Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I attended Camp Everytown, which is a Silicon Valley Faces program. I could tell the program really changed a lot of people and opened up their eyes to some of the struggles people in their immediate community face whether it pertains to socioeconomic status, race, religion, or prejudice. I think it really brought the group closer to cultural proficiency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Silicon Valley Faces is a non profit that has a goal of creating a safe community free of Bias and Bigotry. Silicon Valley Faces has a plethora of programs that help them in their mission but the one that stands out the most is camp Everytown. I attended camp Everytown four times and each time I have gone I learned something new. I went to camp as a sophomore and senior in high school, and I just recently went as a counselor in march 2012. Camp Everytown focuses high school students attention and promotes learning by taking students out of their daily environment and guiding them through intense interactions that provoke deep insight and empathy for others. Students experience group exercises about self-identity, race, cultural & ethnic issues, family relationships, gender roles & equality, peer relationships, and conflict resolution. They identify opportunities and solutions to human relations issues specific to their school, and they brainstorm action plans to recreate the Everytown environment on their High School campus.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

I decided to volunteer at Silicon Valley FACES because I attended one of their programs in 2003, Camp Everytown. The camp changed my life because it opened my eyes to my own potential as a leader. The work they do and the things they believe in are inspirational and encourage me to believe that positive change is possible. FACES helps young people and adults alike to confront issues of prejudice, domestic violence, and bigotry that still exist in our community. I've found FACES is a place where passionate people come together to create a better community for all, and I gladly volunteer my time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned that it's important to take risks. I would have never imagined myself having the self confidence to help other people, but FACES gave me the opportunity to realize my strengths. I also made new friends who are now positive role models in my life.

March 7, 2012

more

March 7, 2012

I have worked with SV Faces for over a year in a volunteer capacity as well as participating in their community outreach events. This is a great organization that seeks to make an impact at both the level (our youth) and the subjects (tolerance and understanding) with not only the deepest but also most transferable impact. As a volunteer I am glad to spend time working with an organization which such good leadership and direction, clearly moving the entire organization along the best path as efficiently and enjoyably as possible. As a local business professional who works with others in SV Faces areas of action, I am always glad to associate myself with the work they undertake and help spread the messages they are putting into the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

Silicon Valley FACES is a great organization. I have had the opportunity to work with them on several events such as Camp Everytown. SV FACES provides many opportunities for people to come together and appreciate cultural differences, as well a provide volunteer opportunities for those who want to get involved in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide administrative support with our Education Department team Volunteer