Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

i started as volunteer on a trip to Guatemala with Shared Beat. I was really impressed with the impact that Shared Beat has on the health of the children at Safe Passage (Camino Segura) because of its vitamin and preventative health program. As a physician, I was amazed that the general health, and especially the dental health, of the children in the program was better than many of the children that I see in the US. Shared Beat also positively impacts their parents through an adult literacy program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2011

Watching Shared Beat mature as an organization has been gratifying to me. Not only does Shared Beat has highly skilled medical professionals, the leadership has recognized the value of strategic plan... more

September 30, 2012

I am amazed by Wright and Jenny Hartsell's dedication and leadership in expanding the services available from Shared Beat. The main premise of Shared Beat is to help people become self-sufficient through education and better health care for themselves and others. The leadership by Jenny as Executive Director is resilient and creative. Her passion for humanity is admirable. Wright's involvement as a physician is genuine when it comes to providing excellent healthcare. The Board of Directors of Shared Beat is a diverse group, each individual bringing a unique set of skills to the table. It is my honor to be involved with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2011

Watching Shared Beat mature as an organization has been gratifying to me. Not only does Shared Beat has highly skilled medical professionals, the leadership has recognized the value of strategic planning sessions, sound financial planning and organizational structure. This will help ensure its continued stability toward serving the medical, health and education needs of people that need a helping hand in and near the city dump of Guatemala.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Growth has been steady, financial resources increasing in order to provide more expanded and effective services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the grant writing and financial funding aspects in a more agressive manner.

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

Shared Beat is a wonderful organization to work with. Its leaders are completely dedicated to its cause and work to make sure its goals are carried out effectively. The trips themselves go efficiently and are well planned out so valuable time is never wasted. Patients and volunteers are treated with the utmost respect, and when volunteering, one cannot help but feel that there is hope for a better, more compassionate future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

My expierence as a volunteer with Shared Beat has been truly amazing for many different reasons. The organization is led by a group of people that have the ability to make it easy and comfortable for volunteers to fit in, feel productive and come away knowing a difference was made in a child's life. The programs Shared Beat supports at Safe Passage have paved the way for children to rise up from poverty through education. The daily nutrition and vitamin programs keep the children focused on their schoolwork and able to reach their dreams. You can see in their faces that they know someone cares about their future! That recognition and the beautiful smiles on their faces makes me proud to continue volunteering with Shared Beat. In fact, we are headed back in a couple of weeks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

Shared Beat is an extraordinary organization characterized by wise, compassionate and dedicated leadership. I have worked as a volunteer pediatrician in a variety of international health settings over the last 20 years and find Shared Beat to provide the most thoughtful and comprehensive approach to health care support and delivery in an underserved setting that I have witnessed. The organization has a deep commitment to providing longitudinal care with community involvement and leadership. To that end, the group raises funds to support a full-time Guatemalan nurse at the school clinic with additional support from a Guatemalan pediatrician. The state-side volunteers arrive several times a year in a supportive role only. Communication regarding clinical needs is maintained between Guatemalan staff and the Shared Beat leadership between the visit intervals. Additionally, Shared Beat provides scholarship funds for those students graduating from the Safe Passage school who are interested in pursuing health care careers. These students, who have grown up in the abject poverty of the Guatemala city dump, are encouraged and supported to pursue their goals of service back to the community. The Shared Beat group achieves amazing continuity of care through a medical record system and work with a comprehensive team of partners. This is an exemplary organization with a long record of high level service and wonderful vision and heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

This organization was initiated out love, compassion and dignity. It serves the neediest of needy in Guatamala. It provides a school for pre-school children, school aged children and young adults, reading and writing workshops for the adults. They provide medical well checks twice a year, and on-going intervention as needed. Our volunteer base come fron all walks of live, for the improvement of the health, education, and basic human rights for those that are undeserved in their country. Our commitment to oversee a community of people to enrich their lives, and break the cycle of poverty, malnutrition, inability to have an education, medical care, and the touch of humanity to better the lives of people of such need. To see the light in a child's eye once provided with the means to better hygeine, nutrition, education, medical care and the most sincerest of love and compasion is breath taking. To provide the workshops for reading and writing for our adults is changing a cycle to the betterment of mankind. One great-grandmother who is filled with dignity to read the bibleas opposed tro finding someone to read for her, leaves you speechless. Overall the dedication of volunteers and our most intelligent and resourceful board members keep this project in operation. To give to the most needy of the earth is what humanity is. In return, the gift it gives us, is most precious to our soul. Sonia B.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer on at four trips to Guatemala. Shared beat's efforts to provide health and wellness care for the poorest of he poor is amazing. The committment of the Board members to the mission is incredible. Not only do we serve the children at safe Passage, but our outreach to the communities allows us to touch and be touch by guatemalans who are without access to basic services. Participating with Shared Beat has changed my life. The experience puts life in perspective.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Shared Beat provides medical care and health education to the poorest of the poor in Guatemala with compassion and respect. Working with Shared Beat was witnessing love in action. Every action taken by the group demonstrates a deep committment to better the well-being of the people they serve. Shared Beat is empowering the community. One of the ways they do this is by providing nursing scholarships to women in the community. Once these ladies complete their education they come back home to provide care for their neighbors. I have been extremely impressed with Shared Beat's dedication to their mission and resolve to improve the lives of others. It's an incredible organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The Mayan people who work the dump in Guatemala City, though small in stature are big in heart, accepting of their plight in life, gracious and friendly beyond belief given their living conditions. We had the joy of giving new sight to many for whom we crafted prescription eye glasses from special equipment designed for use in third world countries.
We came away with a renewed appreciation of how blessed we are, how raw and cruel life is for so many, how critical it is for us to share from our abundance and blessings and how very small are our problems and concerns compared to theirs. It was the kind of place and people where Jesus would be today and we need to be there with them and for them and so many others like them worldwide.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the physical therapy treatment given to 41 patients and vision tests given to 351 patients

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

could not have been any better

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

deep and profound appreciation for the plight of others in 3rd world countries, built great friendships with the group, awareness of how many generous folks really are out there (especially from the USA) trying to make a difference in the 3rd world.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

blessed, grateful, wonderful, humbled.

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Being a volunteer, I was able to see first hand how shared beat helps people who can't always help themselves or don't have access to help. It gives one a satisfying sense of accomplishment while volunteering for shared beat to help someone and watch their face light up, even if it means just providing them with the correct pair of glasses that allows them to read again. Shared beat is a great organization with great intentions that definitely makes me proud to be a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers