Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

Having worked in the Fair Trade industry for a dozen years and as an owner of a Fair Trade company I can say with sincerity and experience that Shopping for a Change makes it possible for women around the world to earn a respectable income which enables them to provide for their families in a meaningful way. Shopping for a Change not only is providing a terrific service for humanity but their ethos is in complete alignment with the work they support around the world. SHOP on Shopping for a Change and use your "impact purchasing power" to change life for so many around the globe. I love this organization! Katy Leakey

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

While searching for an internship to do over the summer I came across Shopping for a Change on the school website, the description online highlights both the fun-loving fashionable and caring charitable aspects of the company. I was immediately drawn to the combination that Shopping for a Change offers. However, the aspect that truly struck me was the international community that SFAC embodies. The company connects people across the world. A woman purchasing a pair of earring from her home in California is directly helping another woman working in Guatemala or India or Thailand. It gives people the opportunity to connect with a person across the globe, to lend a helping hand and to get a lovely pair of earrings. The company makes the world a smaller, more interconnected place and lets individual people choose to make the difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love if the website was more polished and easier to navigate.

More feedback...

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

Hi! I'm Jessica and I work as an intern at Shopping for A Change.

To be completely honest, I didn't actually expect much out of this internship in the beginning. I had the impression that because Shopping for a Change was less distinguished than other organizations I had interned at
previously, the work I did would be less challenging and important...And though I don't usually admit it, I was very wrong!! Having worked here only month now, I've already interviewed and written about the founders of various organizations. I've familiarized myself with the inventory of Shopping for A Change's products and seen how beautiful and professional each piece is. Thanks to Stacey's guidance and all I've done at this internship, I'm really starting to understand and appreciate everything that this nonprofit is doing to help people worldwide - I hope that Stacey gets the opportunity to continue her work through Shopping for a Change for many years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the organization so it could reach out to more people. It would be great the inventory to be moved to a warehouse so that the products could be moved about and shipped more efficiently (without losing it's personal touch of course).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

Stacey has made positive ripples around the globe by bringing exquisite, unique craft pieces to a market that can appreciate and afford them. The bowls from Swaziland (I am now a proud owner of one) are absolute works of art. My grown daughters love the jewelry selections, and we're all happy about contributing to the benefit of the far-away artisans.

Shopping for a Change is the best kind of shopping.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I first came into contact with Shopping for a Change last holiday season at a boutique where they were a vendor. I was immediately taken with their mission, their goods and operation, and with Stacey Horowitz. The model is a win-win. The organization benefits many artisans in many developing countries of the world, benefits local charities, and benefits us as the purchaser. That's a triple win!!! I have kept in touch with Stacey because I truly believe in and support what she is doing. Her high level of professionalism is remarkable, her goods are of the highest quality, and her humanitarian outreach is exceptional. Shopping for a Change is making a difference and enriching many lives around the world, including my own. I wish the organization continued success in all that they strive to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I get compliments every time I wear one of the many pieces of jewelry that I have purchased from Shopping for a Change and feel good that my purchases are helping folks in need. The level of customer service is outstanding! Its obvious that this is a very well run organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the inventory!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

Shopping for a change is an exceptional non-profit, and Stacey Horowitz is a consummate humanitarian. She came up with a novel idea to help people in underprivileged areas, while benefiting other non-profits here at home. I have had the pleasure of volunteering with Stacy and she is truly committed to the well-being of the people she is helping. The products that Stacey has purveyed are beautiful, well made and priced fairly. As a customer, I am pleased to know that my purchase will be enjoyed by someone AND immensely satisfied knowing that the money I am spending will improve someone else's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I found Shopping for a Change about a year ago and instantly fell in love. What they are doing in developing countries is really admirable! And Stacy has an incredible eye. it is so easy to shop because she has picked wonderful unique items that are well priced and you feel really good about helping someone else when you purchase them. They were my main holiday supplier last Christmas and I have wonderful pieces myself that I always get great comments on. I recommend them to all my friends and have liked them on FB and am happy to recommend them here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see them also have US products but I know there are issues there. I hope they will eventually but what they are doing is great as it is! It can only grow and help more people and bring joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

Shopping for a Change is a great nonprofit! The structure of the organization is wonderful and helps so many people around the world. The website makes it so easy and clear to shop by country, as well as learn about the different artisans and collections available. The products are all of high quality and beautifully handcrafted. I would recommend shopping this website for great gifts, jewelry, bags, and home decor!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

In the month I have spent as an intern at Shopping for a Change, my admiration for this nonprofit has not ceased to grow. I love that the organization works not just to reduce poverty worldwide, but to help people build their livelihoods through work that they can feel proud of. In addition, it allows people living in the U.S. to support developing nations simply by shopping! I encourage customers to find out the moving stories behind the creation of each of these exotic products...one will truly find their appreciation for them amplified.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers