Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.794875
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I mentor the girls there from time to time and I have to say, they are a bunch of bright young ladies with a great future ahead of them. I believe that they are able to shine bright because they have the privelege of not worrying about safety and security for them and their child.

At
Sierra House, the young ladies have structure. There is an entire plan mapped out to help them become responsible, indendent young adults. There is also counseling to help them consider what profession they want to secure. I've stood and watched the ladies coming and going, sometimes with child in hand, sometimes carrying their babies. Each of them are focused on their goals and often uplifting one another.

The staff is very encouraging and I always see them advising and guiding the young ladies.
I'm so proud that I was introduced to the program as a mentor. I loved having a hand in giving the
young ladies one to grow on. If I had the funding, I'd surely donate and sponsor the Sierra House
on and ongoing basis because I've seen first hand what it does to help young women. This is a
necessary program of which we need more.

Andrea Clinton, Founder of People Helping People, Inc.; Director of Big Sister Program
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

We were most impressed by the family environment created by the staff.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I've volunteered at Sierra House through Jersey Cares. It's a great organization that supports the housing and development needs for young women and their children. Sierra House provides career and mentoring programs, so that the women can transition out of the house and be self-sufficient.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Sierra House provides a comfortable and structured environment for it's residents that allows them to get back on track with their lives. The women of Sierra House are given every opportunity to overcome some of the challenges they have faced in their lives. If you are looking for a cause that has all the essential qualities to accomplish its desired result this is it.



Gilbert Ross
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

SIERRA HOUSE HAS OPENED ITS DOORS AND HEART FOUR YOUNG WOMEN AND CHILDREN IN NEED OF SUPPORT, TRANSITIONAL HOUSING AND LIFE SKILLS. I AM SO GLAD TO BE APART OF SUCH A GREAT ORGANIZATION.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I attended the Grand Opening of Sierra House and have been hooked ever since on its purpose and progress. The Executive Director and staff are phenomenal in providing a safe and homey environment for young women who have aged out of the foster care system and find themselves homeless and often with young children. Sierra House provides not only supportive housing, but also education and job opportunities, social and emotional support, guidance and mentoring, fundraising activities, and so much more to enable its residents to succeed and soar. Sierra House of East Orange, NJ is a must-support, must- admire nonprofit organization that is providing a high-quality service to homeless women and children. I look forward to the day when Sierra House transforms into a Sierra House Village!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

On behalf of the City of East Orange, Mayor's Office of Employment and Training, I am writing in support of Sierra House and their outstanding service to the community in regard to women’s services and homelessness. Sierra House has been in existence many years and has proven to provide a safe haven for those that have been in need of shelter and life skills. We have referred clients to your organization and have always been extremely satisfied with the results. Overall, Sierra House has been an impeccable staple in our community and we thank you.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I love this organization because it is consistant with its involvement and improvment with the communitie. Many organization talk the talk, however from watching so closely the Sierra House talks and walks the walk and is very result driven.

Koodoes to the Sierra House and thanks for
caring about the humans that need humans.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

The Sierra house has done great things for these young ladies. I am so glad that I got a chance to visit them and see all the wonderful tings that they have done and still are doing. I wish more people cared as much as they do for these girls.
September 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2013

I recently attended the "Chat and Chew" BBQ at Sierra House as part of the professional social worker group that sponsored the event. This was the third time I had visited. Previously, I had helped wi... more

September 9, 2014

My local National Association of Social Workers chapter sponsored a barbeque at the Sierra House in 2013 and were impressed with the plans the young women had and the transparency and warmth of the staff. They do great work and I hope my chapter does an activity with them again.
July 1, 2013

I recently attended the "Chat and Chew" BBQ at Sierra House as part of the professional social worker group that sponsored the event. This was the third time I had visited. Previously, I had helped with their Spring planting event. I enjoyed contributing to this effort and receiving Sierra House hospitality!

I believe that this nonprofit achieves its mission and deserves to gain more support from foundations and community efforts. They make it clear that although they always need more funding, that they also welcome volunteers who "want to make a difference" in the lives of the young women who live in Sierra House. These women can benefit from talking with professionals who can inspire and guide career aspirations and teach necessary skills. I hope to do this from my host agency. I am always inspired by the transparency and warmth of Sierra House staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer