Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.948285
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 1993. I first heard about SHARE from the wife of one of my authors (I was an editor in scholarly publishing), herself a breast cancer survivor. Like many other women I'd been dealing with the disease as best I could, but I had no connection with other survivors. I first came to SHARE to attend support groups, then for many years I participated in wellness programs, especially yoga. In more recent years I've continued my connection with SHARE as a volunteer, mainly in the office during the day, but also at special events such as the Share-a-Walk (in former days) and the chefs event, A Second Helping of Life. At the present I come in to the office to proofread the Calendar of Events. I can't speak warmly enough about what SHARE has meant in my life! It's been a source of support, enlightenment, good cheer, fellowship, and not least of inspiration. I've met any number of remarkable women (and men) at SHARE. I've now been associated with SHARE longer than with any other organization in New York City.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Japanese Share has been helping japanese women with breast or ovarian cancer in a lot of ways. We gave them many opportunities to talk about their issues and fears and they get to open up their hearts. We encourage each other and see our future with different perceptions. At the end of the day, they go home with more positive attitudes. I absolutely honor this non profit organization and believe that we help japanese women go through their hard times.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

My relationship with SHARE began with a phone call to the helpline last July. I was leading a breast cancer patient support group for the Japanese community in New York, but we were having our meetings in cafes and restaurants, with no place of our own. By the end of that phone call the SHARE Japanese program was born.
Today, we offer group support meetings twice a month at the SHARE main office.
Now SHARE is becoming a great partner to the Japanese community, while understanding our unique culture that creates different demands.
The SHARE Japanese program is slowly and surely helping many Japanese women, who have been touched by breast and ovarian cancer, throughout the US and even to Japan.
SHARE is empowering me and my community, as well as our family, every day.

Thank you!

Aiko Brody
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

For me the most impressive aspect of Share that I have observed is the constant search for new programs with which to get their mission across to women and organizations that support women in their quest against breast and ovarian cancer.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

SHARE has two special roles in my life. I was diagnosed with advanced ovarian cancer in August, 2000. About a week before chemo was to start, my surgeon told me to “get a port.” Still reeling from surgery, I neglected to ask what that was or why I needed it.

I called SHARE’s toll-free
number, a knowledgeable woman quickly called me back and said, “A port is a great idea and it will save your veins from all the needle sticks you’re going to have.” I was very grateful and will always remember the SHARE Helpline volunteer’s clear explanation and her warmth.

Fast forward to 2011, I was eleven years out from diagnosis and ready to give back some of the support I had been given. I was rigorously trained to become a SHARE Helpline volunteer. I have been on both sides of the Helpline.

Some women I talk with ask, Will I survive? They ask which is better, surgery first or chemo first? How bad is chemotherapy? How can I ask my doctor all the questions I have? And some women just need a friendly ear as they talk about the life-wrenching issues a cancer diagnosis imposes. I love the challenges of this work and I love the deep satisfaction this work gives me. I love the organization which allows me to do this.

Women are diagnosed with breast or ovarian cancer every day. Their needs are great. I want to see SHARE grow so it can reach more women. This non-profit that I know so well is deeply worthy of wide exposure and financial support.

Judith Fox




October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I am a 20 year breast cancer survivor & advocate who sought support & information when
I was diagnosed. SHARE staff & volunteers became my new breast friends. They held my
hand through diagnosis, treatment, after care, recurrence, side effects & a new life with
chronic cancers.

My way of appreciation was to give back volunteering through advocacy & health fairs.
Through them I volunteered for several years bringing scores of NYC women to the NBCC
Advocacy Conference & as the NYC Volunteer Coordinator with the advocacy efforts of the
National Breast Cancer Coalition, as well as helping to establish the NYS Breast Cancer Network.
Many of my friends have died early deaths because of this incidious disease which is why
SHARE supports the NBCC efforts to find a cure by 2020 & to end breast cancer. SHARE's
ability to maintain its presence during the past 20 years & grow more meaningful programs
& information, is a testament to its endurance.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

January 2012 I was diagnosed with stage 2 invasive breast cancer. I found SHARE while surfing the internet . I called 2 am, left a message an my call was immediately returned the following morning. My mentor Jeanne was so helpful and caring, listened to an ear full never judging me, letting me express all my feelings concerns and fears. Share as helped me so much that I looked forward to my bi weekly calls from Jeanne. Sometimes I called SHARE before Jeanne's call because I was afraid of an upcoming surgery, test, chemo or radiation. Who ever was working at the time would comfort me and make me get through the day.

It is not just phone support that makes SHARE special . It is the abundance of services they offer. Webinar's, educational programs and on going support groups and so much more.

The support team of SHARE was there for me, now as a breast cancer help line volunteer I will be there for you . Why not give SHARE a call today :)

www.sharecancersupport.org

844 ASK-SHARE
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

After telling me I had breast cancer my surgeon gave me the name of SHARE and it was the kindest and most compassionate thing she could have done for me. And contacting SHARE the next day was the best thing I could have done for myself. They help me put what little I knew in some sort of order and told me what kind of questions to ask and whom to ask. The helpline became my lifeline through my surgery and the weeks following. They got me through my crisis and I knew I wanted to do the same for others.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 1999. I was shocked and very scared. My chiropractor told me about SHARE. I called and then participated in 2 support groups. It was very comforting to share my fears and concerns with other women who were also going through breast cancer. I am still close with one of the women who was in my SHARE support groups.

When I retired from teaching I wanted to give back to SHARE. They were there for me in my time of need and I wanted to be there for them and help other women who are going through breast or ovarian cancer. I have been a SHARE volunteer for almost 14 years now.

SHARE is a wonderful self-help, nonprofit organization. All of the staff at SHARE give 100% of themselves. Many of these women also had breast or ovarian cancer.

I am proud to be part of this wonderful organization.

Adrienne
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am gratified by the feeling of helping someone who is embarking on the same journey I did. Reassuring them that they will be ok and easing their fears is priceless. It is about helping a woman at her most vulnerable time and giving her support. It's about letting her know she's not alone. This is what SHARE is about.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers