Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.785715
Write A Review
September 13, 2012

more

September 13, 2012

I was fascinated with this project from the time it was taking shape, and was lucky enough to be a volunteer in its first stages. The people involved came together from very different backgrounds and their process of collaboration was incredible to watch. They had to create a language with which to teach dance to people who could not see to replicate a move. And they DID IT! As remarkable and exhilarating as that process was, when the instructors hit the dance floor with the kids, we were not prepared for how transformative an experience it would be for all involved: directors, instructors, and volunteers. We could see immediately how much the kids needed it and how well they responded. I've watched young men and women grow up within this organization -- not only the blind and visually impaired kids, but the volunteer high school students whose lives have also changed for the better. The organization continues to make a difference because it's always all heart, all about the kids, and because so much thought and care goes into each project they embark on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The work being done by the Shimmy Club provides opportunity to open the doors of inclusion for those with disability. And to share in the universal experience of music, dance, and the performing arts. One of the greatest challenges for a person with disability is overcoming stigma. Stigma is a superimposed perception that stems from a lack of knowledge or understanding of potential.

I happen to be blind and I can attest that stigma can cripple self-confidence, separate, cause isolation, stilt creativity, and can divide.

I am also a dancer, a musician, and an artist, and really understand the importance of the work being done at the Shimmy Club to help others find their way into a world that is hesitant to embrace those who might contend with disability. We all deserve to dance with confidence and self-respect to the music of our lives without fear or encumbered by shame.

As a Board Member, I cried at home the day I learned that despite blindness or disability, the Shimmy students would be making their debut by stepping out onto the dance floor to join in with the dance community. My belief that it is possible to melt away the pain of separation was about to be put to the test.

The evening was wonderful, magic, and it worked. Everyone was amazed. Now the Shimmy Club torch needs to be passed along so that others who may have to contend with disability can learn to stand up to the challenge of inclusion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I was truly amazed the first time i head that visually impaired children were being taught Argentine Tango. i am a social tango dance and so I was immediately touched to find out someone cared enough to bring to these children the wonderful music, the touching of the embrace, and the joy of the dance. The organizers, teachers and volunteers have opened up a new world for the children that never would have happened. I watched with tears in my eyes as the children performed Argentine Tango with much happiness and joy at a benefit held for them. What a spectacular sight to see. Bravo to them for their courage and to the organizer, Dianne Castro the many tango teachers and volunteers who bring light to the life of the visually impaired.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

The kids in the shimmy club touched me the first time we danced at a social tango club. I was nervous dancing on a *good* day until I realized the challenges these remarkable individuals face. I'm not visually impaired but I realized I was the ninny when my partner jumped right in on the dance floor like a duck takes to water. Such bravery. Their fearless leader, Dianne, is equally impressive and is 110%dedicated to the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

Any organization whose goal and objective consist of helping the youth is, in my humble opinion, worthy of our support. The Shimmy Club has been, for several years, an indispensable resource for blind children. Throughout the years I witnessed firsthand the amazing transformation of youngsters who are admitted into the program being extremely withdrawn, to say the least, and who in less than a few months are on stage performing. Shimmy Club deserves everyone support…

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

The Shimmy Club has so enhanced the lives of the children. I have witnessed blind childern who at first sat in a chair and had no or very little interaction, turn into completely outgoing self suficient people, it touched my heart like nothing else.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

The Shimmy Club is an unusual organization that brings joy and a venue for self expression and improved self-esteem to an under-served population. As a volunteer helping with the PR, it's been a pleasure to learn more about the Shimmy Club's mission, as well as to witness the dedication that its supporters provide. Dianne Castro is extremely committed to intelligently guiding the organization's growth and keeping information on the website accessible to its primary audience, the visually impaired. As a dancer in the tango community, I've also witnessed first-hand the pleasure the students get in joining in a milonga or performing. This organization has been supported unflaggingly by the local South Florida tango community and some devoted tango professionals who lend their skills. It's my hope that it gains well deserved national recognition.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Dancing with the students, seeing the results of performances & fundraising.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have operations, funding, etc. explained to supporters, as well as the time that is involved in organizing events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned much more about the organization, the needs of the visually impaired, and the founder, Dianne Castro's remarkable skillsets and professionalism. I also gained additional PR experience and contacts.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Confident in the abilities of fellow volunteers, appreciation of the difficulties of learning this art form by the visually impaired, and thankful for the generosity of fellow tango community members.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist all-abilities kids during program classes/performances, administratively support all arts program planning and implementation, help develop and maintain social network, assist in grant writing and all fundraising events and campaigns. Volunteer