Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

My family is getting ready to volunteer for our second time with Shared Beat. This group does amazing work through healthcare and education. If you can, go! It is an experience you will never forget. You will fall in the love with the Guatemalan people and make a great difference in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Over the past 6 yearsShared Beat has been providing healthcare to children and their families in Guatemala. Shared Beat is a group of kind and caring people who want to do the best with available resources, create sustainability and support education through health. All volunteers pay their way onoutreach trips, the board members are all volunteer, administrative overhead is less than 5% ... If you are looking for a genuinely caring nonprofit to support, volunteer for, talk about with your friends... look no further.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was one of the health teachers at Safe Passage, an organization in Guatemala City helping at-risk children and families. Shared Beat has supported our entire health program, from a clinic within the facility, to providing eye-glasses for those in need, to supporting a health education program focused on basic health and hygiene, violence prevention, and sex-ed. As the health teacher, I was exposed to all the health problems the kids and parents had, and through the help of Shared Beat, these constituents of SP were able to have access to high-quality health care, which they normally would not have, as well as health education classes to help them make informed decisions to lead to healthier lives. GO SHARED BEAT!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I am a general pediatrician with an interest in the health of children in developing countries. I have volunteered previously with other medical teams in Honduras. While those were also good experiences, I felt those previous trips mostly benefited ME. Those were vacations, and were meaningful, but when I left, I knew that there would be a gap of months before another team arrived. Hardly a comprehensive medical program.Not so with Shared Beat. This program has more sustainability than any I have ever seen. Basically, the children at Camino Segura have a pretty comprehensive health care program. There are nurses in place year round, a Guatemalan doctor who works one or two afternoons a week. We swoop in, en masse, twice a year to do physicals (twice a year on those under five years of age and once a year on older kids), provide medicine for worms, vitamins, medicines needed chronically, such as inhalers. This is an intensive intervention for the children whose parents are scavengers in the city dump. WE also travel to outlying communities, such as San Miguel to do some evaluations, in cooperation with other NGOs and the community health worker. It is evident that there is a huge diffierence in the health, hygiene and well being of those in the school, who have a more comprehensive system, and those in hthe outlying community. How amazing that the children who come from such a disadvantaged background that it is hard to imagine are taking advantage of the opportunity to go to college.Antoher really nice perk is that we say in a relaxing hotel in Antigua, which is a lovely tourist town about 30 miles away. So after a hard days work, you can come home to a pleasant coutyard and amazing food. The coordinators have been to Guatemala City in excess of twenty tmes, and are great at getting everthing organized so that we make great use of our time, and have a good time too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely introduced me to new friends. I loved seeing them again the next year.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Useful. Yet I didn't have any trouble re-assimilating back to my family in the US, as so frequently happens when people return.

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

Shared Beat since its inception has had a vision to create sustainability and continuity in its programs. In the past 6 years, by supporting an ongoing educational project adjacent the GUatemala City Dump area with provision of on-site healthcare, vision care, de-worming, and vitamins we move closer to making life a little better. Supporting a full-time school nurse and a part-time physician when we are not physically present and providing health scholarships in that area as well as more rural areas, Shared Beat has been and continues to be an endeavor of hope and changes lives forever. I've personnaly cared for a 5 day old to a 92 year old. I've had the privelege of provided counseling to hundreds of diabetics, hypertensive patients, pregnant mohers, school physicals, and was able to provide the needed medications. At my side worked some of the Guatemalan scholarship recipients who will in the future fill the roles of doctor or nurse.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2011

more

July 17, 2011

Shared Beat is an amazing organization!!! They provide so much quality medical attention and health education to students and families in Guatemala. Without a doubt one of the most empowering organizations that I have been able to cooperate with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing the joy and gratitude in each patient's eyes after receiving service from the staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage growth.

June 19, 2011

more

June 19, 2011

I have been to Guatemala on three mission trips and found that it is an amazing opportunity to help children and families whose living comes from scavenging in the city dump.

In the clinic at Camino Segura - Safe Passage - the children are evaluated by physicians and nurses and other
volunteers to make sure they are healthy, have good vision and are making good choices.

What a satisfying feeling to help those who are so needy!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing how much healthier the children are on return trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage continued growth and program development to become self-sustaining.

June 17, 2011

more

June 17, 2011

In 2006, I spent 3 months volunteering in Guatemala with a program called Camino Seguro. The program works with families, primarily the children, that live in the Guatemala City Garbage Dump Community. I loved my time there and I was adamant about returning one day.

A close friend had
volunteered with Shared Beat several times and encouraged me to go with her because she knows how much I care about Camino Seguro. Shared Beat goes to Camino Seguro as a medical team to provide health care to the participants of Camino Seguro. This past February, I was finally able to volunteer with Shared Beat. Of course, it was incredibly exciting for me to see many of the same children with whom I'd worked 5 years earlier. But Shared Beat offered me so much more than a reunion with Camino Seguro. As an interpreter for the medical providers, I had the opportunity to be part of a team that provided high quality, compassionate care to a very underserved community. We began the week of volunteering by seeing all the children that go to Camino Seguro. Then we began to see their parents and eventually, the clinic's doors were opened to the larger community. We also went to rural town, San Miguel, and delivered health care services there. I was astounded by the number of people we served - I believe it was around a thousand. Despite the large volume of patients seen, the doctors and nurses took their time with each patient to ensure they received proper medical attention.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have volunteered once with Shared Beat during one of their week-long volunteer trips. Shared Beat goes to go Guatemala twice per year, once in February and once in July. The biannual trips increase their ability to provide comprehensive care. Unfortunately, I can't return this July due to a prior commitment but I certainly plan to volunteer with Shared Beat again - hopefully in February '12!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, nothing.

June 11, 2011

more

June 11, 2011

Maria told us that she had tripped and fallen a few weeks ago. As she held her stomach and looked down, she confided that she hadn't felt the baby move ever since. She hadn't been to see an OBGYN. She lied down on our make-shift exam table, and with some gel and a hand-held Doppler, the Shared Beat physician easily located a rapid little heartbeat. As she realized what she was hearing, happy tears started streaming steadily from the corners of her eyes. As she sat up, she didn't even say anything for me to interpret; she just jumped down and gave us both a big hug. This is just one of my favorite clinic moments that i've recapped with the group over tortillas and guacamole one night; there are many more...and many more to come!

I really don't like giving money to charities. I feel that sometimes the money just doesn't get to where it really needs to go fast enough. I am skeptical. I don't like taking people's word; I prefer to see things with my own eyes before i can recommend it to anyone, and so that is what i have done.

I had heard of this non-profit, Shared Beat, through a friend that had spent some time in Guatemala. I didn't know anyone on the trip and really didn't know what i was getting myself into at the time. Volunteering in Central America was something that I had always wanted to do to improve my Spanish. One of those ideas that floats around in the back of your mind since college... i just never before made the effort or time to make it a reality. I'm so glad that i finally made the time.

The one-week medical mission trips with Shared Beat are convenient for volunteers that work full-time. Although we have a busy week of clinic, it somehow still feels like a vacation. The trips are always well organized starting Sunday-Sunday in February or July. The weather is always a lot warmer than New England weather. The volunteers are a mix of old and new volunteers, and always so friendly, helpful, and eager to step in where needed. It is one mission trip where knowing Spanish is not mandatory (although it surely is helpful.) The patients couldn't be more appreciative that we come to them. Each mission trip the children appear to be more healthy physically-- and as plotted in their growth chart. It's a great feeling to play a small part in such progress.

A week with Shared Beat will change you. From then on you will take that experience with you wherever your travels may take you. You will apply that experience to new situations, see things from a different perspective, and understand people better. But don't just take my word for it, you'll have to see it for yourself.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had the opportunity to volunteer 4 times with this amazing non-profit group over the past 2 years. Although the medical team is on-site for only one short week every 6 months, it is obvious how much it positively impacts the community in which it serves. Shared Beat is clearly appreciated, respected, and loved by the community. I like that Shared Beat invests in the community with health education and nursing scholarships which will ultimately help improve the health of future generations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly can not think of a single thing that i would want to change about this organization. I have recruited several volunteers and i will continue to do so!

June 4, 2011

more

June 4, 2011

Shared Beat is providing medical care to the impoverished people of Guatemala. We partner with education reinforcement centers to improve the health of the students through health education, physical exams, medications, vitamins, and vision screening. We are committed to developing means for the community to have increased access to care. Our scholarship program allows the students to pursue study medicine and related health professions. Preventative medicine is also provided to the surrounding community. It is rewarding to return to the same communities twice yearly and watch the overall health improve each time we visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Return visits to Guatemala and examining the children routinely has proven that their health is improving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Engage a larger audience in the excitement of our project to change lives through improved health.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers