Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

SVCN provided the stepping stone I needed to transition away from Santa Clara University and into my career in public service. This organization is run by highly dedicated professionals in the health and human services sector who advocate tirelessly for their clients. My internship experience was not only a great networking opportunity, where I was introduced to elected officials and various leaders in the nonprofit sector, but also a great source of work experience, where I was trusted to tackle my own projects and serve on the front lines of nonprofit advocacy (including speaking in before the San Jose Mayor Chuck Reed!).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

SVCN is the voice of the nonprofit sector in Silicon Valley. I have known this organization since its inception, served on the board in its early years, and have had the pleasure of both being a member when I was a CEO and still am as a consultant to the sector. I can count on SVCN to not only know critical issues facing our local nonprofits but to have the clout to do something about them. Their award-winning Executive Director is phenomenal and has creatively leveraged her impact by creating and empowering a strong Leadership Group comprised on other nonprofit leaders. SVCN is a model organization for public policy advocacy, resource development, and leadership development. I can't imagine our community without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

SVCN gave me my foundation in my current career and civil service to my community. At my time at SVCN I worked on various projects and fundraiser. SVCN is truly dedicated to helping nonprofits in our community and working with government entities to get work done. During my time at SVCN I was able to work as a liaison between the City of San Jose and local non-profit in a effort to get thousands of reusable bags to low- income families. Even though I am no longer an intern at SVCN , I use them as a valuable resource with my work on the County's Commission on the Status of Women.

Keep up the great work SVCN!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

SVCN is a true example of an organization made up of diverse entities working collectively and collaboratively for the common good. It is the voice and force of the non-profit, human services sector.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I was very fortunate and lucky to intern and work at SVCN. SVCN is unlike any other internship and nonprofit experience any student can ever have. Patricia is a great mentor to young adults and really emphasizes on accountability, responsibility, and determination. I know of many interns like myself who are pursuing graduate school, law school, and full-time jobs. I recommend any student to take on the challenge and become an intern at SVCN, because not only is it life-changing, it inspires passion that you've never known you've had!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I served at SVCN as a Public Policy Intern for a year. My year with SVCN was one of the most rewarding experiences I've ever had. Under the direction of Patricia Gardner I expanded my knowledge of the policy sector and was able to make a positive impact in my community by the work I supported. I highly recommend SVCN to any student seeking to have a meaningful and empowering internship experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it. We need awesome organizations like SVCN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

SVCN has played a leading role in helping local nonprofits understand, negotiate, and succeed at being a part of the budget process at the county and city levels. Without this leadership, millions of dollars worth of vital human services in Santa Clara County would have been lost in recent years. Throughout the year SVCN also brings the nonprofit community together with important resources and the information they need to succeed at their missions. This is what dedication and leadership looks like.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

I have been a member of the Leadership Group for SVCN since its inception. I have seen the power of the collective voice that SVCN so effectively harnesses on behal of the nonprofits it serves. Policy and practice has changed for the better due to the advocacy SVCN provides to the nonprofit sector. Proud to be a part of the work of this organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

Great agency to have on our side as a non-profit. We have made great strides as a County provider due to SVCN advocating on our behalf. Wealth of information to tap into regarding business, trainings, up to date newsletter with the most current events going on and mentoring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers