Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.948285
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Callers are beyond overjoyed when they are finally able to connect with me, a match volunteer who has their same exceedingly rare permanent pain disability from breast cancer surgery. I had to go out of state to Sloan's pain clinic to finally obtain a diagnosis!

I am also able to assist
those afflicted with my secondary more common treatment induced handicap. In addition, I try to provide hope to women who have been diagnosed with the ultra rare & aggressive type of breast cancer that I had 15 years ago.

I direct them to neurologists and anesthesiologists for the pain syndrome (post lymph node dissection nerve pain) and also to specialists who treat patients with a compromised lymphatic system like I have from surgery/ radiation. I refer to my list of major U.S. cancer centers (teaching hospitals.)

I help with medical insurance battles as well. I was treated for a fibrosarcoma in the area of my anatomy affected by my pre existing impairments from breast cancer surgery. All sarcomas represent only 1% of all cancers -utterly uncommon- I fought my HMO (successfully!) for 51/2 months for an arm salvaging operation at Sloan- Kettering, an out of state/ out of network facility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes needed - a superlative support group! If my name is googled, -don't want this submission to present itself. However, feel free to pass my entry on to Great Non profit organization Thanks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Shortly after I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2000, I began to attend a SHARE support group. Meeting other women in treatment made me feel "normal" again. I went to more meetings and wanted to give back what SHARE had given me: I trained as a Helpline volunteer as soon as I passed two-years out of treatment and have been a Helpline volunteer ever since. SHARE also provided me with patient-advocate training, another role I embrace. Most importantly, SHARE has demystified breast cancer and has allowed me to understand what's going on in the scientific world without scare tactics and without hype.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

25 years ago, when I had breast cancer, the Share support group I attended helped me cope with my diagnosis and gave me a chance to make some wonderful, lifelong friends. After retiring, I decided to volunteer at Share, answering helpline calls and co- facilitating the Newly Diagnosed Support Group. It is a privilege to be trusted by the women who call or come to the meetings and to make a difference in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Shortly after I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I began attending support group meetings for young women with breast cancer at SHARE. These meetings and the women I met through them were extraordinarily helpful. They allayed my fears, gave me tips on how to cope, encouraged me, and understood my experiences in a way that others couldn’t. It was so wonderful to sit in a room full of breast cancer warriors; it gave me hope and made me feel less alone.”

A few years later, the Facilitator for SHARE’s Young Women With Breast Cancer Support Group decided to “retire” after eight years of service and I was asked to take her place. I was flattered to be asked and am honored to be able to spend time with these women warriors on a regular basis, and hopefully help them through their breast cancer journey.

~ Mary Vetting
New York, NY

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I "discovered" SHARE in 1992. At this point in my life I had healed and wiped the tears from my cancer diagnosis. However, when I visited SHARE I met with such a wonderful, generous, helpful group of women, that I decided I wanted to work with this organization and help spread the word about SHARE. I have worked with SHARE since then, doing outreach, advocacy and helping to organize the SHARE-A-Walk. I pray that SHARE will be available to more women until this dreadful disease is vanquished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012


I do volunteer work at Share. When a woman calls our Help Line, they want to speak to
someone who has had BC, people will listen when they know you have walked the
walk. I have heard dozens of women cry on the phone , women of all ages, young women
with small children, at the
time of a diagnosis they need reassurance, hope and that is
what we provide, at the end of a call, that can last an hour or longer, a sense of relief
and gratitude is what I hear, I wrap up my calls by telling them, just so you know my
diagnose was 19 years ago, I can't see their faces but I can feel their smile
on the phone and in my heart. Volunteering is a way of giving back as a survivor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've had first hand experience with SHARE as a recipient of services, a board and staff member and now as a volunteer and in each of those capacities I've recognized how extraordinary this organization is. For women and men newly affected by breast or ovarian cancer, information and resources provided by someone who uniquely understand the issues because they've been there, is invaluable. The support that comes from being able to give voice to your issues in a safe environment with up to date information is enormously empowering and allows those affected to deal with their lives more effectively and with an inceased sense of empowerment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Breast cancer diagnosis is scary and typically never as straightforward as you think it should be. In my case, one dr. told me to get a mastectomy, one advised me to get a lumpectomy and another counseled a bi-lateral mastectomy. Chemo was also considered "optional" and there were different chemo options that I was asked to choose among if I decided to have chemo at all. It was overwhelming. I had no idea how to navigate this and was filled with anxiety. After I completed my treatment 6 years ago, I was determined to try to help women with the knowledge I gained so they wouldn't have to go through the stress I did. I love volunteering at SHARE. The organization helps me to keep growing in my knowledge of the disease and it's wonderful to touch others. SHARE makes a difference one person at a time. It's a fantastic organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was diagnosed in 2001 with Breast Cancer and joined a SHARE support group. Even though I knew, I could always find support here, it wasn't until I became a volunteer that I learne, first-hand how much of an impact SHARE makes on the lives of women who face a diagnosis of breast or ovarian with cancer. I grew to understand the importance of their support system and what they contributed to a women's survivorship in their battle against these diseases. Here at SHARE one can find an oasis away from the stress and turmoil , that living with cancer can bring and find support, be it emotion, informational or avocational support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was diagnosed 7 years ago and introduced to SHARE by my surgeon and by the American Cancer Society. At SHARE I found tremendous support from the group leaders and other breast cancer survivors. Only they could understand how I felt. SHARE has always there for me and I will always be there for SHARE and all the the women diagnosed with breast cancer./

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers