Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

Our families benefit greatly from the Great Start workshops provided by Side by Side, Inc.. Parents are excited about ways they can help their children in reading and math. Many of our families are bilingual and receive interpreter services at the workshops. We have seen parents who attend these workshops more involved in their child's education. Thanks Side by Side!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

As a former public school teacher and active volunteer with the faith based non profit, Side by Side, in Laurel, MD schools, I am thrilled to see parents and their children eagerly come to Great Sta... more

June 30, 2014

Side by Side is having a great impact on Laurel area schools!
In the 2013-14 school year, we expanded our primarily kindergarten focused series of parent workshops to include families of Grades 1 and 2 students. We have nearly doubled the number of families participating from last year and
early data reviews of student assessments given them in reading show that Great Start kids make greater gains than those students whose families do not attend! For the coming school year, we will be adding a series of workshops for parents of county preschool (age 4) students and two of our schools will be additionally be hosts to our Great Start workshop series taught in Spanish.
As a former teacher and paraprofessional in the schools, it is a joy to see parents and teachers truly work together on behalf of their students. I have watched students who have struggled to read become more confident and successful when their parent redoubles the teacher's efforts by learning how to help more at home. Increased communication between home and school has a powerful effect on student effort, success and achievement. "I can't" becomes "I'll try", and "I'll try" becomes "I am" and "I can do this...and more"! It's a win-win for everyone. Stronger families DO build stronger schools-come join us!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more families to take part in our programs and get more business and corporate support for what we're trying to do to improve our schools!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2012

As a former public school teacher and active volunteer with the faith based non profit, Side by Side, in Laurel, MD schools, I am thrilled to see parents and their children eagerly come to Great Start or Family Academy programs and go home from an evening with ways to work with their children at home, with newfound behavior management strategies, and with a growing respect for the efforts made upon their children's behalf. Class sizes are growing and there are multiple demands upon a teacher's ability to truly connect with a child's family, but at Side by Side, we seize upon opportunities to truly equip parents to be their child's first and best teacher. Children delight in free pizza for dinner and chances to participate in arts, science and literature based enriching and fun activities. Parents enjoy a "no cooking night", the opportunity to connect and share with other parents and and workshops led by school and community leaders. Teachers report greater participation in and support of school based instruction. When children, teachers, school administrators, and faith based community members work together, academic success is surely enhanced!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

At the yearly breakfast and silent auction I am so amazed at the stories told by parents and how Side by Side made such a difference in the lives of these families. I wish that all schools had this program . I love volunteering for this organization and interacting with the families and helping to raise funds and wish I could do more. I truely admire the familes that are new to this nation and give there all to help their children to suceed. I'm proud to be a small part of Side x Side..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Side by Side is a local, faith-based organization in Laurel, MD working with the parents of students in our community's public elementary schools. It's mission focuses on providing resources for parents to better control their children's behavior and to help their young children with reading and arithmetic skills at home. A number of recent studies have found parental involvement and partnering with schools to be a key factor in the success of young children. With a large group of volunteers Side by Side has started the first Family Academy in our area and has just completed a series of workshops called Great Start specifically targeted to parents of kindergarten and pre-kindergarten students. The Great Start seminars were all taught by teachers in the schools and both the parents and the teachers had positive comments about the opportunity to interact with one another. Our programs are done with a meal for all attendees, workshops on a variety of topics for the parents, and special enrichment activities for the children. We have not charged a fee for any of our programs. We rely for the majority of our funding on individual contributions and support from area churches. Check out our website at sidebysidelaurel.org for more information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Side by Side is an organization which brings together the community through programs which encourage parental involvement in their child's education. Both the Family Academy and Great Start programs help parents to help their children succeed in school. This in turn benefits the teachers and the staff of the schools the children attend. This effort is supported by the many volunteers from Laurel's faith based organizations and is truly making a difference in the lives of the children and parents in the Laurel schools.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Side by Side is truly changing the community of Laurel Maryland! This faith-based organization organizes family academies in area elementary schools that provide parents with tools to help their children succeed in school! Thes programs are beneficial to the entire community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

We haven't found other organizations that do what we do. Many nonprofits offer parenting workshops and courses, but they don't tie these to the parents helping their children do well in school. Schools give occasional parent workshops, but they are generally one-off and don't build the parents' skills. Our Great Start program -- six consecutive workshops at each participating school in which kindergarten and pre-kindergarten parents learn about behavior, reading and math strategies and activities -- goes sufficiently in-depth to really make a difference. And the family meals beforehand, children's activities and Spanish translators build the parents' comfort and sense of belonging with the school

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Side by side is an organization that has helped me in various ways in helping me get useful hands on information I need to raise my children in godly way and also academically, morally and socially. I have truly learned a lot from the many programs they have organized.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

My son is doing better in school.this whole experiecne help me and my son the 123 method works and we have it down pack

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

When we moved to the Laurel area we were looking for an organization that served children to devote our time and energy to. We found out about Side by Side from their excellent and informative website. I reached out to the Joe Murchison, the Executive Director, and my church group was immediately directed to an event that we could participate in. I am impressed by their approach of ministering not just to children, but to their families as well. Side by Side equips parents so they can have a positive impact on their child’s education, encourages children to do well in school through building their confidence through tutoring and mentoring, and supports teachers by building positive relations between teachers and the families they serve. I am excited about serving with Side by Side in the future and would recommend Side by Side to anyone interested in serving children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers