Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with Shared Beat for over a year now and hope to continue doing so. The Board and staff are extremely supportive and kind. The Program that they have built at Safe Passage is incredible
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Shared Beat organization lives up to its name, with us sharing our medical background with the children of Guatemala and them sharing their beautiful smiles and mannerisms with us. It has been a great joy for me and a very heartwarming experience on the past 3 trips with this great organization. I look forward to my next trip and the satisfaction of being a fortunate healthcare provider that may impact a child for the rest of their life.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have been blessed to be a part of the Shard Beat team in Guatemala over the past 5 years. One can not describe in words how gracious and appreciative the Guatemalan people are for receiving some of the most basic health care we take for granted in the U.S. The personal rewards are tremendous and so gratifying that I would encourage anyone or everyone to explore the opportunities offered by Shared Beat in Guatemala. Regardless of age, education, or ability to speak Spanish - Shared Beat finds ways to utilize every volunteers strengths to make it an exceptional experience. My hat (and money) goes to this organization and the students, children, families and communities they serve in Guatemala!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

It has been a great pleasure being a part of this organization year after year. This past July was my 10th trip down and I can't wait to go on ten more! I will forever be thankful to Jenny and Wright for their devotion towards "my people". As a Guatemalan native, I know how much the country yearns for medical care, or any care, a that, and thanks to them there is a light of hope for the people .
Aside from being given medicine, people learn about health and hygiene, and some are even given the gift of sight with a simple pair of reading glasses.
Shared Beat has won the hearts of the communities they care for and I am so proud to be a part of it. I
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

We have volunteered with Shared Beat the last 4 summers in Guatemala. The organization is exceptionally well run, plans well, respects our time and volunteer efforts - challenges us beyond our comfort zone and gives us the opportunity to serve those in need which in turn becomes a blessing to us.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have worked with several medical non profit groups for 15 years. From what I have experienced, the most successful integrate into the community they serve, involve locals in their efforts, encourage and support local talent to higher education so they return and serve their community, and recognize the culture they're their to help without imposing the culture they come from. Sounds like sustainability! Shared Beat certainly knows the meaning of this concept, in their work with Safe Passage (Camino Seguro) in Guatemala. As a volunteer and Board member for 5 years, I've seen first hand how this principle gets applied. Assisting Camino Seguro, we've watched kids from the Guatemala City dump get healthy and stay healthy, get a decent education, go into secondary education, receive nursing scholarships from Shared Beat, and come back to their community. Moms receive health education and are taught to read, and are supported in developing businesses they can call their own. Shared Beat practices a form of volunteerism that serves as a model for how do it effectively, and actually does, in a real wa,y change peoples lives.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Shared Beat is an exemplary non-profit organization. While the biannual medical missions to Guatemala are applaudable, the focus of sustainability is what I was really impressed with. While volunteering, I met two of the scholarship students Shared Beat was putting through school. They were bright and determined pre-med and pre-nursing students whose lives had been changed by Shared Beat's support. In turn, these budding nurses and doctors will change lives in their community. The volunteers were all hard working and dedicated to making an impact on every community we visited. I am looking forward to working with this team again in the future.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been involved with Shared Beat for over 7 years. It has been a pleasure to see them grow with support from friends and families. The cause is for Medical Treatment,medical supplies and Education for children in these villages in Guadamala.
The Board members actualy donate their own time
and money to travel there for weeks at at time to provide treatment and support, all on their own dime !
I am proud to be a part of this wonderful group of caring people , who selflessly devote countless hours throughout the year planning the Shared Beat Crawfish Boil to help raise monies to support this foundation.
In April of each year, they put together a silent auction, live auction,live music and huge eats and drinks spread that won't disappoint you. All of this is very tasty done and first class.
I hope that Mary and I will also be traveling with them next year and using our hands and hearts to provide healing and support of anything needed from us.
If you ever wanted to be part of something or a true charity, where all money goes to the cause and not administration, CEO's ect. Then this is where you need to do it.
The satisfaction of seeing the results are far beyond expectation !
I am honored to be able to support them and Blessed to have been part of something that has became a part of my life.
Lastly, To all the staff,volunteers,sponcers,supporters, donators , May God Bless your Family and keep them safe and rich in life's journeys to help all of our brothers and sisters near and far.
Sincerely ,
Michael Stratis
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering with Shared Beat this summer was an amazing experience. The whole week was planned to a T, everyone had schedules with the wheres and whens so everything flowed smoothly. With that stress taken off of us volunteers, we were able to throw our entire concentration and energy into what we were doing. Helping some impoverished communities in Guatemala was extremely rewarding. Seeing an instant and direct impact on those peoples' lives was a very powerful thing. The goal of Shared Beat is sustainability, and has become a consistent source of care for these people. Shared Beat reliably goes down every 6 months to continue the care they provided on previous visits. I am proud to have been a part of this group and will gladly go again.
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 22, 2012

Shared Beat since its inception has had a vision to create sustainability and continuity in its programs. In the past 6 years, by supporting an ongoing educational project adjacent the GUatemala City ... more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to serve on the Board of Shared Beat and more especially participate actively in its mission of service in Guatemala. Since the inception, prevention of disease and improved nutrition have been supported by its programs. Partnering to provide the medical support for educational non-profits has created real synergism: Safe Passage, People for Guatemala, Vamos Adelante, and Planting Seeds. Shared Beat has successfully seen the graduation of healthcare students thru its scholarship support and has provided funds for the treatment of acute illness among students and their families when the need has arisen. Shared Beat volunteers have provided service for 46,000 plus hours and direct medical care to over 13,000 patient contacts since its inception. It is an incredible organization.
June 22, 2012

Shared Beat since its inception has had a vision to create sustainability and continuity in its programs. In the past 6 years, by supporting an ongoing educational project adjacent the GUatemala City Dump area with provision of on-site healthcare, vision care, de-worming, and vitamins we move closer to making life a little better. Supporting a full-time school nurse and a part-time physician when we are not physically present and providing health scholarships in that area as well as more rural areas, Shared Beat has been and continues to be an endeavor of hope and changes lives forever. I've personnaly cared for a 5 day old to a 92 year old. I've had the privelege of provided counseling to hundreds of diabetics, hypertensive patients, pregnant mohers, school physicals, and was able to provide the needed medications. At my side worked some of the Guatemalan scholarship recipients who will in the future fill the roles of doctor or nurse.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers