Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.91255
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2013

more

November 14, 2013

SASEF is a great non-profit foundation that promotes education of children safety in the world. My daughter is helping the SASEF to edit and proof-reading the V-sign document that SASEF is promoting. We were reading the documentaries/stories in the SASE website and we were deeply touched by the work they are doing. As a parent, I absolutely applaud the efforts of SASEF to raise the awareness of child safety and to promote the V-sign as a world language to recognize potential child victims.

It is a great foundation for HUMANITY!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The loss of a child is something no parent should have to go through; but it is not only the parents that are hurting. Sometime a parent’s grief is so deep they do not see the other people in their child’s life that are also touched. Immediate family is the easiest to see, brothers and your spouse or step-parent; then aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents. Then the children’s friends, some of whom the parent may not even know.

The Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation thought TMMAF, has helped this family extend the memory, love and positive outgoing attitude of one lost child and extend the reach to over 5000 other children around the world so that they may know love, music, education, hope and optimism. The joy from giving, knowing that this lost child would be thrilled to see the positive impact SASEF has in many other lives is outstanding and refreshing beyond words.

I believe that you don’t have an impact on only the one person you see, because behind every individual are many others that also feel your actions and words. Thank you SASEF and The Todd McQuillan Memorial Arts foundation for making a difference in over 5000 lives directly and thousands more indirectly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more people know about their great works

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2011

The Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation is an amazing non-profit organization which assist kids with their education and dreams. The organization has assisted many kids in different parts of ... more

October 30, 2013

SASEF is an amazing foundation that not only has children's best interests and education at heart but others as well. A child's safety is probably one of the most important needs in the world today. The "V Sign" is so significant to children's safety world wide and will ultimately save hundreds if not thousands of kids lives. I applaud the determination and tenacity which SASEF has displayed in order to achieve world wide recognition to assist others with education, safety and a better quality of life. I met the director of SASEF, Rhonda Staudt, in Liberia, West Africa where she was actively involved with helping many people not only there but throughout the world. She is truly a gift from God for so many people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 27, 2011

The Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation is an amazing non-profit organization which assist kids with their education and dreams. The organization has assisted many kids in different parts of the world who are underprivileged and need education. Rhonda Staudt enthusiasm for all children's education can be seen in all that she does from the children's drawing competitions, the library projects, book donations, etc. Rhonda has a dream to educate all children and she passionately pursues every avenue to achieve her goals. It's a pleasure and honor to know Rhonda and SASEF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Daily followings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no changes

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I met the family SASEF when I came to live in Brazil . The charm of SASEF goes beyond the wonderful fact of being an organization that provides opportunities to children and youth. I was fascine with the life experience of its director Rhonda Staudt and its donation to social causes in different countries. Also the care and dedication of the volunteers and the people who participate in the various activities.

I thank SASEF by having known my friend Rachel, who has been a sister to me in Brazil , sharing the wonderful experience of volunteering participating and contributing in various social activities in the city of Porto Alegre.
The family SASEF has allowed me to bring in the heart and memory a lot of smiles and happy little faces of children, youth, teachers, partners and volunteers who have participated in activities that surely has sown the seeds that will change the lives of children benefited. I remember specially the conference " Making my dream a reality," with the participation of over 100 children. I recommend to participate in all SASEF activities to be happier and reap valuable experiences to life !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2012

Excellent example of a well run volunteer organization. more

October 29, 2013

I've had the privilege of knowing and helping SASEF from its formation. As a professional who has worked for almost 30 years with many charitable organizations, I can honestly say that SASEF is one of the best. I've seen only consistently excellent, high quality programs and initiatives produced and developed by SASEF. SASEF is an example of what a charitable organization should provide to improve life for all of us, directly and indirectly. SASEF's programs are truly a life changing blessing to the participants!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

Excellent example of a well run volunteer organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Since 2006 I have been taking part in Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation projects in Porto Alegre, Brazil, Our goal is provide safe spaces for reading and encourage children and young peopl... more

October 29, 2013

Since 2006 SASEF has definitely been transforming the way I feel about the world around me as a volunteer. It has made me a stronger person and allowed me to explore new concepts and build long-lasting friendships. SASEF has taught me about so many different subjects, cultures and people.
I
have met so many inspirational people and learned so many life lessons that helped me to contribute more to my community.
Through the donation of books, televisions, dvd players and computers for the “International Reading Corners Project” in poor neighborhoods in Porto Alegre, in the south of Brazil, SASEF has given children and students the opportunity to explore so many different fields and opened new doors for their lives and futures.
Through projects, workshops and weekend trips SASEF has given a lot of children, teenagers and students a different view about the world and its possibilities to have a better chance in life and the opportunity to discover new things, like as new ideas and conceptions of who they want to be and how they want to go about achieving that and facing opportunities in obstacles.
Our projects have not only made them aware of their human potential, intellectual and social abilities but also indicated and revealed them a better idea of their future career path.

The new project “Stop Trafficking Children and Youth The V Sign”, a Universal Hand Sign was created specifically for children and youth. The V Sign equips children and youth with a real tool to self protect and possibly prevent their being stolen or trafficked. The V Sign can also used as an SOS alert for a child or youth who has been stolen or trafficked.

I am very grateful to SASEF for all those opportunities, indescribable feelings and extremely valuable experiences!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

Since 2006 I have been taking part in Shirley Ann Sullivan Educational Foundation projects in Porto Alegre, Brazil,

Our goal is provide safe spaces for reading and encourage children and young people to go further in their lives through education.
SASEFis giving children and youth a
chance to go to school, find a job and create a better future for themselves, their families, future generations and the global community.
We built around 3 libraries and one computer center, like at YACM-Vila Restinga Olímpica, at Vila Novo Chocolatão and at Vila Cruzeiro in Porto Alegre, Brazil and are developing youth employment workshops.

Being part on SASEF's projects makes me understand and respect all the cultural differences and opinions and fight prejudices. I do believe that only through education we can make a difference and put an end on poverty and social gap. Nowadays I do not imagine myself without taking part on SASEF's projects. I meet a lot of great people and have the chance to kwon new projects and take part in it.
To help more and more children in my country, Brazil, where the criminality is very intense and the number of drug addicts is extremely high is a big challenge, but I'm sure supporting and providing educationis the onlyt way to make a better world for children and youth. When I see children reading books for the first time in their lives In the libraries we arranged, I feel really happy and satisfied, because we can change their lives with books!!!

SASEF is a great nonprofit organization and is developing wonderful social projects around the globe. I'm happy to have the chance to make a difference in the world - maybe small, but really from the heart!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

Since 2006 I have been taking part in SASEF projects.
Our goal is provide safe spaces for reading and encourage children and young people to go further in their lives through education.
During all these years I’ve met a lot of great people, brave and clever children, what enable me change
experiences and respect the different opinions and cultures.
We built around 3 libraries and one small computer center, like at YACM-Vila Restinga Olímpica, at Vila Novo Chocolatão and at Vila Cruzeiro in Porto Alegre, Brazil.
Our friends and partners help us a lot, donating books and part of their time. Team work is very important!
If we want to change the world and to give a chance to our children, we have to support and to provide education, and one of the most important tool is a book.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When we visit the reading spaces and teachers, helpers and the children realte us about their efforts and success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest more meetings whith the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

telling us more about the projects in progress.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met a lot of great people. Knew different oppinions and culrures.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

We have to help our children and that we have to share our experiences due to a better world. It's a great and incredible experience!

September 27, 2011

In 2006 I was invited to take part on Goethe Institut's World Cup blog writing about culture and soccer in my country, Brazil. So I got to know SASEF's projects. Since then, I did decide to take part on this NGO.
My activity as a volunteer has several facets: I try to raise awareness among
people to get involved in social projects. Being part on SASEF's projects makes me understand and respect all the cultural differences. I do believe that only through education we can make a difference and put an end on poverty and social gap. Nowadays I do not imagine myself without taking part on SASEF's projects.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in the librarys we arranged we can see children reading books for the first time in their lives. That's wonderfull and I feel happy, because we can change their lives with a simple book!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to spread our projects in more poor neighbourhoods in our city and try to have more volunteers, if in Brazil things weren't so complicated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I'm happy to have the chance to make a difference in the world through SASEF and its projects.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Being part on SASEF's projects makes me understand and respect all the cultural differences. I have been meeting a lot of great people. I have the chance to kwon new projects and people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Since 2006 I realized better then ever that we have an important function in life and that we have to help more and more children in our country, where the criminality is very intense and the number of drug addicts is extremely high.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I am a firsthand benefactor of some of the many wonderful things SASEF is doing around the world. Coming from Liberia, one of the poorest countries in the world, I am today living my life long dream of having a better education in the United States because of SAEF. SAEF is an organization of wonderful and amazing people whose only objectives are helping others and I am proud and honored to be part of the SAEF family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any change to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2010

I started at SASEF helping a little bit to connect his nonprofit to other NGOs in my hometown. The work developed by SASEF was so prefessional and seirous that I decided to help it more and more.When ... more

October 29, 2013

I have always wanted to work as a volunteer, but until I join SASEF, I couldn´t find a NGO in which I could really help children and be part of a such life changing experiences! With the International Reading Corners Project, we saw children from very disavantaged districts have their first contact with books and movies, feeling more loved, working them on their self-steem and how they deserve the best in life.
SASEF helped so many children in my hometown, doing a remarkable work in Porto Alegre. In addition to the International Reading Corner, SASEF helped also teenagers to find their first job as trainees.
The SASEF Family is all over the world, and we are always in touch with each other and we exchange lots and lots of experiences which also helps us doing t better work on site.

Due to all this, I truly believe SASEF is a great non profit organization and has been doing a wonderful job!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2010

I started at SASEF helping a little bit to connect his nonprofit to other NGOs in my hometown. The work developed by SASEF was so prefessional and seirous that I decided to help it more and more.When we wrote together the Library Project and brought partners like Germany Consulate, UNESCO and YMCA I felt really happy. But the greatest moment was to see the 1st library opened, with over 500 books, DVDs, toys and love:the children reading and getting excited with the books was breathtaking to me. Until today I remember the look on their faces. Now we are building another one and I think the feeling will be the same. One of the more inspirational moment we had these past days was the news that one of our boys was hired in a great Hotel:his first job and we are part of this for we helped him with workshops and curriculum. Working for SASEF has been quite a journey: the love we feel for avery single member and volunteer are very strong, although we do not know each other in person, but we know by heart. I truly belive in SASEF's mission to erradicate poverty, one child at a time.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

when we developed and built the library project: The International Reading Corners -Safe spaces to discover the world and when we had the First Job Workshop at MIllenium Flat Hotel.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the fact that we can do small things and still make a difference in someone's life!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very committed and happy for doing a work with love and care.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Open more libraries, pay an English teacher to Brazilians' children and youth, help theyoung people to find a job and fighting against drugs.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I found myself lost about what course to take in my life, until I met SASEF and the wonderful work they do. making the world a better place helping people around the world. they have the dedication to good causes. certainly, I feel proud and happy with the work of SASEF!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would make no change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Sasef has been of a great help to our social center. Through the donation of computers, TV and books they have strengthened the centers' library and supported the creation of a media center and computers room for the teenagersn from Vila Cruzeiro, a poor neighborhood in the south area of Brazil. These equipments enable our work to empower youth at risk through after school courses and activities fundamented in authorship, communication and collaboration.
We are happy that SASEF had the vision to support such initiative that we consider of extreme importance for youth at risck.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Work in our library, tutor children with homework, pick up and deliver donated materials. Help facilitate our youth employment workshops. Mentor a young person into a job. Volunteer