Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.45
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 13, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2013

Both of our children have a form of MD and required surgery. The Shriners hospital in Greenville SC was there every step of the way from the surgeries through recovery. If I came into money they would receive the majority of it. They have assisted in giving my kids normalcy. We cannot thank them enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them larger and more available to kids. People must be bussed in that live too far away and only one parent is allowed to stay with the child making it very hard on the one who must leave.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2012

more

December 29, 2012

I am fully aware of the Shriner's work and devotion to those in need. They are truly caring folks whose only reward is to volunteer their time and help in any way they can. They are not out to make money! I don't have time to write a long review, but I agree wholeheartedly with Fujibob's review. I couldn't have said it any better.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 28, 2012

Our son was treated in Sacramento, CA for a bone cyst when he was 10. We didn't have insurance at the time and our doctor suggested the Shriners Hospital. They were awesome! The workers and volunteers were friendly and professional. All seemed to know how important and good their work is. That was 9 years ago and the memory is still very vivid. We now support them and urge others to do so also.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

December 24, 2012

Our son was treated at the Hospital in Chicago. Our sponsoring Shriner club in South Dakota provided travel from our town to the airport in Omaha, airline and taxi fares for one parent and our son, and hotel stays. When both parents wanted to go, they provided travel to the airport for all of us and we only had to pay for one airline ticket. The Shriner's club clearly explained the policies about funding and that one parent could stay in the hospital while our son was in the hospital. This was fair and very generous. Our son underwent surgery that was only available by an inexperienced surgeon near our home. The Chicago surgeon was extremely experienced in this particular surgery and all went well. I can't say enough about the quality of care, professionalism, and the kindness with which we were treated by everyone involved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a volunteer and a Shriner, we work for free and are not trying to make any money off of anyone. The previous review by a woman who was upset that her entire family was not comped by the Shriners Hospital during the treatment of her daughter is a misnomer. Normally the hospitals are not responsible nor take care of food and housing for family or extended family during these treatments but rather are focused on the treatment and well being of the patient or child involved. Extended family road trips and expenses would destroy the ability of the Hospitals to care for its primary objective and that is the total care of the child at no cost to the family. I resent the attitude of this woman who feels that her entire entourage had to be funded. Normally the child and one parent are hosted by the Sponsoring Shrine Temple who pick up hotel and food expenses during the trip. NO ONE MAKES ANY MONEY except the employees of the hospital who receive their normal wages. All of the Shriners who work from the Transportation Unit Drivers who give of their time, the cost of all the Vans their maintenance and gas are all donated by those men with no other purpose than to help the child. In fact most of the money that runs the hospital comes from the donations and bequests of the Shrine members themselves and from their families. We get very little help from people outside. All we ask is to be allowed to continue to support the people and the employees of the Hospitals so that they continue to do their good work. Negative articles like this women criticizing the Texas Shrine Center serve ill purposes because of the misinformation and terrible lack of understanding on her part. I feel sorry for the child to have such a grubby parent that is ungrateful at best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I HAVE BEEN TO 3 OF THE 22 SHC,THE SHRINERS TOOK ME FOR A TOUR OF THE HOSPITALS.I TALKED TO KIDS AND THEY PARENTS,I HEARD NOT 1 BAD THING.THEY ALL LOVED THE HOSPITAL AND STAFF.I ALSO GOTO THE CIRCUS,FAIR AND OTHER FUNDRISERS,ALL THE PEOPLE WHO WORK THEM DO NOT GET PAID,I HAVE STARTED TO HELP AT THE FUNDRISERS.IF YOU GOTO THE SHC YOU WILL GOTO TO A FUNDRISER OR THE CIRCUS AND SPEND YOUR MONEY ON A GREAT ORGANIZTION.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

SHINERS HOSPITAL IN GALVESTON TEXAS SUCK. i know Shriners is noted for being top notch and for the kids. maybe they are and My 5 year old daughter was burnt from wast down and my daughter is well tended, but they have put my family through hell. we were in Tulsa hospital and they should have sent us to Springfield Missouri burn unit. great unit. and 3 hours from my home. instead a shiners jumped on us and told us our family would be taken care of, room and food provided and put us through a 10 hour long ambulance drive of hell. once we got here, my child was tended well but my family (a 2 year old, 13 year old and 22 year old son) were kicked out. they couldnt even stay in the lobby over night. we were told food would be provided yet i have receipts where we have had to pay. i had to get a hold of the liar shriners who told us we all would be taken care of and ask him to help us get a motel and he got mad because he had to put us up and only wanted to do one night. so now im paying for the extra nights. so another lie. we were told 2 people could be in the room over night so dad and my 13 year old were going to, and when it came time to eat they then threw a fit about feeding her AND kicked her out because NOW it has to be just a parent in the room. we have been treated like we should tie the kids up to the bumper of the truck over night, and if we had of done that to a dog we would get a citation. some one made a buck off of this "charity" offer and we have had to pay our way all the way. and tell me if its such charity, why did they need her insurance card? yeah - give me Joyners Hospital any day. so so sick of someone making a buck off of our pain

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 11, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 11, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

As Chairman of the Board of Governors for one of the busiest of our 22 hospitals, I can tell you a few things. First and foremost is that most of us, (and all of our hospital chairmen) are volunteers. When it comes to the actual amount of donation dollars to the hospital by Shriners, the cost of airline transportation at least twice a month (and often more) are not reimbursed and are not included in what Shriners contribute. My costs are only a small portion of my donations, so to say we all give $5 dollars a year, is to say very little. Besides my time and costs, the last few years, I have donated about ten thousand dollars in checks. I personally do not know any Shriner who are paid for their volunteer work for our hospitals. If you see a funny red hat on a Shriner, then you can be assured he is not being paid money to be there.

So, what do I and others get out of our work? We get to see a child who would never walk... walk again. We see a child who is disabled by burns, able to live a more normal life. We see doctors (who are mostly paid), operate on children... not because the insurance company said they will cover that procedure,... but because they believe in our mission of helping a child live a better life. I will never forget the little 8 year old girl who walked up to me, carrying her child's 'walker', and hand it to me... saying: "Here Mr. Shriner, you can have this. The doctor says I don't need it anymore. Please give it to a child who does need it." I did not show her the watering of my eyes. Yes, we Shriners get a lot out of our work for the hospitals... not everything is counted in dollars.

Our employees are second to none when it comes to the heart they show for our children. Part of that is because that is what we as Shriners look for when we are hiring. Part of it is because we have yet to turn down a child's operation due to insurance reasons. As long as I am Chairman of my particular hospital, we never will... and I am positive that the 22 other Chairmen of their hospitals agree with this thought.

I can tell you that our employees... Doctors, Nurses and the rest of what it takes to run a hospital... believe in our mission, and that is often why they work for Shriners. An under-18-year-old child does not need to be related to a Shriner. In fact, few of them are. They only need to submit an application. Get reviewed by one of our doctors. Have a problem which falls within our specialties. And our doctors believe that they can make the child's life better.

Our largest specialties cover Orthopedics, Acute Burns, Burn Reconstruction and Facial Clefts. There are others, so contacting a hospital of ours can get a parent a better idea, but both our Shriners as well as our employees all want to help all the children we can.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

more children that I can count. A burned child we have performed over 14 operations to help reconstruct his burns. We created eyelids for him as when he was burned he lost these. They look great. We have transplanted 4 of his toes to make fingers (he lost all of them in the fire). When we do the next two, I believe he will be the first child to ever have 6 toes transplanted. However, he is in such good shape now that last time I saw him he and I played chess.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase fundraising so that we can continue our work. It currently costs about 2 million dollars per day to operate 22 hospitals. This is a costly endeavor, but well worth it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I was originally looking for an organization I could get behind and support. When I found Shriners Hospitals for Children, I never looked back.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To help all the children who fall within our specialties. To keep Shriners from being the best kept secret in children's specialty health care through various means, including our internet website.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To make sure we raise enough money to continue to operate our hospitals at peak efficiency.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 9, 2011

Shriners Hospitals provided me with 3 orthopedic surgeries, free of charge. While the treatment was free, I sacrificed nothing for quality of care. I had subsequent treatments for other issues at other hospitals in the Seattle area, none of which were as successful as the ones performed at Shriners, Portland. I was always warmly welcomed, treated fairly and honestly, and I always felt safe in Shriners. They provided counseling for my parents during my treatment, while giving me many of the tools I needed to overcome my obstacles post-surgery. I would not recommend ANY children's hospital above Shriners.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Shriners Hospital, Portland Oregon

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Speed up wait time for routine appointments, build a hospital closer to my home in Seattle.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

How did you find this group?

My father is a Mason, my grandfather was a Shriner.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This hospital provided me with reconstructive care that put me on the path to recovery, and being able to walk without aid.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

January 6, 2010
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2010
5 people found this review helpful

The mission and achievements of Shriners Hospitals for Children (SHC) are truly unique and extraordinary, but the management is archaic and inefficient. Here are ten facts that the Shriners do not want you to know (check them out for yourself): 1) There are no minorities or women on the SHC national governing board, and there are no plans to add any; 2) Shriners claim monopoly control of "their charity," but their fundraising activities raise on average about 5% of the operating budget each year; each Shriner is required to contribute only about $5 each year to SHC; 3) Shriners tout their low fundraising costs, but they have spent 2.5 to 6 times as much on board and senior management expenses in recent years; 4) A decade ago SHC leaders believed that their endowment was so large that they did not need to do any more fundraising, but in following years board-directed fundraisng was stagnant, with a decline of 4.1% between 2005 and 2007; from 2004-2009 revenue generation was headed by two individuals with no professional fundraising experience, and they were both demoted for poor fundraising results. 5)From 1999 to 2003 only 5% of the $46.2 million raised by the direct mail program Vantage VFS, which was chosen by the board, was received by SHC. 6. Both ALSAC-St. Jude and Mayo Clinic, which raised less than SHC in 2002, had doubled their funds raised by 2007, while SHC had a 9.2% decline. 7. While the largest universities and foundations had endowment increases from 5-16% during the Dot-Com Recession of 2001-02, SHC, with investment managers chosen by the board, lost several billion dollars. 8. Donors who wish to restrict their giving to one Shriners Hospital should know that their gift does not necessarily increase funds received by that hospital; all gifts are directed to SHC headquarters in Tampa, and all funding for individual hospitals is exclusively determined by the naitonal governing board, without regard to what each hospital might receive in designated gifts. 9. In 2009 the national governing board of SHC recommended closing six of 22 hospitals,although this was voted down at the national convention in July; this was proposed even though SHC holds an endowment of over $6 billion. 10. The The SHC governing board has refused to invest in and manage a modern foundraising operation consistent with competitors and industry best practices, and they have shown that they value direct control over productivity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the miracles happening every day in healing children across North America.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reconstitute the national board to resemble other modern governing boards, and let expert, senior staff manage the organization while board members concentrated on polices and standard board responsibilities.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the kindness and dedication that I have observed in the hospital staff members and volunteers.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

impressive in their expertise, dedicated to healing children, and thankful to be able to provide outstanding care without charge to families.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

reform itself by following industry best practices (but leadership and vision are the issue, and not $$$, since SHC's endowment has reached $9 billion in the best times).

Ways to make it better...

I had seen the courageous leadership needed to communicate this remarkable mission to the American public and to fulfill the unparalleled potential of this organization-a glowing example to all Americans of what healthcare should be.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

related to the question: are the Shriners willing and able to reform the governance of their magnificent organization?

One thing I'd also say is that...

the mission is incomparable, but thoughtful donors deserve greater transparency and better governance.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers