Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

SVILC has been EXTREMELY helpful in assisting with a wide range of resources for housing and much more. I'd recommend their services to ANYONE with a disability. THANKS SVILC!!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The class taught us independence skills. I really appreciate being part of this company.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

The staff at SVILC are really great to work with. I have been a client of SVILC for about six years.
I was a peer counselor for about three years and SVILC has helped me get through some hard times when my parents passed away. SVILC has helped me keep on going so that I can reach my goals in
my everyday life with my jobs. They’re awesome.

- Jeff Jokinen
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Silicon Valley Independent Living Center is a nonprofit organization that serves people of all ages with all types of disabilities throughout Santa Clara County, California. Their main office is in north San Jose, and they recently opened a new satellite office in Gilroy. SVILC hosts the annual West Coast Disability Pride Parade and Festival every July on the Saturday nearest the anniversary of the signing of the Americans with Disabilities Act. The parade is a gathering of hundreds of people with disabilities and their allies from all over Northern California and beyond. SVILC is also home to CATS, the Countywide Advocacy Team of Santa Clara. CATS activists have been working tirelessly for increased access, especially in the areas of housing and transportation. Santa Clara County has a horrendous 1% rental vacancy rate, and rents are skyrocketing, making it extremely diificult for people with low incomes to find housing here.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I had never heard of SVILC before told about it from my therapist. I have been very impressed with the center. The people are very inviting and I have attended a small group meeting weekly with about 5-12 people varying each week. Group therapy can be a wonderful thing, and I think our leader does a great job managing it. They have become some of my closest friends.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have received assistance from silicon valley independent living center. They were wonderful to me
and I will support. them as much as I can. This organization do the right things, say the right things
and they get the job done without reservations.

They treated me with great
respect and I appreciate them and they have my stamp of approval.
Thanks for your time.
Best
Dottie Hunter
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

The Silicon Valley Independent Living Center (SVILC) is a very warm hearted key spot for a person with disabilities to stop by and seek resources, a word of advice, or a plan for personal life rehabilitation and transformation. SVILC is the room where recipes are made. A few months ago, I entered it again as a volunteer wanting to help the staff and understand the flow of needs and services in this local environment. I can see where some pieces come together, but I am still a beginner in understanding the community’s way of putting together life and “disability,” reaching out to help and be helped, and understanding the flow of this social hierarchy. SVILC has to place itself in as ideal spot as possible to better help the community members, A.K.A. the recipe seekers ☺. Supporting one person affects the entire Silicon Valley and United States. For example, the Assistive Technology Specialist who is in charge of AT Exchange, a service offering useful, disability friendly equipment for trial, made available to me a GRIP board that ensures objects will not fall off a wheelchair user’s lap. This worked great for me, and I ended up purchasing my own. This service is free of charge. This helps provide income to certain people in the US, who in turn can pay their bills, help other people, smile at someone who is having a crummy day and brighten up their day, and they in turn can brighten up someone else’s day. Everything we do affects everyone around.
The staff is very kind, and I deeply appreciate the way they make me feel like I’m at home. There is always room for improvement, but this does not mean that appreciation in the moment is not just as well deserved. You Go SVILC!
My rating gets 4 stars in order to give a sign there is always room for more brilliance, for developing the network, and helping out people.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I have known about SVILC since I was 16yrsold. I didn't start using their services til I was a single parent in 1994. I called and wanted to learn the computer and peer support help. I went through all the computer classes. I was asked if I wanted to volunteer and so I started out as the computer lab assistant and did that for 2yrs. I enjoyed it very much. I was offered a job after that in 1996 and have worked here since for 17yrs. SVILC has been like a second family to me. :)
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

SVILC is a fabulous organization that I have been a part of for 22 years. I began my journey as a consumer needing assistance in independent living skills and finding affordable assecible housing. Now, 2o years later, I am living by myself and am the SVILC's board president . The organization also taught me disability history, and to be disabied and proud!! The staff really helped me blosom into an independent , proud person with a disability . Thank you SVILC STAFF! Tricia Kokes
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

They helped me with legal matters, specifically Social Security & mental health issues a few years back. Now, I'm living here in Oregon and going to a independent living center in Portland.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers