Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Japanese Share has been helping japanese women with breast or ovarian cancer in a lot of ways. We gave them many opportunities to talk about their issues and fears and they get to open up their hearts. We encourage each other and see our future with different perceptions. At the end of the day, they go home with more positive attitudes. I absolutely honor this non profit organization and believe that we help japanese women go through their hard times.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I attended cancer survivor meeting at Share because I was diagnosed breast cancer in 2014. I was told from my doctor that my cancer was non invasive and tumor was small but I had no idea what to do. The meeting was useful and I collected a lot info from survivors. I was so impressed, everyone in the meeting was positive fighter facing to their own cancer. The place for this kind of meeting is important, especially for the patient who needs advise.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

My relationship with SHARE began with a phone call to the helpline last July. I was leading a breast cancer patient support group for the Japanese community in New York, but we were having our meetings in cafes and restaurants, with no place of our own. By the end of that phone call the SHARE Japanese program was born.
Today, we offer group support meetings twice a month at the SHARE main office.
Now SHARE is becoming a great partner to the Japanese community, while understanding our unique culture that creates different demands.
The SHARE Japanese program is slowly and surely helping many Japanese women, who have been touched by breast and ovarian cancer, throughout the US and even to Japan.
SHARE is empowering me and my community, as well as our family, every day.

Thank you!

Aiko Brody
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

For me the most impressive aspect of Share that I have observed is the constant search for new programs with which to get their mission across to women and organizations that support women in their quest against breast and ovarian cancer.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

SHARE is an excellent partner in working to help Latina cancer survivors!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Share provides innovative and informative educational opportunities through free Webinars. These are done including well-known oncologists with information both patients and their families will want to know.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

SHARE has two special roles in my life. I was diagnosed with advanced ovarian cancer in August, 2000. About a week before chemo was to start, my surgeon told me to “get a port.” Still reeling from surgery, I neglected to ask what that was or why I needed it.

I called SHARE’s toll-free
number, a knowledgeable woman quickly called me back and said, “A port is a great idea and it will save your veins from all the needle sticks you’re going to have.” I was very grateful and will always remember the SHARE Helpline volunteer’s clear explanation and her warmth.

Fast forward to 2011, I was eleven years out from diagnosis and ready to give back some of the support I had been given. I was rigorously trained to become a SHARE Helpline volunteer. I have been on both sides of the Helpline.

Some women I talk with ask, Will I survive? They ask which is better, surgery first or chemo first? How bad is chemotherapy? How can I ask my doctor all the questions I have? And some women just need a friendly ear as they talk about the life-wrenching issues a cancer diagnosis imposes. I love the challenges of this work and I love the deep satisfaction this work gives me. I love the organization which allows me to do this.

Women are diagnosed with breast or ovarian cancer every day. Their needs are great. I want to see SHARE grow so it can reach more women. This non-profit that I know so well is deeply worthy of wide exposure and financial support.

Judith Fox




October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I am a 20 year breast cancer survivor & advocate who sought support & information when
I was diagnosed. SHARE staff & volunteers became my new breast friends. They held my
hand through diagnosis, treatment, after care, recurrence, side effects & a new life with
chronic cancers.

My way of appreciation was to give back volunteering through advocacy & health fairs.
Through them I volunteered for several years bringing scores of NYC women to the NBCC
Advocacy Conference & as the NYC Volunteer Coordinator with the advocacy efforts of the
National Breast Cancer Coalition, as well as helping to establish the NYS Breast Cancer Network.
Many of my friends have died early deaths because of this incidious disease which is why
SHARE supports the NBCC efforts to find a cure by 2020 & to end breast cancer. SHARE's
ability to maintain its presence during the past 20 years & grow more meaningful programs
& information, is a testament to its endurance.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

January 2012 I was diagnosed with stage 2 invasive breast cancer. I found SHARE while surfing the internet . I called 2 am, left a message an my call was immediately returned the following morning. My mentor Jeanne was so helpful and caring, listened to an ear full never judging me, letting me express all my feelings concerns and fears. Share as helped me so much that I looked forward to my bi weekly calls from Jeanne. Sometimes I called SHARE before Jeanne's call because I was afraid of an upcoming surgery, test, chemo or radiation. Who ever was working at the time would comfort me and make me get through the day.

It is not just phone support that makes SHARE special . It is the abundance of services they offer. Webinar's, educational programs and on going support groups and so much more.

The support team of SHARE was there for me, now as a breast cancer help line volunteer I will be there for you . Why not give SHARE a call today :)

www.sharecancersupport.org

844 ASK-SHARE
October 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

November 13, 2012 My wife is a breast cancer survivor. Today, she works with several breast cancer support and advocacy organizations including SHARE. At SHARE she staffs a hotline answering questions... more

October 15, 2014

I have done some Pro Bono consulting for SHARE and my wife is a SHARE volunteer. I find that the work that SHARE does every day is truly life changing for the women they provide advice and comfort to. They reach out to breast cancer survivors throughout the US. Survivor's questions are directly answered by peers; women who have contracted the same type of cancer and are living through the same life experiences as the caller. SHARE goes well beyond the provision of their help line. SHARE volunteers visit medical schools to advise medical students and physicians on how to best communicate with their future and existing patients. SHARE also regularly visits corporate sites to answer questions from women survivors and care givers. Many SHARE staffers and volunteers keep up with the latest research by attending breast cancer medical conferences to understand the latest treatment protocols and then use this information when talking with callers. Some SHARE women also participate in evaluating funding requests associated with breast cancer research that are hosted by the government. And finally SHARE women utilize their time and energy to lobby congress for additional funding for breast cancer research. It is for these reasons that I believe SHARE is such a special organization.
Leon Heller
November 13, 2012

November 13, 2012
My wife is a breast cancer survivor. Today, she works with several breast cancer support and advocacy organizations including SHARE. At SHARE she staffs a hotline answering questions and providing emotional support for women seeking help. When my wife was originally diagnosed
there was little information available to her other than a few books and a couple of minutes of consultation with her oncologist. The impact on her was quite severe. Days and nights were filled with angst speculating about what the next day would bring. Every new symptom was viewed as a harbinger of a metastatic advance. As the years have passed the angst has receded but still lies there waiting to reassert its hold on her. Watching her I have come to the realization that her salvation has been her contact with others like herself. When my wife is scheduled to staff the hotline she sometimes takes and makes the calls from home. I have listened to her for hours providing support to distraught women on the phone. Their questions seemed to include everything from what should I do next, or what did the doctor mean, or where can I go for help since the nearest hospital is a 100 miles away, or how can I pay for treatment, to the more personal “how do I tell my husband and family”. Every question is answered and with every answer I see my wife’s own fears begin to abate. That is the wonder of SHARE. Its volunteers help themselves as they answer others calls for help.
While at SHARE my wife also became an advocate for advancing the science of treating breast cancer. She graduated from Project Lead, a course sponsored by the National Breast Cancer Coalition, whose graduates follow breast cancer medical advances, speak to women’s organizations and medical students, petition Congress and participate in research panels. She uses these experiences to help women better understand the lifetime war they have involuntarily been drafted into. SHARE has been the driving force in fueling her passion to help other survivors. SHARE has saved her emotional well being just as it has helped countless others.
Leon Heller

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers