Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
July 8, 2012

more

July 8, 2012

I've been volunteering with Shining Hope in different capacities for the past three years and have completely loved it. I got involved in college after having studied abroad in Kenya and was deeply impressed by the level of impact, accountability, and overall message of the organization. Six months ago, I came to Kenya to volunteer on the ground. I have been impressed and inspired by the local staff who have such zeal for life and a love and commitment for the job. And of course, the girls at the Kibera School for Girls are completely wonderful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for Shining hope for Communities in the Spring of 2012 as an intern in their New York office. I entered the position with the belief that I would be working for just another US based non-profit that was doing meaningful work somewhere in the world. I was sorely mistaken. The Shining Hope for Communities staff are a very committed bunch of individuals, dedicating every fasset of their life to improving projects and instilling change in Kibera. Since day one I have been not only impressed by the work and success of the entire organization but also become absorbed by the positive attitude and drive shared by everyone involved. I'm ecstatic to be a part of the movement and I consider myself lucky to have found them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first got involved with Shining Hope during my first year of college. Overwhelmed by the amount of clubs and organizations that were available to me, I knew I had to spend my time involving myself with groups I really felt passionate about and felt that I could really contribute to, as well as get a lot out of myself. As someone interested in education, gender equality and non-profit work, Shining Hope fit all of those criteria and more! At school, I helped start up my school's own SHOFCO Chapter, and have served as secretary since it's beginning. Currently, I am interning at their New York office and loving it. It's amazing to see the progress Shining Hope has made and continues to make and the life changing work that's being done in Kibera. Everyone involved is so passionate and kind, which makes it a great environment to be part of. It's particularly exciting as a college student, because regardless of if I'm fundraising at school, helping to put together an event, or organizing in the office, I can directly see how my time and effort is being reflected in the work Shining Hope is doing and can tell I'm making a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my school's chapter and my summer internship! Both have shown me many different aspects of being part of a non-profit and the various ways to run a successful organization and really make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the model elsewhere!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It had and continues to have many effects. Along with making many new friends and meeting mentors, I have learned how to be an effective advocate for change, about issues surrounding education, gender equality and public health, and the inner workings of how to run a non-profit.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

In the simplest terms, it has made me feel good. Good about myself, and good about others. It has also made me feel powerful and proud.

November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Shining Hope on a pretty consistent basis for the past six months or so, starting with a trip to Kenya for the organization's Summer Institute. My month in Kibera was one of the most challenging periods of my life, but I wouldn't trade it for anything. Along with 12 other college students, I worked basically as a camp counselor for the incredible students at the Kibera School for Girls. The students at KSG radiate energy and excitement, and make every day a great one. I'll never forget watching Pre-K student Elizabeth read the word "strawberry" - she struggled to sound it out at first, but got the hang of it in almost no time. It seems like a small thing, but for this 5 year old girl learning to read, it made her day - and mine too! It was difficult to adjust to living in Kenya, but Shining Hope's staff was incredibly supportive through anything and really helped make my experience incredible. The work they do is consistently inspiring and remarkable, and I support it wholeheartedly.

Photos

Videos

Girls and Women: The Engines of Social Change

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Shining Hope's staff and volunteers are all incredible people making a real difference for the people of Kibera. They've also been incredibly supportive to me in my volunteer work, including helping me start a student chapter at my college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger! I can't wait to see Shining Hope grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers