Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.785715
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

As a live withness, I can tell about how amazing are the involvement, the management and the results achieved by the Shimmy Club on young impaired children. Donation to this organization is a real investment in the society improvement!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

The Shimmy Club has so enhanced the lives of the children. I have witnessed blind childern who at first sat in a chair and had no or very little interaction, turn into completely outgoing self suficient people, it touched my heart like nothing else.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

This a very special program that aids kids with disabilities evolve there artistic and technical skills as dancers. It also helps develop there social and cultural awareness. I have seen kids who come in on there first day, shy with poor posture, blossom into free moving sculptures. The progress these kids make is so touching. This is truly a very important project!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

The Shimmy Club is an unusual organization that brings joy and a venue for self expression and improved self-esteem to an under-served population. As a volunteer helping with the PR, it's been a pleasure to learn more about the Shimmy Club's mission, as well as to witness the dedication that its supporters provide. Dianne Castro is extremely committed to intelligently guiding the organization's growth and keeping information on the website accessible to its primary audience, the visually impaired. As a dancer in the tango community, I've also witnessed first-hand the pleasure the students get in joining in a milonga or performing. This organization has been supported unflaggingly by the local South Florida tango community and some devoted tango professionals who lend their skills. It's my hope that it gains well deserved national recognition.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Dancing with the students, seeing the results of performances & fundraising.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have operations, funding, etc. explained to supporters, as well as the time that is involved in organizing events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned much more about the organization, the needs of the visually impaired, and the founder, Dianne Castro's remarkable skillsets and professionalism. I also gained additional PR experience and contacts.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Confident in the abilities of fellow volunteers, appreciation of the difficulties of learning this art form by the visually impaired, and thankful for the generosity of fellow tango community members.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist all-abilities kids during program classes/performances, administratively support all arts program planning and implementation, help develop and maintain social network, assist in grant writing and all fundraising events and campaigns. Volunteer