Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

I started my journey with Shelter Inc., as a volunteer about 5 years ago. I was looking for an opportunity to help kids at my church connect with the community in a meaningful and practical way. After a couple of years volunteering, I was so impressed with the organization that I decided to join the fundraising team "Hike for Shelter" to raise awareness and funds. In 2011, I was asked to serve on the Board of Directors - I continue to be amazed at the level of commitment from the staff and all the fantastic work this organization is doing in Contra Costa County. It's a hidden gem!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

Do yourself a favor--visit Shelter, Inc. All of my volunteer time has been a valuable learning experience and I have never failed to come away feeling as though I was receiving a gift--not giving one. The brilliant staff and fellow vounteers make volunteering fun and incredibly rewarding. There's a huge variety of things you can do as a volunteer and no better way that I can think of to help the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I am a fairly new volunteer at Shelter, Inc. and was immediately made to feel that I am making a valuable contribution to the mission, no matter what job I do. Every staff person at Shelter, Inc. is so appreciative of every volunteer's efforts in a way I have not before experienced. If you are searching for a way to give to our community in a meaningful way, whether as an individual, a group, a family, Shelter, Inc. is a deserving organization and you will know you have made an important difference in the lives of families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2011

more

November 13, 2011

I've been volunteering with Shelter, Inc for almost 10 years now. It started when my co-workers decided to adopt a family in need for Christmas in lieu of our usual gift exchange. One of our company supervisors knew an employee of Shelter, Inc and we "adopted" our first family. A couple years later, when the supervisor left the company, I took over as the "adoption" co-ordinator for our office. I soon found out about some of the other volunteer opportunities at the holidays, such as putting together Thanksgiving food boxes for the families and assisting with the drop off of the Christmas presents for the adopted clients. The excitement of the other volunteers and donors along with the dedication of the staff got me hooked. I now volunteer 3 days a week after work at the main offices and throughout the year at various fundraisers. I am also a donor to the organization as I've seen the care with which they manage their funds. I do wish they could get more exposure in the media, particularly on television and radio. With the economic reality that most people are only a few paychecks away from homelessness, my hope is that Shelter, Inc will become a household name in the area.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have only had direct contact with clients on a couple of occasions at the emergency shelter and the Lyle Morris center and I've spoken to a couple of "graduates" of the program. All seemed very grateful for the assistance they received and were determined to continue on a positive path. They gave strong endorsements of the programs and positive reviews of the staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see them do more outreach to the business community to try to build awareness of their mission and their needs. Much of their communications go to existing individual donors and I believe there needs to be as much focus on bringing in donations from larger entities.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Facilitate an event for homeless children, such as an art & craft activity, holiday party or trip to a museum. Volunteer