Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

SVILC is a fabulous organization that I have been a part of for 22 years. I began my journey as a consumer needing assistance in independent living skills and finding affordable assecible housing. Now, 2o years later, I am living by myself and am the SVILC's board president . The organization also taught me disability history, and to be disabied and proud!! The staff really helped me blosom into an independent , proud person with a disability . Thank you SVILC STAFF! Tricia Kokes
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

They helped me with legal matters, specifically Social Security & mental health issues a few years back. Now, I'm living here in Oregon and going to a independent living center in Portland.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

SVILC helped to organize and host the first national forum on Race and Disability. This was a powerful event for all who attended -- people of color, white people, disabled people and nondisabled people -- all talking about their personal experiences of racism and ableism and how we can all be stronger allies to each other in our collective journey towards safety, justice and compassion. SVILC staff and board had the courage to create a safe space for these sometimes difficult conversations to happen and is a model to other independent living centers around the country and world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

Being a disabled person, I encounter many social injustices in my day-to-day life. SVILC offers many programs and support services to assist me with some of the discriminatory actions I encounter. One example was when a bus driver refused to pick me up (I'm in a wheelchair) claiming she was full. It was clear that she was not full because no one was visibly standing in the bus and she confirmed she only had one other wheelchair rider at that time (most of the buses can accommodate 2). SVILC's system's advocate was able to intervene through his contacts with the local transit agency to have the problem looked into at a higher level than I would have been able to access. Another example is when I had a complex surgery with multiple complications that had the potential to place me in a longer term care facility without the appropriate supports. Another one of SVILC's workers was able to write a letter with me and fax it to the appropriate person so the issue was resolved and I was able to stay in my home. SVILC is not just about their programs and resources though. They are about change with a personal face and touch behind each of their activities. From the peer counselors who have gone through many of the things I have to their executive director, they focus on social change and not accepting the current climate people with disabilities encounter. They work both in the front line and behind the scene to make change happen and I am thankful for their efforts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I was first introduced to SVILC this summer when my boss mentioned a disability pride walk to me. She knows that I love to walk for causes and I was eager to participate. I e-mailed and reserved a spot in the walk. I had no idea who I would meet there or what I would see. I met people of all ages with disabilities. I watched these very able adults coordinate the walk, organize the volunteers and then join us as we walked and rolled down the streets. The community was cheering us on. I had never seen a grouping of individuals with disabilites who were so enthusiastic, envolved and eager to share their stories and experiences. The entertainment that followed was amazing. There were musical groups, dance groups, art work and poetry all presented by the SVILC members. I was so glad I was given the opportunity to participate in this informative and uplifting event where people of all ages and ethnicities were celebrating their lives and their independence. I had no idea the importance independence had to people with disabilites, and now I know that I need to further support all people with disabilites in the way that I vote, and also by getting the word out to others in our community. What an amazing service the SVILC offers and how wonderful that adults with disabilites are able to live productive and independent lives as a result of their efforts. The envent and the organization far surpassed my expectations and have gained my full support and respect. Thank you SVILC for all you do to make our community a great place for all people to live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I have worked for the Silicon Valley Independent Living Center in the past and now serve on the board. Everyone at SVILC works hard to meet the needs of I our Community Members! Services such as Housing, Independent Living Services, Information and Referal, Peer Support, Assistive Technology assistance, and much more are provided every day!bisit www.svilc.org for more info on this outstanding organization!!christine Fitzgerald, Board VP

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Executive Director, board members and staff are passionate, committed and dedicated leaders with wise vision for the next world order. They take positive actions. They give me hope for the future. That's why I want to continue my loving support both morally and financially athough modest in amount. I hope many people will share my view and join me in supporting and cheering them as best as they can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

In the world of Disability Non-profits there are very few who are run by and for folks with disabilities AND who are grounded in social justice. When Centers for Independent Living (CIL) first were created in the 1970s around the country, access to transportation, education and community resources for Disabled folks were downright radical ideas. As we have slowly gained the rights to go to school, ride the bus and have interpreters or ramps at court hearings, other questions have arisen. How can we choose where we live and have support to live at home? How do we have relationships with non-disabled allies who often hold all of the money and power? How do we understand our experience in the world? While other CIL's have stayed in one place, going over the past 40 years from radical to service-based and sometimes obsolete, SVILC has stepped-up to challenge themselves and the community that they work in to address these new questions. They have embraced the new ideas of Disability Justice, a second-wave of Disability identity and activism, and have tried to practice this ideas and values. I worked with them in designing an anti-bullying curriculum for kids (age 9-12) grounded in Disability history and identity. Kids with diverse disabilities sat in rapt attention as they learned about their history and culture. Showing an Autistic artist which his detailed drawings, one of the kids faces suddenly lit up with recognition that he was autistic too and belonged for once here in this community of diversity. SVILC has challenged me as well to bring all parts of myself to the organization. In a forum on Race and Disability I was invited to assist with organizing and was asked to share why addressing my identity as a woman of color was important to explore with-in Disability activism. It was the first time I felt like all of who I am was honored and had space in an organization. It has not always been comfortable, but fear of vulnerability is something Disabled people must learn to embrace, and embrace it SVILC has. It's been an honor and life changing for me to work with SVILC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

I love all of the services they provide. The Disability Pride Parade is wonderful. Were look forward to it every year. SVILC makes the world a better place for people with disabilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

Awesome non profit that provides hope and resources to those living with disabilities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers