Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 23, 2010

IN this economy organizations like the Shelter Association are stepping up to help more of our fellow community members than they have resources to. With more people in need places like the Shelter As... more

September 30, 2014

The Shelter Association utilizes a wonderful staff, strong leadership, and dedicated Board of Directors to end homelessness in the Washtenaw community for hundreds every year!
November 23, 2010

IN this economy organizations like the Shelter Association are stepping up to help more of our fellow community members than they have resources to. With more people in need places like the Shelter Association are in higher demand to help people who are running out of options.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personally seeing those I care for lose employement, benefits and options.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

(none)

September 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2010

The Shelter Assocation has been an important part of the Washtenaw Community for over 26 years. I am impressed with their mission "ending homelessness one person at a time." I have been espeicall... more

September 29, 2014

The Shelter Association has been doing great work in our community for over 30 years. It has the mission of "ending homelessness one person at a time". They are effective in doing this having housed over 200 individuals last year.

The staff members are dedicated professionals. The
Board members are committed to keeping the organization one of the best in Washtenaw County.

We are lucky to have them in our community.
November 22, 2010

The Shelter Assocation has been an important part of the Washtenaw Community for over 26 years. I am impressed with their mission "ending homelessness one person at a time." I have been espeically impressed with the staff who work day to day with those who have lost jobs and homes to help get them back on thier feet.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

yes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The help this organization really needs is to have acess to more affordable housing in Washtenaw County.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2010

The Shelter Association of Washtenwaw County makes our community a better place. This non profit reaches out to homeless men and women in order to help them secure housing, find employment, receive m... more

September 18, 2014

It is every communities responsibility to provide help for the homeless. The Shelter Association of Washtenaw County has provided this help and is an example of how many caring people coming together to support those in need can accomplish so much. The leadership, staff and community can all be proud of the work done at the Delonis Center.
November 29, 2010

The Shelter Association of Washtenwaw County makes our community a better place. This non profit reaches out to homeless men and women in order to help them secure housing, find employment, receive medical help and so much more. I am proud to be a Board member and be part of the solution of giving guidance and care to those who need it. The staff are expert at what they do and our many volunteers allow us to provide additional support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting feedback from family members, clients who have been helped and staff feedback.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see a more permanent source of funding.

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

This organization is remarkable, with a mission of "ending homelessness one person at a time" the staff provide services, employment assistance, substance abuse, housing for Vets, & case managers that teach life skills so once a client is housed they are successful. The staff are smart, thoughtful and passionate about the clients they serve.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

The Shelter Association of Washtenaw County is dedicated to ending homelessness. They do it every day and house one person every 2 days.

They also work with other community service providers to impact public and community policy and procedures to improve the system of care. In this
way they contribute to ending homelessness in our community.

The staff members are dedicated and work tirelessly to find solutions for the people they work with. If there is a solution, they will find it.



September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I worked with others to found the first shelter in Ann Arbor, called Arbor Haven. So I have been watching the problem of homelessness for many years. I am grateful for the efforts of so many people to create the Delonis Shelter and to keep it going. It has expanded its services to meet the growing need. The recent brutal winter was a crisis for homeless people, and Delonis is again stepping up its services in response. I am relieved to know that there will be a warm place for homeless people to sleep when winter comes again.
What is still needed is a warming center open during the day. This is not necessarily a mission for Delonis, which is doing so much already. Bill Martin used to furnish a space on Ashley Street, but that building no longer exists. Somewhere, somehow, our community must find a way to meet this need.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

The Shelter Association of Washtenaw County is a national, regional and community leader in the art of collaboration within a community to provide services to the most vulnerable citizens. I am in awe of the work and passion of its staff, and the great way they are able to provide services in a safe, and respectful manner.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

For 6 years I have worked with the Shelter Assoc. as a co-ordinator for one week of their Rotating SHelter program. This winter relief program, requires SHelter Assoc. staff to work with about 25 congregations to be able to provide overnight housing for 25 homeless men. The staff is marvelous. Easy to work with and very caring. This is a fabulous and unfortunatelly necessary service to our community. I"m proud to work with these committed people. They all deserve high praise. Miriam
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been a volunteer at the Delonis Center for about 5 years now and have worked at the Service Center desk, the Medical Clinic, and the Front Desk, as well as serving on a Task Force to increase the number of churches to participate in our Rotating Shelter. I am currently taking on various tasks to help the Medical Case Managers and staff provide the best medical care possible for our clients. I absolutely love my time at the Center. I have always felt comfortable there, and staff has always taught me what I needed to know and I have been trusted to act as independently as possible, which makes the work there especially satisfying.
Working in a shelter is complicated business for case managers who have to weave a path through mental and physical health issues, addiction, abuse, and lots of bureaucratic red tape. As volunteers, we provide support to the staff and clients, whether it be completing a specific task or, more often than not, just being there to listen and care.
The clients at the shelter come from many backgrounds and experiences and needs. However, I have always found that people are just people...we all have the same basic needs...possibly the most important and simplest needs are to be RESPECTED and to be TREATED WITH DIGNITY. As volunteers, I feel that is OUR most important job.

I became involved at the Delonis Center through our church, First Congregational Church of Ann Arbor. For many years we have participated in the Rotating Shelter program that is run by the Shelter. I signed up to stay up one night in December at the church to chaperone and after that night I knew I had to volunteer at the shelter. I was hooked. The clients were polite, appreciative individuals who were great to talk with and share life stories and insights. After that night, I knew I wanted to serve this population in a more extensive manner and that is how I became involved at this shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Shelter Association of Washtenaw County is a great place to work and the staff are great :). This program provides services for individual adults to improve their life and get back on their feet. I enjoy being an advocate for a vulnerable population and addressing crisis situations. Overall, my experience has been very rewarding.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a drive to collect and deliver items on our wish list. Currently the shelter is most in need of hats, gloves, socks, blankets, handwarmers and towels. Our full wish list can be viewed on our website.