Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.79075
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

On behalf of the City of East Orange, Mayor's Office of Employment and Training, I am writing in support of Sierra House and their outstanding service to the community in regard to women’s services and homelessness. Sierra House has been in existence many years and has proven to provide a safe haven for those that have been in need of shelter and life skills. We have referred clients to your organization and have always been extremely satisfied with the results. Overall, Sierra House has been an impeccable staple in our community and we thank you.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I love this organization because it is consistant with its involvement and improvment with the communitie. Many organization talk the talk, however from watching so closely the Sierra House talks and walks the walk and is very result driven.

Koodoes to the Sierra House and thanks for
caring about the humans that need humans.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

The Sierra house has done great things for these young ladies. I am so glad that I got a chance to visit them and see all the wonderful tings that they have done and still are doing. I wish more people cared as much as they do for these girls.
September 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2013

I recently attended the "Chat and Chew" BBQ at Sierra House as part of the professional social worker group that sponsored the event. This was the third time I had visited. Previously, I had helped wi... more

September 9, 2014

My local National Association of Social Workers chapter sponsored a barbeque at the Sierra House in 2013 and were impressed with the plans the young women had and the transparency and warmth of the staff. They do great work and I hope my chapter does an activity with them again.
July 1, 2013

I recently attended the "Chat and Chew" BBQ at Sierra House as part of the professional social worker group that sponsored the event. This was the third time I had visited. Previously, I had helped with their Spring planting event. I enjoyed contributing to this effort and receiving Sierra House hospitality!

I believe that this nonprofit achieves its mission and deserves to gain more support from foundations and community efforts. They make it clear that although they always need more funding, that they also welcome volunteers who "want to make a difference" in the lives of the young women who live in Sierra House. These women can benefit from talking with professionals who can inspire and guide career aspirations and teach necessary skills. I hope to do this from my host agency. I am always inspired by the transparency and warmth of Sierra House staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was 22 years of age when I entered into Sierra House. I was very depressed due to the fact that my daughter was taken by DYFS because of my finances and my living situation. I was devastated and had little hope of moving forward with my life. Moving to Sierra House has helped me to have a stable roof over my head and food on the table and I was also able to get my daughter back. Since being at Sierra House, I have received Medicaid, unemployment, found my own apartment, and built great relationships. The classes I attended at Sierra House were also rewarding and life changing. I would like to thank Sierra House for the opportunity and allowing me to be a part of a life changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I am a 26yr old mother with a 4yr old daughter. I fell on hard times with my first apartment and I didn’t have the support of my daughter’s father, so I ended up losing my place and becoming homeless with a child. One day I opened up to a social worker who works in my daughter’s school and she helped me find Sierra House. I was very broken coming in because I was feeling sad, angry, lost, and confused. This house has helped me to regain the things I have lost, not only materials but also my spirit. I have been here for 5 months and now I’m moving out into my own apartment. The Social Worker on staff helped me look for places and to fill out applications until I found the right one. I am very proud of myself but I could not have done it without the beautiful staff here at Sierra House. I love this house and all the ladies. My daughter was always safe and joyful and I was very blessed to find Sierra House.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

The Sierra House was a big help to me in my life. I did not have much when I moved in October, 2012. The house staff gave me a lot of support when I was feeling down. I could come to the staff about any and everything and they never judged me. When I first moved in, I didn’t have my high school diploma. The Social Worker worked with me to get me ready to take my GED. They provided me with a tutor and I ended up passing. They also helped me with job searching, resume writing and interview skills. Although I don’t want to leave I understand that I have to take care of my responsibilities. However, I would love to come back for classes, activities, and volunteering.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

The Sierra House helped me with TRA, empowerment, financial literacy, and life coaching classes. The one on one and group counseling was very helpful and effective, in these sessions I was able to express my feelings with the things I was going through. They also helped me with job resources and connecting back with my family in a healthy, positive, and more productive way. I was also able to see how other young ladies like me raise their children and it gave me a sense of knowing that if they can do it then so can I. Overall Sierra House has helped me tremendously, and I will forever be grateful to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I am very appreciative of the help that Sierra House has given me. The staff at the Sierra House was very pleasant and always helpful; they helped me find a job and helped me grow into a more mature understanding individual. I met wonderful people who I would like to keep in touch with and I am grateful that they accepted me so quickly. I do not know what I would have done without the help of Sierra House.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I was 18 years old when I entered sierra House. I was very depressed due to my finances, the living situation with my child’s father, my family, and life itself. I needed guidance and education on how to survive as a single mom. As I settled into Sierra House I got to see other single independent mothers taking care of their children, and I was able to believe that I can do the same thing. Since I’ve been at Sierra House I’ve received public assistance, housing, food, clothing, wonderful relationships and love and support from the residents and the staff. I know my life has truly been impacted by this great experience, and the lives of my son and I will never be the same.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer