Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.91255
Write A Review
November 14, 2013

more

November 14, 2013

SASEF is a great non-profit foundation that promotes education of children safety in the world. My daughter is helping the SASEF to edit and proof-reading the V-sign document that SASEF is promoting. We were reading the documentaries/stories in the SASE website and we were deeply touched by the work they are doing. As a parent, I absolutely applaud the efforts of SASEF to raise the awareness of child safety and to promote the V-sign as a world language to recognize potential child victims.

It is a great foundation for HUMANITY!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I met the family SASEF when I came to live in Brazil . The charm of SASEF goes beyond the wonderful fact of being an organization that provides opportunities to children and youth. I was fascine with the life experience of its director Rhonda Staudt and its donation to social causes in different countries. Also the care and dedication of the volunteers and the people who participate in the various activities.

I thank SASEF by having known my friend Rachel, who has been a sister to me in Brazil , sharing the wonderful experience of volunteering participating and contributing in various social activities in the city of Porto Alegre.
The family SASEF has allowed me to bring in the heart and memory a lot of smiles and happy little faces of children, youth, teachers, partners and volunteers who have participated in activities that surely has sown the seeds that will change the lives of children benefited. I remember specially the conference " Making my dream a reality," with the participation of over 100 children. I recommend to participate in all SASEF activities to be happier and reap valuable experiences to life !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2012

Excellent example of a well run volunteer organization. more

October 29, 2013

I've had the privilege of knowing and helping SASEF from its formation. As a professional who has worked for almost 30 years with many charitable organizations, I can honestly say that SASEF is one of the best. I've seen only consistently excellent, high quality programs and initiatives produced and developed by SASEF. SASEF is an example of what a charitable organization should provide to improve life for all of us, directly and indirectly. SASEF's programs are truly a life changing blessing to the participants!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

Excellent example of a well run volunteer organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Since 2006 I have been taking part in Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation projects in Porto Alegre, Brazil, Our goal is provide safe spaces for reading and encourage children and young peopl... more

October 29, 2013

Since 2006 SASEF has definitely been transforming the way I feel about the world around me as a volunteer. It has made me a stronger person and allowed me to explore new concepts and build long-lasting friendships. SASEF has taught me about so many different subjects, cultures and people.
I
have met so many inspirational people and learned so many life lessons that helped me to contribute more to my community.
Through the donation of books, televisions, dvd players and computers for the “International Reading Corners Project” in poor neighborhoods in Porto Alegre, in the south of Brazil, SASEF has given children and students the opportunity to explore so many different fields and opened new doors for their lives and futures.
Through projects, workshops and weekend trips SASEF has given a lot of children, teenagers and students a different view about the world and its possibilities to have a better chance in life and the opportunity to discover new things, like as new ideas and conceptions of who they want to be and how they want to go about achieving that and facing opportunities in obstacles.
Our projects have not only made them aware of their human potential, intellectual and social abilities but also indicated and revealed them a better idea of their future career path.

The new project “Stop Trafficking Children and Youth The V Sign”, a Universal Hand Sign was created specifically for children and youth. The V Sign equips children and youth with a real tool to self protect and possibly prevent their being stolen or trafficked. The V Sign can also used as an SOS alert for a child or youth who has been stolen or trafficked.

I am very grateful to SASEF for all those opportunities, indescribable feelings and extremely valuable experiences!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

Since 2006 I have been taking part in Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation projects in Porto Alegre, Brazil,

Our goal is provide safe spaces for reading and encourage children and young people to go further in their lives through education.
SASEFis giving children and youth a
chance to go to school, find a job and create a better future for themselves, their families, future generations and the global community.
We built around 3 libraries and one computer center, like at YACM-Vila Restinga Olímpica, at Vila Novo Chocolatão and at Vila Cruzeiro in Porto Alegre, Brazil and are developing youth employment workshops.

Being part on SASEF's projects makes me understand and respect all the cultural differences and opinions and fight prejudices. I do believe that only through education we can make a difference and put an end on poverty and social gap. Nowadays I do not imagine myself without taking part on SASEF's projects. I meet a lot of great people and have the chance to kwon new projects and take part in it.
To help more and more children in my country, Brazil, where the criminality is very intense and the number of drug addicts is extremely high is a big challenge, but I'm sure supporting and providing educationis the onlyt way to make a better world for children and youth. When I see children reading books for the first time in their lives In the libraries we arranged, I feel really happy and satisfied, because we can change their lives with books!!!

SASEF is a great nonprofit organization and is developing wonderful social projects around the globe. I'm happy to have the chance to make a difference in the world - maybe small, but really from the heart!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

Since 2006 I have been taking part in SASEF projects.
Our goal is provide safe spaces for reading and encourage children and young people to go further in their lives through education.
During all these years I’ve met a lot of great people, brave and clever children, what enable me change
experiences and respect the different opinions and cultures.
We built around 3 libraries and one small computer center, like at YACM-Vila Restinga Olímpica, at Vila Novo Chocolatão and at Vila Cruzeiro in Porto Alegre, Brazil.
Our friends and partners help us a lot, donating books and part of their time. Team work is very important!
If we want to change the world and to give a chance to our children, we have to support and to provide education, and one of the most important tool is a book.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When we visit the reading spaces and teachers, helpers and the children realte us about their efforts and success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest more meetings whith the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

telling us more about the projects in progress.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met a lot of great people. Knew different oppinions and culrures.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

We have to help our children and that we have to share our experiences due to a better world. It's a great and incredible experience!

September 27, 2011

In 2006 I was invited to take part on Goethe Institut's World Cup blog writing about culture and soccer in my country, Brazil. So I got to know SASEF's projects. Since then, I did decide to take part on this NGO.
My activity as a volunteer has several facets: I try to raise awareness among
people to get involved in social projects. Being part on SASEF's projects makes me understand and respect all the cultural differences. I do believe that only through education we can make a difference and put an end on poverty and social gap. Nowadays I do not imagine myself without taking part on SASEF's projects.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in the librarys we arranged we can see children reading books for the first time in their lives. That's wonderfull and I feel happy, because we can change their lives with a simple book!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to spread our projects in more poor neighbourhoods in our city and try to have more volunteers, if in Brazil things weren't so complicated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I'm happy to have the chance to make a difference in the world through SASEF and its projects.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Being part on SASEF's projects makes me understand and respect all the cultural differences. I have been meeting a lot of great people. I have the chance to kwon new projects and people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Since 2006 I realized better then ever that we have an important function in life and that we have to help more and more children in our country, where the criminality is very intense and the number of drug addicts is extremely high.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I am a firsthand benefactor of some of the many wonderful things SASEF is doing around the world. Coming from Liberia, one of the poorest countries in the world, I am today living my life long dream of having a better education in the United States because of SAEF. SAEF is an organization of wonderful and amazing people whose only objectives are helping others and I am proud and honored to be part of the SAEF family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any change to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I found myself lost about what course to take in my life, until I met SASEF and the wonderful work they do. making the world a better place helping people around the world. they have the dedication to good causes. certainly, I feel proud and happy with the work of SASEF!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would make no change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 22, 2011

SASEF did a really great program for TMMAF this year for kids who survived the war. In a village called Kakata in Liberia they had the kids draw the challenges they faced in day to day life. Becaus... more

November 30, 2012

I had the privilege of serving as Vice President of SASEF in its earlier years. They continue year after year to do such great works helping children all over the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 22, 2011

SASEF did a really great program for TMMAF this year for kids who survived the war. In a village called Kakata in Liberia they had the kids draw the challenges they faced in day to day life. Because of all the violence in Liberia this workshop was a way to help these kids deal with this issue.

The project was a success and with the help of the Ministry of Gender, Ministry of Education and Save the Children to coordinate the kids, SASEF helped educate more children around the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

all aspects of SASEF for many years including serving as Vice President for two terms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes...just continue to watch the good works and support its efforts.

September 27, 2010

I had the honor of being Vice President of the Shirley Ann Educational Foundation for 6 years. This is an outstanding organization that is making a global impact at the ground level to our youth. The programs it has created, implemented or facilitated are creative, solid and worthy of your donations and your time spent volunteering to support them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many areas from facilitating a successful youth educational conference in Brazil, fundraising to build schools in Angola, the creation of a music program at a school in Brazil by SASEF's piano donation, teaching middle school students in the US about the Millennium Development Goals, seeing the end results of helping with the creative aspect of other programs and much more.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

learning about global philanthropy, working with the youth and seeing first hand the impact that it makes on the children of the world.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

an excellent group from all ages, cultures, continents, educational levels and careers with one goal to make SASEF's programs and projects a success!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

implement the programs and projects that are already established and successful to more youth around the world. From experience working with SASEF as Vice President, I feel very comfortable in saying that the "right thing" would be done with every penny.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2011

I Knew SASEF since 2003 and from that time my life never was the same everything that I'm today I owe to SASEF because they are the one that gave me a chance to shine by teaching, mentoring and expose... more

November 29, 2012

I will always be greatful to SASEF of being like the greatest discovery of SASEF in Angola and i feel that am the guy the most benefited from SASEF presence in Angola, I was exposed to big companies, embassies and NGO's, I was more then 4 times out of Angola to attend trainings at regional level(Africa) and 1 at global level(Mexico) and throughout these experience there was a big chance for me to be hired by a multi-national company where actually am making my carrier, I would like to thanks SASEF cause they gave me this big chance of my life, and would like to encourage those ones that sometimes are afraid to be voluntier please give a chance to the others by giving you a chance to be among them. Jacques Nginga

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 30, 2011

I Knew SASEF since 2003 and from that time my life never was the same everything that I'm today I owe to SASEF because they are the one that gave me a chance to shine by teaching, mentoring and expose me in various social works, just to have an idea when I say teaching me, I didn't know how to manage an internet and email this was a strange world for me, but the SASEF founder taught me on how to create an email and she was the person that did it for me then she instructed me on how to check emails ,from that time on I become a connected person I started to see the thing in a worldwide vision as I started to develop my knowledge. SASEF for me is like water that came at time that I was thirsty like a food that came at time that I was starving.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Because I had a chance to teach a MDG world class in Angola, I was exposed to Embassies, NGO's, big multinationals, Oil&Gas sector etc. I had a chance to interact to diplomates and CEO's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I should make them ecomicaly more robust so that they could keep sending children to school, by giving scholarship as they did in Esperanca do Futuro School where I the link to check weekly the effectiveness of the kids in terms of attending the lessons.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I think this group did all their best to put me on top in terms of experience as today I can say I'm an experienced guy, with skills to advise interms of social works and volunteering. Also I started to manage internet because SASEF founder taught me and she was the one the opened my first email and I will never forget this.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, as today I could be contacted to advise in terms of social works which areas are more sensible in my country, also just to have an idea I've friends in all countries of the southern region of Africa because this organization introduced me to YES-SADC in 2004 by helping me to be part of the first regional youth summit for youth empowerment and at same year I was part of worldwide youth summit for employment in Mexico where the SASEF founder should make part but she gave her place to me so that I could gain more international experience and know how to interacte at worldwide level, actually I have friends in America, Europe, Africa and Asia ju7st because SASEF gave me this opportunity.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It make me to feel strong, confident and proud as today I can counselin the others to follow this steps that sometimes you don't how bigger it can benefit you, because you will be exposed and everybody wants to know who is that right person that care about the others.

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

SASEF has a global network that does an outstanding job in effectively implimenting positive local change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2010

My experience with this non Profit Organization is very great in that, I learned lots of things like, knowing about computer, speaking among people, working in a restaurant and telling people about co... more

October 22, 2012

Since I begin to work with the Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation, I have had a life changing experiences, that have turn my life for the good. This organization have taught me allot and the most of it by getting a job for me. I have been scholarship by this organization, and through them I have had intercultural experience, and good moral value.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2010

My experience with this non Profit Organization is very great in that, I learned lots of things like, knowing about computer, speaking among people, working in a restaurant and telling people about community service and also learning to be a good leader and willing youth volunteer. This Non Profit organization can help bring the dreams of many people or youth in to reality.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In that I have gotten a full time job at the Kendeja Resort Villas, Monrovia, Liberia in order to help myself and family members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work harder for this organization like, sharing ideas to others for this organization, doing lots of volunteer job, educating people and doing community service.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I enjoyed Education, Job Volunteer Service and Counseling Service that changed my life.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Staff from the Kendeja Resort and Villas, Monrovia, Liberia, the Senator for Maryland County, Monrovia, Liberia John Baylout and Volunteer groups such as the Federation of Liberia Youth (FLY) and the Youth for Community Academy and Development Service.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

have offer Scholarships to the least fortunate ones who are unable to school.

Ways to make it better...

this organization exist in every country of this world, sharing its ideas, goals and objectives that will improve the lives of others.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

the call of more Donors that will facilitate its projects and the call of more volunteers to its services.

One thing I'd also say is that...

the Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation (SASEF) is one of the best Nonprofit Organization in the world.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Work in our library, tutor children with homework, pick up and deliver donated materials. Help facilitate our youth employment workshops. Mentor a young person into a job. Volunteer