Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
123.7545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

Sharing and Caring Hands in Minneapolis is a candle in the window for those in need. I have volunteered on and off for almost 15 years and it's doors are open to those in most need. There are few requirements to enter, no drugs, no alcohol and a prayer before eating it's that simple. Everything that you donate goes to those who need it most. I have been blessed to work with Mary Jo and her staff and look forward to the day when we won't need to feed the hungry, or clothe the poor or shelter the homeless (the shelter is actually at Mary's Place across the street for families). Until that day comes, Mary Jo and her team will keep a candle burning. God Bless
Johnny

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Do you want to recieve more then you give? This is the place to go! The staff and the organization that provides the many services to those that can not afford them,are just wonderful!! The spirit of cooperation amongst everyone is just uplifting!! Everyone pitches in for a common goal...to serve your brothers and sisters in need! Mary Jo is truly a leader! She sets the example by the way she lives her life. Every meal is started in action by Mary Jo delivering a message to eveyone, volunteers and those in need...all at once. Her message is inspirational and talks about a positive future for those who want it.
She is truly compassionate, giving individual. The world could use more people like this...giving instead of wanting!! It is a great experience. I encourage you to get involved, to truly know the blessings being delivered.
Hats off to the "Tuesday Crew" for their great committment and help every Tuesday since a long time ago!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The variety of services Mary jo provides people who come to Sharing and Caring hands is phenomenal. It is more than a meal, clothes, or a place to stay. She educates, feeds, clothes, and houses everyone that asks for help. She makes you feel like any size donation can and will make an important difference to her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I think Mary Jo Copeland the founder of Caring and Sharing Hands in Minneapolis Minnesota is trying to reach sainthood. Which I pray she will never even be thought of to get after the way she treated my sister and her 21 month old daughter.
My sister and her daughter had traveled all the wayto
Minnesota from Arizona for a funeral. On the way here they had gotten a flat which they were able to get the tire plugged so they could finish their trip here to Minneapolis. Well needless to say after the funeral and they were getting ready to go home, we checked the tires and seen that they needed to be replaced as the would have blown on her way home, and no one here was with much money to help her, so she used her gas money to get back home to get new tires on the car. With her having no money to get back home to Arizona we were told to go to Caring and Sharing Hands by someone who was recently helped with travel expenses of $150. She said, they would help with travel expenses for her to get back home especially since they were in town for a funeral. We were told to look up the website so we could see first hand that she assists with travel expenses. We looked it up and thought this is wonderful, thank goodness there is someone who can help.

I went to caring and Sharing Hands with my sister and when she got up to talk with Mary Jo, Mary Jo was rude... telling her "Tell me what you want? What are you asking for?" When my sister started to reply Mary Jo stopped her and said "We dont do that here."handing her a piece of paper which she tehn ripped out of my sisters hands. My sister tried to explain to her that she had a 21 month old with her and they drove up here and all Mary Jo kept saying to her was "We dont do that here." and told her she could leave.

She was willing to leave my sister stranded here in Minnesota when she needed to get back home to get back to her life and take care of things, like finish packing for a move. We had to ask around and try to find people who had some spare money to borrow just so we could make sure that my sister and her daughter got back home.

I will never tell someone to go to Caring and Sharing Hands for help, after I seen first hand how my sister was treatedand how rude Mary Jo was to her. From this experience and I have heard it from other people Mary Jo Copeland is a fake and only wants people to see the good thinsg she does, but I know quite a few people who have not so good experiences with her. Its too bad that there are so many people who need help and they are willing to let this person belittle them to get any kind of help. I will tell people of other places to go for assistance as I find them cause after this experience I have made it my goal to find better help for people than someone who acts fake with her help. Mary Jo Copeland is not acting as a woman of god, all she cares about is doing things to make her look good.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers