Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.851855
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been a volunteer at the Delonis Center for about 5 years now and have worked at the Service Center desk, the Medical Clinic, and the Front Desk, as well as serving on a Task Force to increase the number of churches to participate in our Rotating Shelter. I am currently taking on various tasks to help the Medical Case Managers and staff provide the best medical care possible for our clients. I absolutely love my time at the Center. I have always felt comfortable there, and staff has always taught me what I needed to know and I have been trusted to act as independently as possible, which makes the work there especially satisfying.
Working in a shelter is complicated business for case managers who have to weave a path through mental and physical health issues, addiction, abuse, and lots of bureaucratic red tape. As volunteers, we provide support to the staff and clients, whether it be completing a specific task or, more often than not, just being there to listen and care.
The clients at the shelter come from many backgrounds and experiences and needs. However, I have always found that people are just people...we all have the same basic needs...possibly the most important and simplest needs are to be RESPECTED and to be TREATED WITH DIGNITY. As volunteers, I feel that is OUR most important job.

I became involved at the Delonis Center through our church, First Congregational Church of Ann Arbor. For many years we have participated in the Rotating Shelter program that is run by the Shelter. I signed up to stay up one night in December at the church to chaperone and after that night I knew I had to volunteer at the shelter. I was hooked. The clients were polite, appreciative individuals who were great to talk with and share life stories and insights. After that night, I knew I wanted to serve this population in a more extensive manner and that is how I became involved at this shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Shelter Association of Washtenaw County is a great place to work and the staff are great :). This program provides services for individual adults to improve their life and get back on their feet. I enjoy being an advocate for a vulnerable population and addressing crisis situations. Overall, my experience has been very rewarding.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

As a Volunteer for the Shelter Association of Wastenaw County, I had the honor of working with Staff who showed great care and took a well rounded approach to assisting clients who came through the doors. Offering opportunities that our state has neglected after years of cutting financial aid, and psychological help to those suffering from disabilities and mental illnesses. Even those who have fallen on hard times due to the financial struggles we've faced here in Michigan.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

The shelter is one of a kind. The program provides various opportunities for individual adults to get back on their feet by addressing various barriers. There is a free medical clinic, case management for residents and non-residents, job club for those seeking employment, free laundry, storage, and meals, and showers to name a few. The center also collaborates with other community outreach programs including the Veteran's Administration, Department of Human Services, Catholic Social Services, Community Support and Treatment Services, and with providers who offer legal consultation. Also, the warming center provides emergency shelter to hundreds of people a night November into April. Not only is the shelter a place for people to stay, it is a center to improve quality of life by overcoming barriers with the services provided.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

SAWC is by far one of the best places that I have ever had the pleasure to work with. The staff at the shelter is incredible. It just feels like a big family working there. My placement was in the clinic, and it was amazing how the clients were cared for holistically. Their medical needs were met and exceeded, but the clinicians consistently take it a step further and help the patient focus on their life goals. They do not simply treat the clients, but aid the patient in changing their habits, addictions, diets, and much much more. Never have I ever volunteered with such an amazing group of individuals. I feel like I am truly making a difference by being here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

My volunteer opportunity at SAWC was inspired by the way the Shelter takes care of it clients and i am delighted to be associated with that great organisation. i will still volunteer my time anytime i come to Ann arbor again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I entered the shelter first as a volunteer then later as an intern. The staff were very nice and guided me in both my positions with patience. They were also very patient with the clients served there. Clients' goals are the top priority of the SAWC. They are making real strides to end homelessness one person at a time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to encompass the whole state of Michigan... Every shelter could learn something from SAWC!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

The shelter association of Washtenaw County is one of the best non-profits I've volunteered at. The staff at the shelter are very helpful, warming, and they treat all their clients with the utmost respect. I truly believe everyone involved at the shelter are focused on working towards helping each and every one of their clients to find stabilized and affordable housing. It's a blessing to know that there are still organizations like SAWC around who are running effectively and working towards ending homelessness. I love volunteering at this place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

This was by far the best organized facility I have volunteered at. I also appreciated that I could volunteer as many hours as I wanted/ needed. Many facilities require a certain number of hours that is hard to fulfill as a student. I also found the orientation very helpful for not only this experience but others as well. Many places did not have any type of orientation and it was very confusing as to what my job as a volunteer was. I greatly appreciated the set boundaries and expectations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

The shelter association of Washtenaw County provides top-notch service to its clients. They take into account the personal struggles that each client is faced with, and handles them in a compassionate and confidential manner.

I have volunteered on multiple occasions, in various areas of
the shelter, and have found the staff to be wonderfully committed to truly making a difference in these peoples lives. working with them as a volunteer has always been a positive experience and provides a shining example of their level of compassion and understanding.

I am also a member of a local church that works with the Delonis Center, and it's truly an honor and a pleasure to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a drive to collect and deliver items on our wish list. Currently the shelter is most in need of hats, gloves, socks, blankets, handwarmers and towels. Our full wish list can be viewed on our website.