Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.758625
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I also participated in the Chat-n-Chew and am so glad I did! It was wonderful to meet the young women currently residing at Sierra House and to hear the stories of those who recently graduated. I also appreciated the chance to get up and tell my own story. I was extremely impressed by all the staff and their heartfelt devotion to the founder, the residents, and the overall mission of the organization. The facility is a beautifully renovated home located on a placid tree lined little oasis within an otherwise busy area. It very much feels like a "home," not a residence. Beyond just providing a roof over their clients' heads, the programming in life skills is impressive, especially their computer lab! I believe this is a place where the clients really can change their lives for the long run -- for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just give them more funding so they can continue to do what they do and perhaps even expand using their model in other locations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

Had a great time with the girls and the staff at the NASW-NJ Chat and Chew.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I recently attended the "Chat and Chew" BBQ at Sierra House as part of the professional social worker group that sponsored the event. This was the third time I had visited. Previously, I had helped with their Spring planting event. I enjoyed contributing to this effort and receiving Sierra House hospitality!

I believe that this nonprofit achieves its mission and deserves to gain more support from foundations and community efforts. They make it clear that although they always need more funding, that they also welcome volunteers who "want to make a difference" in the lives of the young women who live in Sierra House. These women can benefit from talking with professionals who can inspire and guide career aspirations and teach necessary skills. I hope to do this from my host agency. I am always inspired by the transparency and warmth of Sierra House staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I participated in a "Chat and Chew" through the NASW - NJ Essex County Chapter. I had the privilege of talking with some of the young women who are receiving services from Sierra House and some who have been past recipients. It is clear that these articulate women have benefited from the support and education provided at Sierra House. These women spoke of their determination to become self supporting. Some are young mothers and reflected on their dreams for their children.

I was touched by a grateful aunt of one of the clients who spoke of the drastic change and emotional growth in her niece resulting in her niece's ability to to express herself in an appropriate fashion. and to become more self-examining.

Impressive also are the staff who are dedicated to the residents and committed to the cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I am the Co-Chair for the NASW-NJ Essex Unit and had been in contact with Sierra House to organize an event in June. When I arrived, i was AMAZED and shocked at the level of professionalism from the staff, the organization in place, and the level of enthusiasm from both the staff and the girls at the house. The stories shared that day by the girls in the house were life changing and have made for a wonderful memory- the first of many. Sierra House embodies dignity and respect for young ladies and shows them how to transition into real life with grace and respect for themselves and others. True Gems!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I hadn't heard about Sierra House until the Essex County Chapter of the NASW selected to sponsor a Chow and Chat event. I did not know what to expect and was AMAZED.
You need to know that not only am I from NEW YORK, I am retired, a senior citizen who THINKS she has seen it all. I have visited
women's shelters both as an advocate for my clients in New York City and in New Jersey and I have visited women's shelters as an applicant. Each time I was impressed by the sparse less than modern furniture, factors that the shelter staff cannot always control.
Sierra House is a HOME, the furnishings how the rooms are assigned rooms for two if childless and a single room with their child is the most impressive.
Hearing the women share their personal stories at the chow and chat was remarkable. The women were warm, genuine, sincere and I believe committed to making a change in their lives. Seeing the success of former residents who are now living on their own and either working or studying or doing both was definitive proof of the good works that Sierra House does.
As an experienced, retired Gold Member (over 25 year a member) of the National Association of Social Workers ORIGINALLY FROM NEW YORK CITY, I am most favorably impressed.
My experience at Sierra House has made me want to volunteer or contribute in any way I can to this so efficiently run women’s shelter.

Emilia Colon, MSW, ACSW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything I would improve, to my understanding tutors in math are being sought. The women seem to be provided with their basic needs and additional needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

My initial impression when first hearing about Sierra House and their services to young, homeless or near homeless young ladies was "finally". Having worked in child protective services for the past eight years, I've seen more than my share of young ladies aging out of foster care only to be left between a rock and a hard place once state services end.

Recently the NASW-NJ (Essex Unit) of which I am chair entered into partnership with Sierra House in support their worthwhile mission. The adoption of Sierra House as an on going service project is confirmation of our organizations commitment to supporting those that help others. The entire Sierra House staff should be commended for their hard work and dedication to making a difference in the lives of the young ladies served . Kudos!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change one thing. Sierra House is as good as it gets. One doesn't fix that which isn't broken.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I have been volunteering at Sierra House for three years now. Every time I go there it seems to just get better and better. The staff members are friendly and warm. The residents are really trying to change their lives. I have been to other shelters doing volunteer work, but none are like Sierra House. The building is beautiful and and classes they have really teach things that us young people need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money, so they could help more homeless young girls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

A wonderful organization that provides a safe haven for young women and their children. The energy and the dedication of the staff members is inspiring. And the smiles on the faces of the young women and their children is priceless. I look forward to participating in some small way to their continued success. Sierra House...a valuable asset to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Sierra House is one of best organizations addressing the needs of our young women. This organization is an asset to East Orange and the community. We need to continue to support the founder in her effort to help young women be self sufficient. This organization is filling a void and need in our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer