Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2012

Shared Beat provides medical care and health education to the poorest of the poor in Guatemala with compassion and respect. Working with Shared Beat was witnessing love in action. Every action taken b... more

September 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shared Beat is a remarkable non-profit. Founders of the organization saw an unmet need and developed this remarkable program with intelligence and heart. The programs Shared Beat have instituted in the poorest section of Guatemala City have changed lives. The future of hundreds of children is brighter because Shared Beat is attending to their health, building a better foundation for a life of hope and promise.
June 30, 2012

Shared Beat provides medical care and health education to the poorest of the poor in Guatemala with compassion and respect. Working with Shared Beat was witnessing love in action. Every action taken by the group demonstrates a deep committment to better the well-being of the people they serve. Shared Beat is empowering the community. One of the ways they do this is by providing nursing scholarships to women in the community. Once these ladies complete their education they come back home to provide care for their neighbors. I have been extremely impressed with Shared Beat's dedication to their mission and resolve to improve the lives of others. It's an incredible organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 4, 2011

Shared Beat is providing medical care to the impoverished people of Guatemala. We partner with education reinforcement centers to improve the health of the students through health education, physical... more

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shared Beat has become a strong and reliable source of medical care to several communities within Guatemala. The vision program, vitamin program, and the medical program have served the community consistently over the past 7 years. Additionally, having the opportunity to provide scholarship funds to the students that study in the medical field gives hope for a permanent change to the entire community. Shared Beat dreams with the people of Guatemala of a future that has hope, health and promise. I am blessed to be a part of an organization with vision of a better future.
June 4, 2011

Shared Beat is providing medical care to the impoverished people of Guatemala. We partner with education reinforcement centers to improve the health of the students through health education, physical exams, medications, vitamins, and vision screening. We are committed to developing means for the community to have increased access to care. Our scholarship program allows the students to pursue study medicine and related health professions. Preventative medicine is also provided to the surrounding community. It is rewarding to return to the same communities twice yearly and watch the overall health improve each time we visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Return visits to Guatemala and examining the children routinely has proven that their health is improving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Engage a larger audience in the excitement of our project to change lives through improved health.

September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have spent 3.5 years collaborating with Shared Beat and their outstanding director Jenny Hartsell as the Outreach and Communications Coordinator for Safe Passage where Shared Beat provides healthcare for over 550 at-risk children, their families and the community around the Guatemala City garbage dump. Shared Beat has been an outstanding partner, providing life-saving expertise and healthcare resources that help Safe Passage excel in education. The Shared Beat medical teams always provide an enormous boost for the clinic and local staff. I highly recommend supporting this outstanding organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shared Beat provides medical, ophthalmology , physical therapy, dental and physical therapy care to the poorest of the poor - the dump families in Guatemala City and the poor families in rural towns surrounding the capital. The providers are all volunteers and heavily committed to the cause in terms of time and effort spent serving these populations.
The hours include long days and planning nights, but the good done is very significant in terms of well care, acute medical care, provision of glasses and dental prophylaxis ... and the gratitude from the patients/recipients is palpable.
It is nice to do good deeds for these under served populations and to feel good about the accomplishments! My volunteer time in Guatemala was most rewarding!
October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i started as volunteer on a trip to Guatemala with Shared Beat. I was really impressed with the impact that Shared Beat has on the health of the children at Safe Passage (Camino Segura) because of its vitamin and preventative health program. As a physician, I was amazed that the general health, and especially the dental health, of the children in the program was better than many of the children that I see in the US. Shared Beat also positively impacts their parents through an adult literacy program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2011

Watching Shared Beat mature as an organization has been gratifying to me. Not only does Shared Beat has highly skilled medical professionals, the leadership has recognized the value of strategic plan... more

September 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am amazed by Wright and Jenny Hartsell's dedication and leadership in expanding the services available from Shared Beat. The main premise of Shared Beat is to help people become self-sufficient through education and better health care for themselves and others. The leadership by Jenny as Executive Director is resilient and creative. Her passion for humanity is admirable. Wright's involvement as a physician is genuine when it comes to providing excellent healthcare. The Board of Directors of Shared Beat is a diverse group, each individual bringing a unique set of skills to the table. It is my honor to be involved with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2011

Watching Shared Beat mature as an organization has been gratifying to me. Not only does Shared Beat has highly skilled medical professionals, the leadership has recognized the value of strategic planning sessions, sound financial planning and organizational structure. This will help ensure its continued stability toward serving the medical, health and education needs of people that need a helping hand in and near the city dump of Guatemala.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Growth has been steady, financial resources increasing in order to provide more expanded and effective services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the grant writing and financial funding aspects in a more agressive manner.

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Shared Beat is a wonderful organization to work with. Its leaders are completely dedicated to its cause and work to make sure its goals are carried out effectively. The trips themselves go efficiently and are well planned out so valuable time is never wasted. Patients and volunteers are treated with the utmost respect, and when volunteering, one cannot help but feel that there is hope for a better, more compassionate future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My expierence as a volunteer with Shared Beat has been truly amazing for many different reasons. The organization is led by a group of people that have the ability to make it easy and comfortable for volunteers to fit in, feel productive and come away knowing a difference was made in a child's life. The programs Shared Beat supports at Safe Passage have paved the way for children to rise up from poverty through education. The daily nutrition and vitamin programs keep the children focused on their schoolwork and able to reach their dreams. You can see in their faces that they know someone cares about their future! That recognition and the beautiful smiles on their faces makes me proud to continue volunteering with Shared Beat. In fact, we are headed back in a couple of weeks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Shared Beat is an extraordinary organization characterized by wise, compassionate and dedicated leadership. I have worked as a volunteer pediatrician in a variety of international health settings over the last 20 years and find Shared Beat to provide the most thoughtful and comprehensive approach to health care support and delivery in an underserved setting that I have witnessed. The organization has a deep commitment to providing longitudinal care with community involvement and leadership. To that end, the group raises funds to support a full-time Guatemalan nurse at the school clinic with additional support from a Guatemalan pediatrician. The state-side volunteers arrive several times a year in a supportive role only. Communication regarding clinical needs is maintained between Guatemalan staff and the Shared Beat leadership between the visit intervals. Additionally, Shared Beat provides scholarship funds for those students graduating from the Safe Passage school who are interested in pursuing health care careers. These students, who have grown up in the abject poverty of the Guatemala city dump, are encouraged and supported to pursue their goals of service back to the community. The Shared Beat group achieves amazing continuity of care through a medical record system and work with a comprehensive team of partners. This is an exemplary organization with a long record of high level service and wonderful vision and heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization was initiated out love, compassion and dignity. It serves the neediest of needy in Guatamala. It provides a school for pre-school children, school aged children and young adults, reading and writing workshops for the adults. They provide medical well checks twice a year, and on-going intervention as needed. Our volunteer base come fron all walks of live, for the improvement of the health, education, and basic human rights for those that are undeserved in their country. Our commitment to oversee a community of people to enrich their lives, and break the cycle of poverty, malnutrition, inability to have an education, medical care, and the touch of humanity to better the lives of people of such need. To see the light in a child's eye once provided with the means to better hygeine, nutrition, education, medical care and the most sincerest of love and compasion is breath taking. To provide the workshops for reading and writing for our adults is changing a cycle to the betterment of mankind. One great-grandmother who is filled with dignity to read the bibleas opposed tro finding someone to read for her, leaves you speechless. Overall the dedication of volunteers and our most intelligent and resourceful board members keep this project in operation. To give to the most needy of the earth is what humanity is. In return, the gift it gives us, is most precious to our soul. Sonia B.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers