Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I recently visited Sierra House for the NASW Essex County meeting of professional social workers. I must say that I was very impressed with the facility, but most importantly the staff. The you g women at the house appear to take have a genuine respect and appreciation for one another. Listening to each clients story really displays that the work these individuals engage with their clients are important and necessary in order to promote independence and a sense or reclamation amongst this population & age group. A truly blessed experience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I also participated in the Chat-n-Chew and am so glad I did! It was wonderful to meet the young women currently residing at Sierra House and to hear the stories of those who recently graduated. I also appreciated the chance to get up and tell my own story. I was extremely impressed by all the staff and their heartfelt devotion to the founder, the residents, and the overall mission of the organization. The facility is a beautifully renovated home located on a placid tree lined little oasis within an otherwise busy area. It very much feels like a "home," not a residence. Beyond just providing a roof over their clients' heads, the programming in life skills is impressive, especially their computer lab! I believe this is a place where the clients really can change their lives for the long run -- for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just give them more funding so they can continue to do what they do and perhaps even expand using their model in other locations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I participated in a "Chat and Chew" through the NASW - NJ Essex County Chapter. I had the privilege of talking with some of the young women who are receiving services from Sierra House and some who have been past recipients. It is clear that these articulate women have benefited from the support and education provided at Sierra House. These women spoke of their determination to become self supporting. Some are young mothers and reflected on their dreams for their children.

I was touched by a grateful aunt of one of the clients who spoke of the drastic change and emotional growth in her niece resulting in her niece's ability to to express herself in an appropriate fashion. and to become more self-examining.

Impressive also are the staff who are dedicated to the residents and committed to the cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I hadn't heard about Sierra House until the Essex County Chapter of the NASW selected to sponsor a Chow and Chat event. I did not know what to expect and was AMAZED.
You need to know that not only am I from NEW YORK, I am retired, a senior citizen who THINKS she has seen it all. I have visited
women's shelters both as an advocate for my clients in New York City and in New Jersey and I have visited women's shelters as an applicant. Each time I was impressed by the sparse less than modern furniture, factors that the shelter staff cannot always control.
Sierra House is a HOME, the furnishings how the rooms are assigned rooms for two if childless and a single room with their child is the most impressive.
Hearing the women share their personal stories at the chow and chat was remarkable. The women were warm, genuine, sincere and I believe committed to making a change in their lives. Seeing the success of former residents who are now living on their own and either working or studying or doing both was definitive proof of the good works that Sierra House does.
As an experienced, retired Gold Member (over 25 year a member) of the National Association of Social Workers ORIGINALLY FROM NEW YORK CITY, I am most favorably impressed.
My experience at Sierra House has made me want to volunteer or contribute in any way I can to this so efficiently run women’s shelter.

Emilia Colon, MSW, ACSW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything I would improve, to my understanding tutors in math are being sought. The women seem to be provided with their basic needs and additional needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

My initial impression when first hearing about Sierra House and their services to young, homeless or near homeless young ladies was "finally". Having worked in child protective services for the past eight years, I've seen more than my share of young ladies aging out of foster care only to be left between a rock and a hard place once state services end.

Recently the NASW-NJ (Essex Unit) of which I am chair entered into partnership with Sierra House in support their worthwhile mission. The adoption of Sierra House as an on going service project is confirmation of our organizations commitment to supporting those that help others. The entire Sierra House staff should be commended for their hard work and dedication to making a difference in the lives of the young ladies served . Kudos!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change one thing. Sierra House is as good as it gets. One doesn't fix that which isn't broken.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer