Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was 22 years of age when I entered into Sierra House. I was very depressed due to the fact that my daughter was taken by DYFS because of my finances and my living situation. I was devastated and had little hope of moving forward with my life. Moving to Sierra House has helped me to have a stable roof over my head and food on the table and I was also able to get my daughter back. Since being at Sierra House, I have received Medicaid, unemployment, found my own apartment, and built great relationships. The classes I attended at Sierra House were also rewarding and life changing. I would like to thank Sierra House for the opportunity and allowing me to be a part of a life changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I am a 26yr old mother with a 4yr old daughter. I fell on hard times with my first apartment and I didn’t have the support of my daughter’s father, so I ended up losing my place and becoming homeless with a child. One day I opened up to a social worker who works in my daughter’s school and she helped me find Sierra House. I was very broken coming in because I was feeling sad, angry, lost, and confused. This house has helped me to regain the things I have lost, not only materials but also my spirit. I have been here for 5 months and now I’m moving out into my own apartment. The Social Worker on staff helped me look for places and to fill out applications until I found the right one. I am very proud of myself but I could not have done it without the beautiful staff here at Sierra House. I love this house and all the ladies. My daughter was always safe and joyful and I was very blessed to find Sierra House.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

The Sierra House was a big help to me in my life. I did not have much when I moved in October, 2012. The house staff gave me a lot of support when I was feeling down. I could come to the staff about any and everything and they never judged me. When I first moved in, I didn’t have my high school diploma. The Social Worker worked with me to get me ready to take my GED. They provided me with a tutor and I ended up passing. They also helped me with job searching, resume writing and interview skills. Although I don’t want to leave I understand that I have to take care of my responsibilities. However, I would love to come back for classes, activities, and volunteering.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

The Sierra House helped me with TRA, empowerment, financial literacy, and life coaching classes. The one on one and group counseling was very helpful and effective, in these sessions I was able to express my feelings with the things I was going through. They also helped me with job resources and connecting back with my family in a healthy, positive, and more productive way. I was also able to see how other young ladies like me raise their children and it gave me a sense of knowing that if they can do it then so can I. Overall Sierra House has helped me tremendously, and I will forever be grateful to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I am very appreciative of the help that Sierra House has given me. The staff at the Sierra House was very pleasant and always helpful; they helped me find a job and helped me grow into a more mature understanding individual. I met wonderful people who I would like to keep in touch with and I am grateful that they accepted me so quickly. I do not know what I would have done without the help of Sierra House.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I was 18 years old when I entered sierra House. I was very depressed due to my finances, the living situation with my child’s father, my family, and life itself. I needed guidance and education on how to survive as a single mom. As I settled into Sierra House I got to see other single independent mothers taking care of their children, and I was able to believe that I can do the same thing. Since I’ve been at Sierra House I’ve received public assistance, housing, food, clothing, wonderful relationships and love and support from the residents and the staff. I know my life has truly been impacted by this great experience, and the lives of my son and I will never be the same.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

Coming into a transitional home was the best route for me at the time. I was an angry person that was full of fear. The Social Worker helped me to realize that in my situation I needed the help of a family, and I must admit Sierra House has been just that. The love I received from the staff was just amazing. They helped me secure housing, update my resume and gave me job resources. Being at Sierra House I realized that I am a strong, independent, loving person who has a good head on her shoulders. I will forever be grateful for my Sierra House experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

Four Months ago I came to Sierra House looking for a safe place to live. I was seven months pregnant and living with my parents. My mother is an alcoholic and my father suffers from depression and as a result I became depressed and insecure of myself and my abilities. I felt that my home was not a safe place for me to bring my baby and I needed to make a change. I searched for women’s shelters and Sierra House was the first shelter I called, thankfully there was an opening. When I moved into Sierra House I was in an environment where I didn’t have to be constantly stressed, disrespected, and neglected. My sessions with the Social Worker allowed me to open up and to release some of the pain and anger that I was holding on to and I was able to find a better relationship with my parents. My stay at Sierra House has taught me many things about life, people and myself which has made me into such a better person today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer