Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I have had the great pleasure and honor to get to know Ruedi & Sandy as a volunteer to help in a variety of ways. These are people that truly love The Lord and are called to serve in this ministry. They have a calling to serve those that serve the congregations, mission fields and all of us. Anyone that is blessed enough to get the opportunity to spend time at Sheperd's Refuge will come away renewed, uplifted by Ruedi & Sandy's love and caring, and refreshed after spending time in this beautiful mountain setting.
It has been and hopefully will continue to be a blessing to help with this amazing ministry. As we all know our Pastor and Christian leaders are under attack and have one of the highest burn out rates of any profession. Therefore, Ministries like Shepherd's Refuge are critical for the well being of those in leadership roles.
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

Hello Folks,
We are Jimmie and Hattie Booker of the "Servants of Jesus Christ Ministries here in Georgia. We have had the privilege of staying at the Shepherds Refuges. We were treated with the utmost kindness and love. They served us like kings and priest in the kingdom. The times of
refreshing were outstanding. We were cared for. We will always remember those famous, homemade, healthy blueberry pancakes. Yum!They truly love the people in God's kingdom. They want to help all to be refreshed and keep on tract with God's plans for your lives. They clearly understand that there are times when those that are always on the front line need a time to come away and get rejuvenated in the spiritual realm.

We really love and appreciate this over and about giving couple.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at this time. They are on tract with God and they knows how to do the gift of hospitality.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Shepherds' Refuge in June 2014, during a sabbatical. It was a great place to get away from the daily pressures and stresses of ministry. Having served in vocational ministry for 43 years, it was particularly valuable to have a place like this available to go to for quiet meditation, prayer, Bible study, and just reflecting on God's goodness to us.

Ruedi and Sandy were such gracious and understanding hosts, and the Selah cabin was an absolute delight! The accommodations were first class; there was no tv, phone or internet for distraction; they had literally hundreds of good books to offer, and it was just a great week for us to get away.

We recommend Shepherds Refuge to anyone and everyone in the ministry.

Ron and Sylvia Phillips

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

My husband is the pastor of a small church in Northwest Florida. We have been to the Shepherds Refuge two time and both time has been VERY RELAXING. The last time we were there Ruedi and Sandy had to be away because of a family emergency. We were still greeted and taken care of the whole time. This has been such a blessing to us!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more cabins so that many more could receive the blessings that we have.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

My wife and i have truly been blessed for this ministry. We have been missionaries for 18 years and in addition we have cared for our aging parents for the past 13 years. Together these activities make for so very long and stressful days. When we found out about Shepherds Refuge we were overjoyed. Ruedi and Sandy have become friends, not just hosts. We have returned home refreshed and renewed from both of our visits (once in the Upper Room and once in the Selah Cabin). God's grace shines through in all that they do for their "guests." We value this ministry and have become donors as well as being counted among hte "clients served" so faithfully.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Additional help for Ruedi and Sandy so that they will be able to open another cabin in the fuutre and get away for a break at times (they need a rest, as well)!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

My husband is a bi-vocational pastor of a small rural church in South Georgia. We have been on the field for over 24 years at this church. He has recently retired from a full time position with a state university and farms 100+ acres of cotton and peanuts. Our life is pretty hectic and last March we were in need of some time to rest and time alone with God. We found what we needed at Shepherd's Refuge. What a wonderful place! Our hosts were very gracious and gave us plenty of opportunity to seek God's will for our lives. They were there for us if we needed to talk, or just enjoy a meal together. Shepherd's Refuge is a great place for pastor's and their wife to get away from the world and find peace.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more cabins so more pastor's can be served.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

My husband is a pastor and Shepherd's Refuge was a very relaxing, spirit-filled time for us. Our hosts were gracious and service outstanding. We stayed in the main lodge with Ruedi and Sandy couldn't have asked for better company. Beautiful mountain experience. Highly recommend Shepherds Refuge for anyone looking for spiritual renewal..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

As a Pastor burn out is a place everyone has a danger of getting to. The refuge is a place that lets you unpack your stress and recharge your batteries before that happens. Beautiful setting, phenomenal hosts and time to reflect and unwind. All ministers need this great ministry!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them unlimited funding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

My husband and I were in the process of starting a similar ministry in New Hampshire when we visited Shepherd's Refuge. Ruedi and Sandy had just come back from a 3 day conference, but made room for us, fed us, shared their time and expertise with us and generally made us feel encouraged and cared for. Their house (the Lodge) is in an amazing place on top of a mountain and surrounded by forest. The view from their deck was outstanding. We enjoyed Sandy's wonderful meals and a tour of the grounds including their new cabin which is absolutely beautiful. If you're looking for a beautiful place to get away, get renewed and refreshed and generally enjoy fellowshipping with wonderful people, make every effort to spend some time at Shepherd's Refuge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it to New England!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

Don't miss this place! WOW! Do you need a place to relax...to get away from the pressure of the office? Then SHEPHERD'S REFUGE is the place to go! Nestled in the North Georgia Mountain, this place is absolutely perfect! Hosted by Sandy and Ruedi Mettler, you will be treated as "royalty!" My wife and I were there only a few weeks ago! What a week! And, you don't want to miss Sandy's cooking! I told her that I would drive from Atlanta just to experience her meal! Every minister needs time away from the office. Refusing to take vacation days will, one day, prove disastrous on you and your ministry. IF you are looking for a quite place to relax and simply allow God to speak to you, then, I would recommend SHEPHERD'S REFUGE without any hesitation! Connie and I will be going back! Thank you to the donors who provides days away for pastors/staff simply to get "away from it all!" Book your reservation today! Thank you, Sandy and Reudi! What a blessing you both are to Connie and me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE! IT's perfect just like it is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers