Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
123.6666745
Write A Review
June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mr. Jackson (strawfly)

You wrote, among other misinformation; "There is definitely a "Founders Syndrome" going on here and the perpetual committee rubber stamp all of this rather unstable individuals wild accusations and rants."

Apparently you believe it is lawful to publicly
make statements like the one above (a mixture of lies, ignorance and personal attacks) . Calling me unstable is defamation in its clearest form.

For your information, Mr. Jackson, it is the Forest Service who requires a small committee from within our club to issue the use permit to. As with most everything at the site, we are complying with the requirements and operational strategies of the Forest Service. If you don't like that, take it up with the FS. Oh, that's right, you have. Sorry you didn't like their response to you.

Both in 2010 and 2012 we've done work requested by the club you belong to. Our contact info is available to anyone who visits the Rim website. We've met and exceeded the terms and conditions of the Special Use Permit year after year since 1996. This is why the Forest Service ignores your repeated attempts to tarnish our good name. BTW, there is nothing in the use permit that requires us to respond you or anyone else. We choose do so because we are responsive to the flying community needs and keep an open mind to all suggestions - we've never ignored a single request and you have the gall to call that a dictatorship?!?!

Your negativity and personal hatred towards us is clear. Following us around just to defame us is likewise very clear and pathetic. It's a bit disturbing that someone like yourself has nothing better to do than cast aspersion on those who have worked for decades to provide the flying community a place to fly.

A small fraction of what we've done as volunteers at the Rim can be seen here; http://www.hatcreek.info/SiteImprovements.htm. Where would readers go to see all the "work" you claim to have done since 1986?

Remember, contributions are made every year by those who do appreciate what they find at the site. That's the type of feedback that keeps us dedicated to Hat Creek Rim.

Hat Creek Rim is an all volunteer effort that has worked for decades - and continues to work today despite your best efforts to undermine it. You can see donation made to the site here; http://www.hatcreek.info/FundraisingChart.htm

I'm done dealing with your nonsense. Time for you to go play with yourself...

Phil

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. I'm proud to belong to a group that has shown, decade after decade, the commitment and hard work to make Hat Creek Rim the site it is today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

Mr. Jackson,


Sounds like you have a regular cult following, or so you say. Just like your other claims, you have nothing to substantiate them. May I suggest you get a life and leave those who work for the benefit of others to do their work without your continued harassment?


Brian

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't really see much room for improvement. Great group of volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 22, 2011

This non profit is run like a dictatorship. The club maintains their power by having bylaws written in 2004 that maintain their "committee" indefinitely. Four people (with perpetual votes) push their... more

June 2, 2013

Mr Sergent (Big Bird)

You are very quick to call me a liar about my review. You neglect to point out just what I am lying about. Could it be that this non profit is run "like a dictatorship" Is that untrue?
Is it the fact that around 200 free flight pilots have absolutely no
input at all in the spending of the non-profit money you collect. Is that a lie??
Defamation does have serious legal consequences and I believe you are calling me a "liar".
Would you care to enlighten me and other readers as to what I am"lying" about. You seem a little vague.
A favorable review written by the "founder" of this non profit (you) is of course very complimentary.
My experience and that of others is somewhat different. If you want to cal me a liar and threaten defamation legal consequences, please have the courtesy to enlighten me and any readers as to the ACTUAL lie/untruth that you are referring to.
As to your accusation that I am attempting to "defame your good name". I believe that you are doing a great job by yourself. I am simply pointing out some anomalies in this "non profit" group, and still hoping, that one day its handful of members, will come to their senses and run an all inclusive club, where all users, and people that donate their $ to you, have a say in the distribution of said funds, and some input into the running of this world class Hang Gliding and Paragliding site that is situated entirely on public Forest Service land.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Disband or Give a free vote to all users and let them have some input.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This non profit is run like a dictatorship. The club maintains their power by having bylaws written in 2004 that maintain their "committee" indefinitely. Four people (with perpetual votes) push their private agenda and wishes on over 200 free flight pilots.
The founder and the perpetual
committee have many times publicly ranted against other pilots and groups. There is definitely a "Founders Syndrome" going on here and the perpetual committee rubber stamp all of this rather unstable individuals wild accusations and rants.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The organization has through its unbalanced and off the wall rants on the internet completely left myself and many friends with a bad taste and no confidence in their words or actions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

DISBAND IT IMMEDIATELY

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

What is unique about this organization?

Run as a Dictatorship with no oversight for the people it affects

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 27, 2013

more

May 27, 2013

Mr. Jackson (strawfly),

Your attempts to defame our good name and deeds at Hat Creek are clear in your mendacious diatribe. Likewise, your ignorance is clear regarding the policies and operating strategies implemented by the Forest Service in 1996.

Our club and committee members
have volunteered their time and efforts at this site since 1975. None of us have ever stood shoulder to shoulder with you while the hard work it took to develop the site was being done. There is no record of your involvement or maintenance at the site; while there is a very clear record of those you would publicly defame here.

I suggest you curtail your public attacks on us or anyone else for that matter. Defamation has serious legal consequences and is something you should consider before you post more of your malicious lies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing - this group has worked for decades to provide a wonderful flying site near Lassen Park.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Shasta Sky Sailors have been actively developing Hat Creek Rim, a ridge and thermal soaring site in Northern California for paragliding and hang gliding, since we pioneered the site in the mid 1970's.
More information about flying at the site can be found at www.hatcreek.info.

Photos

Videos

Volunteers working at Hat Creek Rim

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The organization has made using Hat Creek Rim more convenient and safer thru their improvements to the launch area, adding a landing area and maintaining portable toilets at the main launch and landing area. The web site is very comprehensive and helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is focused on doing what is best for the longevity of the site and for the visitors who use the site. I wouldn't change a thing about this very dedicated organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

N/A

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned in many new skills since volunteering with this organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Helping at the site is very rewarding. The camaraderie shared with those who volunteer at the site is unique and gratifying.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers