Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently visited the Sierra House during the NASW Chat and Chew and was highly impressed with the Level of dedication the staff have for these girls. The house is beautiful and very well kept by the girls. A place where all should invest time and funds to help it grow!! They are working towards a real cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

Had a great time with the girls and the staff at the NASW-NJ Chat and Chew.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently attended the "Chat and Chew" BBQ at Sierra House as part of the professional social worker group that sponsored the event. This was the third time I had visited. Previously, I had helped with their Spring planting event. I enjoyed contributing to this effort and receiving Sierra House hospitality!

I believe that this nonprofit achieves its mission and deserves to gain more support from foundations and community efforts. They make it clear that although they always need more funding, that they also welcome volunteers who "want to make a difference" in the lives of the young women who live in Sierra House. These women can benefit from talking with professionals who can inspire and guide career aspirations and teach necessary skills. I hope to do this from my host agency. I am always inspired by the transparency and warmth of Sierra House staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I am the Co-Chair for the NASW-NJ Essex Unit and had been in contact with Sierra House to organize an event in June. When I arrived, i was AMAZED and shocked at the level of professionalism from the staff, the organization in place, and the level of enthusiasm from both the staff and the girls at the house. The stories shared that day by the girls in the house were life changing and have made for a wonderful memory- the first of many. Sierra House embodies dignity and respect for young ladies and shows them how to transition into real life with grace and respect for themselves and others. True Gems!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I have been volunteering at Sierra House for three years now. Every time I go there it seems to just get better and better. The staff members are friendly and warm. The residents are really trying to change their lives. I have been to other shelters doing volunteer work, but none are like Sierra House. The building is beautiful and and classes they have really teach things that us young people need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money, so they could help more homeless young girls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2012

I had a great time volunteering at Sierra House when I went with the S.O.S group from Seton Hall University. Keely was an extremely impressive ro-model. She was organized and was prepared for the volunteers, she also gave an awesome quick speech on how she became involved with Sierra House. I was really impressed with the experience and the goal of the nonprofit organization. The only piece of advice I would suggest is to guide the volunteers more. Students coming from Seton Hall get community service hours -- do not be afraid to make them really work for it! Thank you for having us... keep up the awesome work, you are all an inspiration. Phyllis was really nice helping us also!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2012

I recently did a vokunteer service with Sierra House along with my school and the experience was amazing. We worked on their landscaping and then they gave us a tour of the house and told us how the house worked and why the house was even built which is a beautiful and tragic story. But nonetheless the staff was friendly and always there to help us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2012

The Sierra house is an amazing organization and I am grateful for the opportunity to work with those lovely women

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 20, 2012

I absolutely loved volunteering at the Sierra House. The people there were very appreciative and you could tell that they really cared what we were doing. I loved the story behind how the house/organization was established and I was really glad that I could volunteer there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
September 30, 2012

I went to the Sierra House with an organization from my school and I loved it. I love how it helps these girls who have come from such horrible pasts and taught them that they can make their life better. I also think the atmosphere of the house is very nice for the girls. The house really feels like a house, not like a shelter and that gives the girls a sense of normalcy as well as showing them what their life could be like.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer