Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.785715
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

At the sierra house they take in girls who have no where else to go and no where to raise their child which they had at a younger age then usual. Immediate tears formed in my eyes when I heard the house mother telling us the purpose of this organization. During our visit I got the job of re-organizing the donation closet. The whole time I was doing this I felt choked up and like I wanted to give them more. There were outdated clothes, clothes that do not match, and shoes without the correct pair. It made me want to give everything I have to them. I will definitely be donating some clothes in the near future. Outside we were weeding their gardens and cleaning up the place which made it look beautiful and like a nice home to live in. The organization is a very good cause and I wish we could of stayed and helped more. They were even so generous to provide us with lunch and feed us pizza! It was a great experience and very shocking to try to relate my life to the ones of the girls who live in this house. I definitely think they could use more help and should be given more attention. And bless the house mother, she is doing great things for her community and certainly giving back. One last thing I wanted to mention was one of the workers there told us her story and said she had formerly lived at that house and came back to serve other girls because she wanted them to know it was possible to become something other than just a teen mom. Overall it was really inspiring and I enjoyed my time at the sierra house!
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I loved volunteering at the Sierra House. The people there were super friendly and welcoming. It really taught me how lucky I am to be where I am and I'm glad to know that there is a place like the Sierra house for people to go to if needed. Everyone was very pleasant and friendly and went above and beyond my expectations. I loved it there and I look forward to going there again soon.
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I went there to volunteer doing makeup for an event they had and ended up doing professional photos for them as well. The girls and workers could not have been more appreciative and warm and friendly. I was extremely impressed with the house and the systems in place for the girls. they truly help them better themselves in all ways. I have since been collecting donations and putting together a fundraiser because I can't think of a more deserving place. They are ALL very special people.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I mentor the girls there from time to time and I have to say, they are a bunch of bright young ladies with a great future ahead of them. I believe that they are able to shine bright because they have the privelege of not worrying about safety and security for them and their child.

At
Sierra House, the young ladies have structure. There is an entire plan mapped out to help them become responsible, indendent young adults. There is also counseling to help them consider what profession they want to secure. I've stood and watched the ladies coming and going, sometimes with child in hand, sometimes carrying their babies. Each of them are focused on their goals and often uplifting one another.

The staff is very encouraging and I always see them advising and guiding the young ladies.
I'm so proud that I was introduced to the program as a mentor. I loved having a hand in giving the
young ladies one to grow on. If I had the funding, I'd surely donate and sponsor the Sierra House
on and ongoing basis because I've seen first hand what it does to help young women. This is a
necessary program of which we need more.

Andrea Clinton, Founder of People Helping People, Inc.; Director of Big Sister Program
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

We were most impressed by the family environment created by the staff.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I've volunteered at Sierra House through Jersey Cares. It's a great organization that supports the housing and development needs for young women and their children. Sierra House provides career and mentoring programs, so that the women can transition out of the house and be self-sufficient.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Sierra House provides a comfortable and structured environment for it's residents that allows them to get back on track with their lives. The women of Sierra House are given every opportunity to overcome some of the challenges they have faced in their lives. If you are looking for a cause that has all the essential qualities to accomplish its desired result this is it.



Gilbert Ross
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

SIERRA HOUSE HAS OPENED ITS DOORS AND HEART FOUR YOUNG WOMEN AND CHILDREN IN NEED OF SUPPORT, TRANSITIONAL HOUSING AND LIFE SKILLS. I AM SO GLAD TO BE APART OF SUCH A GREAT ORGANIZATION.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I attended the Grand Opening of Sierra House and have been hooked ever since on its purpose and progress. The Executive Director and staff are phenomenal in providing a safe and homey environment for young women who have aged out of the foster care system and find themselves homeless and often with young children. Sierra House provides not only supportive housing, but also education and job opportunities, social and emotional support, guidance and mentoring, fundraising activities, and so much more to enable its residents to succeed and soar. Sierra House of East Orange, NJ is a must-support, must- admire nonprofit organization that is providing a high-quality service to homeless women and children. I look forward to the day when Sierra House transforms into a Sierra House Village!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

On behalf of the City of East Orange, Mayor's Office of Employment and Training, I am writing in support of Sierra House and their outstanding service to the community in regard to women’s services and homelessness. Sierra House has been in existence many years and has proven to provide a safe haven for those that have been in need of shelter and life skills. We have referred clients to your organization and have always been extremely satisfied with the results. Overall, Sierra House has been an impeccable staple in our community and we thank you.
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in our Annual Gardening Event, cook an International meal with residents, tutors - assist residents with homework assignments, provide Kiddie Care for resident’s children. Volunteer