 2014
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

SVILC is a caring, loving and compassion nonprofit. They have people who work at SVILC who can help a client to become independent and staying independent. The staff at SVILC is a GREAT NONPROFIT ORG!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

SVILC has been EXTREMELY helpful in assisting with a wide range of resources for housing and much more. I'd recommend their services to ANYONE with a disability. THANKS SVILC!!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The class taught us independence skills. I really appreciate being part of this company.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

The staff at SVILC are really great to work with. I have been a client of SVILC for about six years.
I was a peer counselor for about three years and SVILC has helped me get through some hard times when my parents passed away. SVILC has helped me keep on going so that I can reach my goals in
my everyday life with my jobs. They’re awesome.

- Jeff Jokinen
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Silicon Valley Independent Living Center is a nonprofit organization that serves people of all ages with all types of disabilities throughout Santa Clara County, California. Their main office is in north San Jose, and they recently opened a new satellite office in Gilroy. SVILC hosts the annual West Coast Disability Pride Parade and Festival every July on the Saturday nearest the anniversary of the signing of the Americans with Disabilities Act. The parade is a gathering of hundreds of people with disabilities and their allies from all over Northern California and beyond. SVILC is also home to CATS, the Countywide Advocacy Team of Santa Clara. CATS activists have been working tirelessly for increased access, especially in the areas of housing and transportation. Santa Clara County has a horrendous 1% rental vacancy rate, and rents are skyrocketing, making it extremely diificult for people with low incomes to find housing here.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I had never heard of SVILC before told about it from my therapist. I have been very impressed with the center. The people are very inviting and I have attended a small group meeting weekly with about 5-12 people varying each week. Group therapy can be a wonderful thing, and I think our leader does a great job managing it. They have become some of my closest friends.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have received assistance from silicon valley independent living center. They were wonderful to me
and I will support. them as much as I can. This organization do the right things, say the right things
and they get the job done without reservations.

They treated me with great
respect and I appreciate them and they have my stamp of approval.
Thanks for your time.
Best
Dottie Hunter
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers