Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.948285
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Shortly after I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I began attending support group meetings for young women with breast cancer at SHARE. These meetings and the women I met through them were extraordinarily helpful. They allayed my fears, gave me tips on how to cope, encouraged me, and understood my experiences in a way that others couldn’t. It was so wonderful to sit in a room full of breast cancer warriors; it gave me hope and made me feel less alone.”

A few years later, the Facilitator for SHARE’s Young Women With Breast Cancer Support Group decided to “retire” after eight years of service and I was asked to take her place. I was flattered to be asked and am honored to be able to spend time with these women warriors on a regular basis, and hopefully help them through their breast cancer journey.

~ Mary Vetting
New York, NY

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

SHARE has enabled countless women, their families and friends to cope with the realities and difficulties of a cancer diagnosis through their hotlines, support groups, education and wellness programs. I know this first hand, as an ovarian cancer survivor and as the former director of their ovarian cancer program.
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I was honored to be invited o be a member of the Latina Share Advisory Board. In the time that I have known the program I have seen how the volunteers and staff extend a helping hand to women in need of advise and support. They often go above the call of duty staying on the phone into the night with women in crisis or visiting them at hospital bedsides. SHARE has created a community of women helping women to survive, learn from each other, and be comforted by. The LatinaShare program especially provides much needed support services to an underserved community that has few options to turn to. From Latina Share Spanish speaking women diagnosed with breast cancer can also benefit from SHARE’s programming. They get information and support that is presented to them not only in Spanish but in a culturally relevant manner. This work takes a lot of energy and dedication and I am proud to be a part of this organization. Now, whenever I encounter someone who could benefit from SHARES services either because they or a family have been diagnosed with breast cancer without hesitation I recommend that they call SHARE.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I "discovered" SHARE in 1992. At this point in my life I had healed and wiped the tears from my cancer diagnosis. However, when I visited SHARE I met with such a wonderful, generous, helpful group of women, that I decided I wanted to work with this organization and help spread the word about SHARE. I have worked with SHARE since then, doing outreach, advocacy and helping to organize the SHARE-A-Walk. I pray that SHARE will be available to more women until this dreadful disease is vanquished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I don't know what I do without SHARE and the women who help make things happen. As a recent breast cancer survivor SHARE was the first place I called when I received word of my diagnosis. They immediately went to work and asked me questions and helped me calm down and assess my situation. They were able to refer me to a couple of doctors so I could get a second opinion - but mostly so I could get peace of mind that I was making the right decisions. Throught my recovery, I consistently called upon SHARE to ask questions about the process of my recovery and the treatment I was receiving. In each call they always took the time to listen and most of all to lend their hearts and support. I Still call upon SHARE for advice and to share my fears and frustrations. They are always there. I believe in SHARE so much that I am now on their advisory board - it is important that the women in New York know there's a place for them when it comes to breast and ovarian cancer. No woman should have to go through it alone and SHARE is definitely the best place to go. Anabel Evora

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012


I do volunteer work at Share. When a woman calls our Help Line, they want to speak to
someone who has had BC, people will listen when they know you have walked the
walk. I have heard dozens of women cry on the phone , women of all ages, young women
with small children, at the
time of a diagnosis they need reassurance, hope and that is
what we provide, at the end of a call, that can last an hour or longer, a sense of relief
and gratitude is what I hear, I wrap up my calls by telling them, just so you know my
diagnose was 19 years ago, I can't see their faces but I can feel their smile
on the phone and in my heart. Volunteering is a way of giving back as a survivor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've had first hand experience with SHARE as a recipient of services, a board and staff member and now as a volunteer and in each of those capacities I've recognized how extraordinary this organization is. For women and men newly affected by breast or ovarian cancer, information and resources provided by someone who uniquely understand the issues because they've been there, is invaluable. The support that comes from being able to give voice to your issues in a safe environment with up to date information is enormously empowering and allows those affected to deal with their lives more effectively and with an inceased sense of empowerment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Breast cancer diagnosis is scary and typically never as straightforward as you think it should be. In my case, one dr. told me to get a mastectomy, one advised me to get a lumpectomy and another counseled a bi-lateral mastectomy. Chemo was also considered "optional" and there were different chemo options that I was asked to choose among if I decided to have chemo at all. It was overwhelming. I had no idea how to navigate this and was filled with anxiety. After I completed my treatment 6 years ago, I was determined to try to help women with the knowledge I gained so they wouldn't have to go through the stress I did. I love volunteering at SHARE. The organization helps me to keep growing in my knowledge of the disease and it's wonderful to touch others. SHARE makes a difference one person at a time. It's a fantastic organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was diagnosed in 2001 with Breast Cancer and joined a SHARE support group. Even though I knew, I could always find support here, it wasn't until I became a volunteer that I learne, first-hand how much of an impact SHARE makes on the lives of women who face a diagnosis of breast or ovarian with cancer. I grew to understand the importance of their support system and what they contributed to a women's survivorship in their battle against these diseases. Here at SHARE one can find an oasis away from the stress and turmoil , that living with cancer can bring and find support, be it emotion, informational or avocational support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was diagnosed 7 years ago and introduced to SHARE by my surgeon and by the American Cancer Society. At SHARE I found tremendous support from the group leaders and other breast cancer survivors. Only they could understand how I felt. SHARE has always there for me and I will always be there for SHARE and all the the women diagnosed with breast cancer./

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers