Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.166675
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The reviews on this site about Silicon Valley Faces' Education Program appear to be on point. However, the non-profit agency houses the Victim Compensation Program which has not been reviewed.

I have worked for this agency since it was NCCJ, which then changed their name to SVCCJ and then
to Silicon Valley Faces, or just Faces now. Unfortunately I can't say that it's been the best agency to work for ever since it became Silicon Valley Faces.

Management is lacking in leadership skills and there are several faces each manager wears. the executive director has admitted that she has no idea what each unit does other than what she perceives. Because of this the victim compensation program is lacking direction and morale is at an all time low. Add the lack of raises or even a cost of living adjustments and you've got the most depressed and repressed employees. Plus there is a salary cap so even if you're the best employee there and you've reached that cap- NO RAISE!!

The executive director feels that each employee should be working for the agency not for a paycheck but for the mission. Yet each mission is different. The education program is different from the victim compensation program mission. Mind you, the executive director is a nun who has no family to support and probably has great benefits through her order. So while each staff member deals with $50.00 co-pays and no COLA she sits back and gets to judge us on whether or not we are here to fight for her mission. I suppose living in one of the most expensive areas in the United States means nothing to her. And I suppose working for the agency for more than 5+ years still does not show commitment. And if the new bill which would raise minimum wage to $15.00 per hour passes, people working retail would make just as much as a new employee here. So the college degree that you worked so hard for means squat because 1) you'll never get promoted and 2) you can make just as much and probably more working at McDonalds (at least at McDonalds you have a chance to become a manager and get pay raises).

As far other managers go they only hold productive employees accountable for their actions. If you are lacking the ability to multitask they do not hold that lacking employee accountable to correct their problem. Rather they pick on the employee who can multitask and pass the lacking employees work to the already stronger employee. So here's the message that is silently promoted: get hired, do mediocre work and it's okay because there is a better employee who will pick up your slack.

And, if you're pregnant you officially become a black sheep and burden on the agency. They (all managers) will act as if you being on leave is a very bad thing. They will not accept a disability statement from your physician and if they do it is reluctantly. Then they will overload you with assignments, probably with the hope that you quit. They take the entire joy of pregnancy and the joy of becoming a parent out. Here's a tip: if you get to a point where you become disabled and need to submit a disability statement, do so with an employment attorney present. As you'll read later on, they make rules up as they go and don't exactly do things legally.

I know most are probably thinking that pregnant women are a very protected class. And they are- just not at Silicon Valley Faces. There is no proper Human Resources Department to protect the employees. Rules are made up on the fly. If you're well liked the rules are adjusted for you. But if you're not on the not-so-liked list all rules are adjusted to make your life a little harder.

Silicon Valley Faces has nothing to do with those who have been victims of violent crimes. They are two separate agencies that, for some odd reason, are housed together. When you have an executive director that has admitted she has no idea what we do, it's time to find a new executive director. One that understands the emotional and mental impact it has on a person.

I've seen this place go from a wonderful place to work to a depressing agency. The victims compensation program is a wonderful program. It's the place that houses them that is not. I say stay clear of employment with this place. Unless you never and I mean NEVER want to advance your career and love being treated like a piece of garbage.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new executive director that know what the Victim Compensation Program does. Get a proper Human Resources Department.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I attended Camp Everytown, which is a Silicon Valley Faces program. I could tell the program really changed a lot of people and opened up their eyes to some of the struggles people in their immediate community face whether it pertains to socioeconomic status, race, religion, or prejudice. I think it really brought the group closer to cultural proficiency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Silicon Valley Faces is a non profit that has a goal of creating a safe community free of Bias and Bigotry. Silicon Valley Faces has a plethora of programs that help them in their mission but the one that stands out the most is camp Everytown. I attended camp Everytown four times and each time I have gone I learned something new. I went to camp as a sophomore and senior in high school, and I just recently went as a counselor in march 2012. Camp Everytown focuses high school students attention and promotes learning by taking students out of their daily environment and guiding them through intense interactions that provoke deep insight and empathy for others. Students experience group exercises about self-identity, race, cultural & ethnic issues, family relationships, gender roles & equality, peer relationships, and conflict resolution. They identify opportunities and solutions to human relations issues specific to their school, and they brainstorm action plans to recreate the Everytown environment on their High School campus.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

I decided to volunteer at Silicon Valley FACES because I attended one of their programs in 2003, Camp Everytown. The camp changed my life because it opened my eyes to my own potential as a leader. The work they do and the things they believe in are inspirational and encourage me to believe that positive change is possible. FACES helps young people and adults alike to confront issues of prejudice, domestic violence, and bigotry that still exist in our community. I've found FACES is a place where passionate people come together to create a better community for all, and I gladly volunteer my time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned that it's important to take risks. I would have never imagined myself having the self confidence to help other people, but FACES gave me the opportunity to realize my strengths. I also made new friends who are now positive role models in my life.

March 7, 2012

more

March 7, 2012

I have worked with SV Faces for over a year in a volunteer capacity as well as participating in their community outreach events. This is a great organization that seeks to make an impact at both the level (our youth) and the subjects (tolerance and understanding) with not only the deepest but also most transferable impact. As a volunteer I am glad to spend time working with an organization which such good leadership and direction, clearly moving the entire organization along the best path as efficiently and enjoyably as possible. As a local business professional who works with others in SV Faces areas of action, I am always glad to associate myself with the work they undertake and help spread the messages they are putting into the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

Silicon Valley FACES is a great organization. I have had the opportunity to work with them on several events such as Camp Everytown. SV FACES provides many opportunities for people to come together and appreciate cultural differences, as well a provide volunteer opportunities for those who want to get involved in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide administrative support with our Education Department team Volunteer