Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with Shared Beat for over a year now and hope to continue doing so. The Board and staff are extremely supportive and kind. The Program that they have built at Safe Passage is incredible
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Shared Beat organization lives up to its name, with us sharing our medical background with the children of Guatemala and them sharing their beautiful smiles and mannerisms with us. It has been a great joy for me and a very heartwarming experience on the past 3 trips with this great organization. I look forward to my next trip and the satisfaction of being a fortunate healthcare provider that may impact a child for the rest of their life.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have been blessed to be a part of the Shard Beat team in Guatemala over the past 5 years. One can not describe in words how gracious and appreciative the Guatemalan people are for receiving some of the most basic health care we take for granted in the U.S. The personal rewards are tremendous and so gratifying that I would encourage anyone or everyone to explore the opportunities offered by Shared Beat in Guatemala. Regardless of age, education, or ability to speak Spanish - Shared Beat finds ways to utilize every volunteers strengths to make it an exceptional experience. My hat (and money) goes to this organization and the students, children, families and communities they serve in Guatemala!
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It has been a great pleasure being a part of this organization year after year. This past July was my 10th trip down and I can't wait to go on ten more! I will forever be thankful to Jenny and Wright for their devotion towards "my people". As a Guatemalan native, I know how much the country yearns for medical care, or any care, a that, and thanks to them there is a light of hope for the people .
Aside from being given medicine, people learn about health and hygiene, and some are even given the gift of sight with a simple pair of reading glasses.
Shared Beat has won the hearts of the communities they care for and I am so proud to be a part of it. I
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have volunteered with Shared Beat the last 4 summers in Guatemala. The organization is exceptionally well run, plans well, respects our time and volunteer efforts - challenges us beyond our comfort zone and gives us the opportunity to serve those in need which in turn becomes a blessing to us.
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shared Beat is an exemplary non-profit organization. While the biannual medical missions to Guatemala are applaudable, the focus of sustainability is what I was really impressed with. While volunteering, I met two of the scholarship students Shared Beat was putting through school. They were bright and determined pre-med and pre-nursing students whose lives had been changed by Shared Beat's support. In turn, these budding nurses and doctors will change lives in their community. The volunteers were all hard working and dedicated to making an impact on every community we visited. I am looking forward to working with this team again in the future.
September 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteering with Shared Beat this summer was an amazing experience. The whole week was planned to a T, everyone had schedules with the wheres and whens so everything flowed smoothly. With that stress taken off of us volunteers, we were able to throw our entire concentration and energy into what we were doing. Helping some impoverished communities in Guatemala was extremely rewarding. Seeing an instant and direct impact on those peoples' lives was a very powerful thing. The goal of Shared Beat is sustainability, and has become a consistent source of care for these people. Shared Beat reliably goes down every 6 months to continue the care they provided on previous visits. I am proud to have been a part of this group and will gladly go again.
September 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

Shared Beat provides medical care and health education to the poorest of the poor in Guatemala with compassion and respect. Working with Shared Beat was witnessing love in action. Every action taken b... more

September 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Shared Beat is a remarkable non-profit. Founders of the organization saw an unmet need and developed this remarkable program with intelligence and heart. The programs Shared Beat have instituted in the poorest section of Guatemala City have changed lives. The future of hundreds of children is brighter because Shared Beat is attending to their health, building a better foundation for a life of hope and promise.
June 30, 2012

Shared Beat provides medical care and health education to the poorest of the poor in Guatemala with compassion and respect. Working with Shared Beat was witnessing love in action. Every action taken by the group demonstrates a deep committment to better the well-being of the people they serve. Shared Beat is empowering the community. One of the ways they do this is by providing nursing scholarships to women in the community. Once these ladies complete their education they come back home to provide care for their neighbors. I have been extremely impressed with Shared Beat's dedication to their mission and resolve to improve the lives of others. It's an incredible organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2011

Shared Beat is providing medical care to the impoverished people of Guatemala. We partner with education reinforcement centers to improve the health of the students through health education, physical... more

September 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Shared Beat has become a strong and reliable source of medical care to several communities within Guatemala. The vision program, vitamin program, and the medical program have served the community consistently over the past 7 years. Additionally, having the opportunity to provide scholarship funds to the students that study in the medical field gives hope for a permanent change to the entire community. Shared Beat dreams with the people of Guatemala of a future that has hope, health and promise. I am blessed to be a part of an organization with vision of a better future.
June 4, 2011

Shared Beat is providing medical care to the impoverished people of Guatemala. We partner with education reinforcement centers to improve the health of the students through health education, physical exams, medications, vitamins, and vision screening. We are committed to developing means for the community to have increased access to care. Our scholarship program allows the students to pursue study medicine and related health professions. Preventative medicine is also provided to the surrounding community. It is rewarding to return to the same communities twice yearly and watch the overall health improve each time we visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Return visits to Guatemala and examining the children routinely has proven that their health is improving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Engage a larger audience in the excitement of our project to change lives through improved health.

September 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2011

Watching Shared Beat mature as an organization has been gratifying to me. Not only does Shared Beat has highly skilled medical professionals, the leadership has recognized the value of strategic plan... more

September 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am amazed by Wright and Jenny Hartsell's dedication and leadership in expanding the services available from Shared Beat. The main premise of Shared Beat is to help people become self-sufficient through education and better health care for themselves and others. The leadership by Jenny as Executive Director is resilient and creative. Her passion for humanity is admirable. Wright's involvement as a physician is genuine when it comes to providing excellent healthcare. The Board of Directors of Shared Beat is a diverse group, each individual bringing a unique set of skills to the table. It is my honor to be involved with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2011

Watching Shared Beat mature as an organization has been gratifying to me. Not only does Shared Beat has highly skilled medical professionals, the leadership has recognized the value of strategic planning sessions, sound financial planning and organizational structure. This will help ensure its continued stability toward serving the medical, health and education needs of people that need a helping hand in and near the city dump of Guatemala.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Growth has been steady, financial resources increasing in order to provide more expanded and effective services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the grant writing and financial funding aspects in a more agressive manner.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers