Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

As an expat from California now living as a permanent resident in Jalsico, Mexico I learned of the HOPE HOUSE at my church. This state authorized refuge for abused boys aged 6-18 was founded in 2008 under the name Casa Hogar Una Esperanza en el Corazon, A.C. It is a community outreach of Shepherd's Heart Ministries, Inc in Jonesborough, TN USA. The tax deductible donations for HOPE HOUSE goes through Shepherd's Heart, and with each donation, the donor receives an email as their receipt. HOPE HOUSE is able to keep the wood shop staffed while the boys learn a vocation due to donations received through Shepherd's Heart Ministries, Inc. I thank God for all the generous donors that help give these boys HOPE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

I began by building various shelves and cabinets to help the boys keep organized. Shortly after, the Rotary Club of Ajijic and Langley, BC, donated funds to purchase high-end carpentry power tools. This resulted in me becoming the director of the workshop, a volunteer position. The workshop now fulfills two objectives, train the boys in carpentry skills and build projects to help offset operational expenses in Hope House. Now I have extended my responsibilities to plan for future projects, such as the aquaponics system and transition house. This heavy involvement have earned me a place on the Hope House board of directors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Every aspect of its operation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase fund raising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There is a tremendous need to change the lives of boys like those in Hope House. Having more funds available to meet the needs to change the boys lives and giving them hope for a better life.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Vastly improved my carpentry skills, exposure to a wide range of people who also want to give back.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Blessed beyond belief

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I worked in the carpenter shop at Hope House and helped with maintenance around the grounds. I think literacy is the key.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2011

more

November 10, 2011

Every time our family visits Shepherd Heart's Hope House in Mexico we are more blown away at the impact this organization is having in the lives of these boys. To hear their stories and to see them now, they are truly new men! One boy who's life was on the streets at 5 years old, eatng out of garbage cans and unable to speak is now a smiling 11 year old who has learned to read, write and even speak some english. Another boy who spent most of his life in homes choose to leave as a teenager. It was a year later he showed back up at the door hungry, dirty and tired. He asked for forgiveness and for the chance at a life again. He is now entering high school with plans of graduating. These are just 2 of the amazing stories we have witnessed.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

spending time here on a daily basis. Seeing the ins and out of the home and how it is run on any average day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love for more funding to come in so this great home can be able to expand and house more boys. As one of the only homes in Mexico to care for teenage boys, I think it is a desperate need for the country to help build a new generation of Godly men.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers